We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel”
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good budget hotel”
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We stayed in this hotel for a few days in a balcony room overlooking the sea which was clean and had all the basic things you need. The pool and the Jacuzzi were welcomed, as it was good to have a relaxing soak after exploring the island. The food is boring but OK, and was always served with a smile and efficiency.
Parking is a problem as the hotel has not got enough free parking for the visitors, and some people abuse the double parking and the parking lines, eg. They park over two parking spaces to avoid being blocked.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Fxbronte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    164
    88
    40
    31
See reviews for
155
148
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed for 5 nights.
Room fine, with great views over the sea front - lovely. Room was clean with tea/coffee making facilities as well as hair dryer & flat screen tv. Nice big 4 poster bed, tho this creaked badly even if you just sat on the edge of it.
Found the room info booklet just before we left, tucked into a thin drawer on a writing table (not left where one would find it easily).
One problem tho: That I had specifically asked for a shower when booking 2 months prior & all we found was a hand held shower over a bath - and the bathroom had very unhygenic carpet in it. I asked to be moved, but this was not possible. To add to this, the showers just off the pool were not working either (closed off in the ladies).

Found the food was okay (but not if you dont like carrots every night), the waiting staff very good (Joe was brilliant) & the restaurant manager Adrian very on the ball & pleasant.
One very odd thing tho, dont expect grapes or celery with cheese & biscuits - for some obscure reason there was cucumber and a slice of tomato!!

Horrified to find a dog in the hotel, not just as a companion, but treated like a chld & was sitting on the sofa's in the bar area on several occasions, surely this is not complying with hygiene regs??

Shame the entertainment room had stiff backed dining chairs in it, so uncomfortable to sit on! Felt sorry for the singers as most people opted to stay out in the lounge to listen, whilst sitting in much more comfortable chairs.
The downstairs 'store room' which must have been an entertainment room a while ago would surenly be much more suited as larger & more comfy chairs in, to encourage visitors to join in/watch entertainment.

Owners really need to put more thought, this hotel could be so much better:
Sling out the old fashioned fixed hard seating in the small entertainment room.
Discourage dog owners - or at least discourage them from permitting pets to climb & sit on furniture.
Clear up the downstairs room near the pool, its a dump for cycles, old seats etc.
If you accept bookings with specific basic request for a shower, then communicate with the customer if things need to change.
Put in some contact telephones in the hotel on each floors, at least to reception.
Surely if double parked, then its not too much to ask people to put a mobile number on the form rather than having to shout round the restaurant, lounge, pool or trail up to rooms to find the person who has blocked you in? (very difficult if you dont know what they look like!)
Finally: Get rid of the smelly carpets in the bathrooms in 'superior rooms'

Room Tip: Get them to confirm in writing regarding a shower (a stand under shower)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DukeBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tayport, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here with 2 friends for a few days. I booked a single room and was given a spacious double room, very clean and the bed was most comfortable with crisp clean bedding. Plenty storage space (even for 2) and big flat screen television. Bathroom dated and I missed not having a shower.

Manager has obviously hand picked his staff. i found all staff courteous and very helpful, especially waiters (we were at table 58), and a special thank you to the lady on reception who kindly printed out boarding pass for me (Marion I think).

Food was good. Roast potatoes scrumptious. I'd love to know Chef's recipe for these. They were big potatoes, lovely and soft on the inside and crisp on outside. Mine never turn out as good as that.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank catherine h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights with my sister and was a little worried about some of the bad reviews but I can honestly say that we had a fantastic time. We had a balcony room overlooking the sea which was clean and had all the basic things you need (minus a fridge unfortunately). Admittedly it is a little dated but you get what you pay for and it was clean and more than suitable to sleep and shower which is all you need if your there to explore the island. The pool was lovely, if a little fresh to say the least. Dinner times were very enjoyable, amazing food and of a good variety and always served with a smile and efficiency. The maids and cleaners also very friendly and welcoming. The location is perfect on a lovely sandy beach with bus travel on the doorstep. The only thing to mention is the awkward shower facility, there is no shower hook which makes it a little awkward with a shower head but not a massive issue as it all works which is all I ever look for personally. Overall, fab hotel, fab faculties, fab food/service in a fab location! Would definitely recommend and go back again! :)

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adams8175
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

five night stay made to feel welcome by all the staff as we have been visiting over the years there were lots of familier faces.Good food and plenty of it.you could always request more if you wanted it.room cleaned every day Adrian the head waiter moved us to a window seat in the reasturant so we had a great sea view.receptionists very helpful.tea and coffee in the bedrooms also a large flatscreen tv.swimming pool and jacuzzi nice and clean.The only downside is the bathrooms could do with being updated.Hopefully we will be returning again next year.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moirajobling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

4 day break at the beginning of this month for me, my husband and our 15 month old. Issues to start with r.e. not receiving booking and ferry info and having to chase the hotel for details the day before we left. On arriving at the hotel there was some confusion on parking, when asked for a reserved space in their car park I was directed to the area to the front of the hotel and informed it would be £3 per night, only on leaving did the cleaner tell us we had been in the free car park all week and the chargable one was up the road. The car park is a really bad idea and the fact you have to track down the guests who are blocking you in yourself (knocking their rooms, interrupting their dinner) is really thoughtless for guests trying to enjoy their break. Reception gets really busy but only had 1 member of staff on at all times even though others were seen in the back room reading newspapers. Most staff were lovely and went out of their way to assist us but on checking out I had a run-in with a really rude receptionist. The hotel is really big and the swimming area very nice with a small jacuzzi but needs a good clean as the floor of the pool is very grimy and bits of tiles have cracked and become loose, lots of space for more activities to be put in, I assume cost is the issue holding them back. The room was big enough but the bathroom really outdated with carpets and no shower. Damp on the walls and no air con - the room was so stuffy at night but too noisy outside to open the windows.
The lift nearly closed on an elderly lady as the 'open doors' button didn't work (reported to hotel) and sounded like it could break at any point - take the stairs! Location is the best thing this hotel has to offer, just a few steps across to the beach, although if you walk further down to the left for about 5 mins the beach is much cleaner and quieter.
This hotel would suit people who literally only need a bed to crash at night, too noisy if you have kids that go to bed a bit earlier and too many stairs to get to the ground floor - and your room- for people who struggle with mobility.
Local attractions I would recommend the I.O.W. zoo and a drive along the coast, stopping off at the view points.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cookiecat777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

Arrived here on a 4 day break with my sister, sept 2013. Limited parking space and sometimes you get blocked in by fellow guests but you get given a pass with your room number displayed so reception can call if you need to move. Greeted by reception that explained where to go to get to our room, we were offered assistance with bags but declined. To get to the lift you have to get up a flight of stairs, quite tricky with luggage, pushchairs or if you have mobility problems so be aware! We used the lift to get to our 2nd floor room (11). We paid extra for a balcony room and was not disappointed with the views!! Outstanding!!
The rooms are clean but basic, 2 single beds, tv, wardrobe, tea and coffee facilities ,chairs and table. The decor is very dated but to be honest I'm not there to spend time in my room! We slept well in comfortable beds, although rooms were very stuffy, and the room was kept clean by our maid. The only things that I would say would benefit the room would be a fridge, over head shower/ ( and curtain) and phone in room as sometimes signal on mobile is a bit hit and miss!!
The meals we had were lovely, the service is very prompt and the staff very friendly and helpful, taking time out to chat about the island.
We used the on site swimming pool and spa which was lovely. The only thing you needed was changing rooms which was back out through a carpeted lounge.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for a lovely break but not if you suffer from mobility problems. I have read a lot of negative reviews on this hotel and I think these people go away with negative thoughts!!!! Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Pay extra for balcony, although some are shared! Wonderful beach views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank staceadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
428 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
2.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Property: Sandringham Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandringham Hotel is located directly on Sandown seafront and is just footsteps away from the hotel's front doors, offering friendly accommodation for any occasion. Guest can enjoy the use of the heated indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. The high street is located to the rear of the hotel with a variety of shops. The large lounge and bar areas are perfect to relax in after a long day exploring the Island, with a variety of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages available to purchase. Free Wi-Fi is provided in our non-budget rooms as well as the lounge. Meals plans are available and can be booked at discounted rates for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LateRooms, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing