We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good budget Hotel”
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 21 June 2011

stayed for 3 nights half board . I was most impressed with the standard of training of the waiting staff, they were all excellent, well done to all. Food was good , served quickly and it was hot too !
We booked last minute room looked out on to flat roof not very nice view, but you could see the sea! and the room was a decent size unlike some we have stayed in! Bathroom was in need of some TLC.
All that said it was an enjoyable few days.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lainey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (455)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 455 reviews

Reviewed 14 June 2011

Wonderful hotel, sea view room, food excellent staff most helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank auzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2011

The staff make you very welcome from the moment you arrive till the moment you leave. The food is very good along with the service. The rooms were very pleasent and clean, yes as I had read on some reviews the bathrooms need some updating. But all in all you do get the best value for your money in todays world. Our waiter told us he has worked there for 14 years, he was so helpful nothing was to much for him. I have some mobility problems and was very worried after reading a review about a group of disabled people but Ihave to say I asked for a stand in shower when I booked and they gave me a family room on the first floor next to the lift. There is also rear access at town level so they will do everything they can to help if you just ask. we had a great time and will return soon.

Room Tip: Sea views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank larkin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

The hotel enjoys a good location overlooking the sea. Front of house areas have improved since the recent refurbishment but the bedrooms are in desparate need of an upgrade. There is no system in place to charge drinks etc to the room. Payment for anything, other than meals booked with the holiday, is required at the time of order. This takes a bit of getting used to but isn't a big enough inconvenience to spoil the holiday experience. Parking at the hotel can be difficult at busy times.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank r_smith640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2011

I was surprised to see a comment made by another customer of the hotel saying that he didnt like the liverpudlian waiter because he was rude. I stay at this hotel twice a year with a group of friends and we specifically ask for that waiter as he is so friendly and down to earth. All of the waiting staff are lovely but we love the banter that we can have with this waiter. We have never felt rushed and he goes out of his way to make sure we enjoy our meal.
All in all this hotel offers value for money and is an ideal base to explore the island.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debdex1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

We've just returned from an excellent 2 week holiday at The Sandringham on Half-Board basis. The weather was amazing, as is customary for the Isle of Wight, but on days we preferred to stay in we could purchase drinks (alcoholic, cafe latte, etc) and sandwiches as they are always available in the lounge during the day. We had a lovely stay, as usual, and this time we found that they had totally redecorated the Reception area and that courtesy magazines had been provided in their huge lounge. An added bonus was that they really excelled themselves on the Royal Wedding Day - with lots of Union Jack flags hanging in the lounge, dining room, and ballroom - together with the option of salmon for breakfast, then mid-morning coffees with scones and cakes, followed by an excellent champagne with our dinner. The hotel boasts two large plasma screen TVs - one in their lounge and one in their ground-floor games room (pool and snooker tables, games machines, sauna, and large swimming pool) - therefore, as well as TVs in all bedrooms, there was plenty of opportunity for all guests to watch the Royal Wedding in comfort wherever they preferred. Can't wait to return for our next holiday in August!!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HampshireCrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2011

We found this hotel excellent value for money and the service was excellent.

The hotel is in an excellent location right in front of the beach and there are lovely views from the balcony in the rooms and the bar balcony. As people have pointed out the downside is that parking is limited but we stayed here over Easter and had no problem. The only other problem with the location is that Sandown seemed to have been invaded by a number of mindless drunks who caused a lot of noise and trouble whilst we were there.

We had one of the cheaper rooms at the back of the hotel and whilst I agree that the room could do with a bit of updating it was extremely clean and the beds were comfortable. Our only gripe was that it was very warm in the room and we didn’t like to leave the window open as it was so noisy – especially with all the drunks causing trouble late at night. What we were really impressed with was the cleaner. As it was so warm we had taken the duvet cover off and used this as a sheet. The cleaner changed all the beds so that we all had a separate sheet in case we were too hot without even being asked. It is my experience in hotels that cleaners usually only do what is actually asked of them – how nice it was to find someone who actually took the trouble to do something extra.

The food in the hotel is a bit limited but I actually thought the breakfasts were very nice and it was nice that it was all waiter service and not a buffet which you so often find these days. For evening meal you get a choice of three starters (fruit juice, soup and another) and a choice of 2 mains usually one meat and one fish. There is also a vegetarian option and a kid’s option which you have to pre-order. I had the vegetarian option twice and it was excellent. My partner however thought that his main causes were a bit small but then he does have a large apetite. For pudding there were two choices or you could have icecream or cheese and biscuits instead. The best thing about the restaurant though was the service. On the first night we had not pre-ordered and he sorted out kids meals and vegetarian options and even brought the children hot chocolate as they didn’t drink coffee. Nothing was too much trouble and he went out of his way to make sure we had everything we wanted. We thought we were just lucky with our waiter but on his night off we had an equally efficient and helpful waitress. At the end she even apologised for being slow 9which she wasn’t) as she was usually just a cleaner but was filling in. The owners of the hotel are very lucky if even there temps are this good. I only wish there had been a comments book so that I could have let them know how much we appreciated this standard of service.

All in all we had a wonderful holiday. It is just a shame that a beautiful resort like Sandown is spoilt by a few mindless idiots.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieDawnDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
2.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
355 reviews
0 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £27 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandringham Hotel is located directly on Sandown seafront and is just footsteps away from the hotel's front doors, offering friendly accommodation for any occasion. Guest can enjoy the use of the heated indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. The high street is located to the rear of the hotel with a variety of shops. The large lounge and bar areas are perfect to relax in after a long day exploring the Island, with a variety of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages available to purchase. Free Wi-Fi is provided in our non-budget rooms as well as the lounge. Meals plans are available and can be booked at discounted rates for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing