We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice staff, shabby hotel.”
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice staff, shabby hotel.”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We were a little late arriving on a friday night in February, all the carpark spaces were full (three cars deep) and also the free seafront (off season) parking was taken. Kindly the receptionist gave us what turned out to be the Directors space....
We felt guilty about our lateness and didn't want to hold up the waiting staff so ate our evening meal as quickly as possible.....
The room was fairly small, but clean. The Bathroom was old and dated but functional.
The thing we hated was THE FLOORBOARDS! God they were so creaky and made such a noise!
The people upstairs kept us awake on both nights from about 11pm-till 1am.
Maybe not the Hotels fault but come on install solid floors! Sooooo NOISY!
Food was dull, but o.k. Staff very nice, but yeah dated uniforms but so what....
Didn't use the pool, but it looked quite nice....
Next morning, went to move the car, told off by member of staff '
"You can't park there, that's the Directors space" Grumpy grumpy........
Told him Lady last night said o.k, and had to pay for over-flow carpark up the road, not good.
Wanted to leave the car and walk around, but having to pay seemed MEAN.
Staff are nice, food average, decor is bland, rooms too hot, balcony shared, not recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sculpturedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    161
    84
    36
    28
See reviews for
142
147
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

We have just returned from a break in the isle of Wight. This is our first time on the Island and we were not sure what to expect. I saw a "deal" in the back of our newspaper, 3 nights with the 4th free @ £129 & free return ferry crossing. This offer also included breakast & dinner everyday including the morning that you depart. My first thoughts were, it's too good to be true the food will be bad & the bedrooms will be knackered but I am pleased to say, I was very wrong.

The staff were helpful, friendly and customer focused from the point of booking until we left. The food selection was very good and the portions were a good size as well (we are both good eaters). I had Grapefruit segments, a full English, toast & tea every morning as we were doing a lot of walking each day and I was full up until we came back for our evening meal so we didn't waste money on lunch. Every evening meal was 3 courses, plenty of choice served in a comfy dining room with friendly waiters.

We used the swimming pool and spa everyday, we always found it to be clean although there are no changing rooms open at the moment due to a referb.

We had a free upgrade and our room was warm and welcoming. Our sea view was wonderful, it made my trip (as I wasn't expecting a view at all).

Downsides; Yes the bathrooms are dated and they don't have showers but I personally prefer a bath to soak muscles after walking. The TV sets are old and you only get 3 channels in the room BUT we weren't there to watch TV. No phones in bedrooms, we didn't mind as we each have mobiles but other guests might. Feather pillows, I have foam at home so found these unsupportive.

We found it easy to park, enjoyed the food, location, staff and facilities. I would stay here again during the OFF PEAK SEASON, I think PEAK SEASON would be far too busy for me as there are 132 rooms and up to 300 guests (including Children) during the Summer season but I love the Sandringham for a Winter walking break.

We'll see you next year!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

Really enjoyed a midweek break here booked last minute and had an ace time. Nothing was too much trouble for staff. Food was excellent

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nigel216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We stayed at the hotel for a couple of nights in early September last year, celebrating my father's 70th. We had a fantastic time and were well looked after by genuinely friendly and attentive staff. The food was fine, the evening entertainment was great and the facilities (especially the swimming pool) were brilliant. The rooms were spacious and comfortable (we had a sea view balcony), bathrooms could do with with a bit of updating, but that didn't detract from a lovely experience. Best holiday I've has since I was a kid in the 70s!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fortysomethingbloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

I stayed at the Sandringham hotel with my Husband and adult family in Nov 2011 and was pleasantly surprised by it. This 2 star is clean and well maintained in both the public areas and bedrooms and was havjng more work done. Our double room was a good size with balcony. The bathroom was however very dated and had no real storage. The shower was supplied by the bath taps and wasn't tall enough when you stood up. The bathroom was also a horrid shade of brown and small. The swimming pool was good and included a tepid Jacuzzi. The Ladies changing room was badly in need of updating however and you cant access the pool without walking through a public area. The staff were very friendly and helpful, quickly replacing a bulb in our light shade. The food was good and included several choices, you were allocated a table for your whole stay and all the food was served to you, including breakfast. The lounge was large for relaxing in the day or night. One of the best 2 stars I have stayed in. We also got 4 nights for the price of three.

Room Tip: Our balcony room is nice and roomy but the noise of the sea may keep you awake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bro101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iver
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Stayed at ths Sandringham in May and had a great time, only downside is that the bathrooms need updating, would be better if they had power showers that fixed to the wall. Food good, staff pleasant, nice indoor swimming pool.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janandco18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Just returned from a three night break at the Sandringham 4-7th Nov 2011. Paid 149 each and this was great value for money. Food was ample and hot, the breakfasts were really good. The dining room sits right on the sea front and the hotel is ideally situated. The communal areas upstairs are a bit dated but the room we occupied had been revamped (apart from the carpets), the bathrooms are very dated and no shower curtains...however over a period of a short break at the Sandringham over the past couple of years signs of refurb are obvious and for a place that size must cost the earth.
The staff are truly lovely and so obliging, same goes with the swimming pool, this is moderately big to some of those we have experienced and the jacuzzi is lovely, lovely bubbly.
The rooms at the back can be exploited to the noise of the Friday night louts but nothing too offensive.
The parking at the hotel can be a little nuisance, however from late Oct-April most of the parking on the Island is free and this goes for all the parking opposite the hotel, so no problem there.
Of course massive amounts of things to do, park at the Needles (free) and take a walk to the top, fab views and also you can see the remnants of the rocket testing. Zoo is always a wonderful days to wander, they have a great family history there. Also Osborne house. However the wander of the Island is the walking and talking, the Islanders love to talk and what a lovely bunch they are. Thanks IOW and the Sandringham, always a pleasure to come and taste your hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burnhow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
807 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Property: Sandringham Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandringham Hotel is located directly on Sandown seafront and is just footsteps away from the hotel's front doors, offering friendly accommodation for any occasion. Guest can enjoy the use of the heated indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. The high street is located to the rear of the hotel with a variety of shops. The large lounge and bar areas are perfect to relax in after a long day exploring the Island, with a variety of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages available to purchase. Free Wi-Fi is provided in our non-budget rooms as well as the lounge. Meals plans are available and can be booked at discounted rates for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing