We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely .fantastic” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
midlands england
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“lovely .fantastic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2011

we had a weekend at this hotel early july it was lovely staff were brilliant food lovely ,as for the scenery we loved it that made our weekend apart from weather we enjoyed our break and will be going again .i love the isle of wight so much to see lots of places to visit like the pearl factory every we go there i come back with a pearl ,nobody would be dissapointed by the isle of wight .. lis

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liz29MidlandsEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    151
    81
    35
    27
See reviews for
134
140
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2011

We arrived without a booking to be told that they had rooms at 105.00 pounds for bed and breakfast for 2 people. The receptionist was polite, professional and very helpful. I was quite pleased when she gave us the top floor, seaview room with a balcony and a 4 poster bed....at no extra charge!!! She said the room was beautiful....I couldn't wait. She showed us the bar and restaurant areas, took us to the lift and directed us from there to our room. The lift was shaky and bumpy on it's way up. What was missing from the lift was it's safety certificate....nowhere to be seen.
Out of the lift, we quickly found our room. The decor of the hallways was to say in the least....very dated. At out room door....(I loved the scratches and dirty paintwork....NOT), we entered to be greeted with a bathroom that was....carpeted in RED......YES....carpeted!! I thought that went out in the 80's The bathroom suite was a dirty brown/green colour, small and smelly. The toiletries provided was......2 small bars of soap.....Oh...and a loo roll. The room was hot and stuffy so we opened up the patio door.....stepped out onto the balcony and was greeted with people walking passed our room.....the balcony...was everyones balcony. There are chains to divide the 'balconies' but none were in use. We decided to just get a quick shower and go out for dinner. We had to hold the shower overhead in our small out-dated brown/green small bath and attempt not to wet the red carpet (no shower curtain....not even a rail for the shower curtain)
30 minutes later we were ready and went down (we used the stairs)to the bar to partake in a drink before heading out to dinner. 1 lime and soda water and a pint of shandy.......£5.00 We didn't have another drink.
Morning arrived....I couldn't bear to have another shower in that bath, so it was a quick wash and down the stairs for breakfast.
Yet again, the decor was a blast from the early 80's. The staff although very helpful and courteous I couldn't help but laugh at the terrible uniforms which I am sure they were forced to wear. White tunics with gold epaulettes!!............why??? Are they on a ship?? Totally laughable....again dated ideas by someone who needs lessons on how to be a modern hotelier.
The topic of conversations with other guests and some staff were mostly regarding the decor and lack of committment by the owner to modernise.
I believe that rationing was stopped in the 1950's...my husband commented....here at The Sandringham Hotel.........It still exists..........It's called breakfast.
Please do not waste you time by staying here. Overpriced, Dated, Unloved and in need of an injection of safety.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank barnybrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandringhamiow, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2011
I am really surprised you didn’t enjoy your one night stay with us.

We are situated in a glorious position right on the sea front in Sandown and having arrived on spec, without a booking, you were charged £102. This included the accommodation, breakfast and 20% VAT, which represents £42.50 per person per night excluding VAT.

The room would normally have cost an additional £14 per person so how lucky to have received a £28 discount from one of my staff members, all of whom work exceptionally hard to ensure customer satisfaction and promote the business.

This is excellent value for money and certainly far from over priced as suggested!

The normal practise when arriving at a hotel on spec having not pre-booked, would be to see a room before opting to stay and paying for the room.

One wonders why the customer paid to stay when they weren’t happy at all only then to expect recompense and write a negative review on tripadvisor later.

In response to the misleading and defamatory content of this review, I would assure:-

1. We have a service contract with Stannah Lifts which ensures 8 services and safety inspections a year. We have undertaken a full risk assessment and our insurers who have recently conducted their annual survey are happy with our provisions.

2.Our hallways and corridors are in constant use and of course they are going to suffer from wear and tear; scratches, scuff marks from suitcases and hand prints from children are just a few of the examples.

3. Some of our bathrooms are dated in terms of their décor but they are clean and tidy. We do have plans to upgrade more bathrooms in due course however for a two star hotel, I feel our provisions and facilities are more than adequate

4. Rooms with showers can be pre-booked. In this instance, only a room with bath was available. The customer was aware of this on arrival and chose to stay anyway only then to write this review.

5. It is not incumbent upon us to provide toiletries - we only provide soap. It goes without saying that towels and toilet roll are provided. Indeed we even provide towels for swimming from reception.

6. The dining room, lounge and ballroom were all re-decorated last winter and it is modern and bright, not dated nor a ‘blast from the 80’s’ as suggested.

7. Every food establishment has their own uniforms – we like ours and they are here to stay for the time being!

8. I recently visited Premier Inn – their all you can eat buffet breakfast too has changed. They no longer have a hot buffet but instead serve a portion and if you want more you ask and they give it to you. It is no different in our establishment!

9. No injection of safety is required – you couldn’t have a more safety conscious team of owners or staff!

10. The points about lack of commitment or love for the hotel and the fact that we need lessons in how to be a modern hotelier are unfair and unfounded. Suffice it to say my family have been here since 1971 and I envisage myself here still in another 30years time!

We welcome all feedback at the Sandringham – verbally, written and electronically – as we use it to refine and improve the excellent service we already offer for the benefit of our much valued customers.

Complaints such as this after the event leave me with little that I can do. If only the customer had come back to us and told us they were unhappy – we would have helped them to check out and find somewhere more suitable.

We are a popular UK holiday destination and we want all visitors to go away having had an enjoyable time on our lovely Island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

lainey54
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2011

stayed for 3 nights half board . I was most impressed with the standard of training of the waiting staff, they were all excellent, well done to all. Food was good , served quickly and it was hot too !
We booked last minute room looked out on to flat roof not very nice view, but you could see the sea! and the room was a decent size unlike some we have stayed in! Bathroom was in need of some TLC.
All that said it was an enjoyable few days.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lainey54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

Wonderful hotel, sea view room, food excellent staff most helpful.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank auzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

The staff make you very welcome from the moment you arrive till the moment you leave. The food is very good along with the service. The rooms were very pleasent and clean, yes as I had read on some reviews the bathrooms need some updating. But all in all you do get the best value for your money in todays world. Our waiter told us he has worked there for 14 years, he was so helpful nothing was to much for him. I have some mobility problems and was very worried after reading a review about a group of disabled people but Ihave to say I asked for a stand in shower when I booked and they gave me a family room on the first floor next to the lift. There is also rear access at town level so they will do everything they can to help if you just ask. we had a great time and will return soon.

Room Tip: Sea views are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank larkin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2011

The hotel enjoys a good location overlooking the sea. Front of house areas have improved since the recent refurbishment but the bedrooms are in desparate need of an upgrade. There is no system in place to charge drinks etc to the room. Payment for anything, other than meals booked with the holiday, is required at the time of order. This takes a bit of getting used to but isn't a big enough inconvenience to spoil the holiday experience. Parking at the hotel can be difficult at busy times.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank r_smith640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2011

I was surprised to see a comment made by another customer of the hotel saying that he didnt like the liverpudlian waiter because he was rude. I stay at this hotel twice a year with a group of friends and we specifically ask for that waiter as he is so friendly and down to earth. All of the waiting staff are lovely but we love the banter that we can have with this waiter. We have never felt rushed and he goes out of his way to make sure we enjoy our meal.
All in all this hotel offers value for money and is an ideal base to explore the island.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debdex1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 755 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Property: Sandringham Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 117 bedroom hotel situated right on the sea front in Sandown, and cater for couples, families and private groups. We offer discounted ferry rates when booking directly with us and have a swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Entertainment in the ballroom four nights a week and large sea facing lounge and ballroom. Wi-Fi internet accessible in public areas and non-budget rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing