We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great Christmas”
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Another great Christmas spent at the Sandringham Hotel, this is the sixth year we have been
to this hotel and every year seems to get better. We always pay that bit extra for a sea view
room, always clean and well furnished it would be nice to have a shower but that is a small
complaint but wouldn't put us off going back. The food is excellent so much to eat I don't know
how they do it for the price we paid for four nights. Well done the Sandringham e will be back.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a balcony sea view room you wont be dissapointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank audreye2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

235 - 241 of 448 reviews

Reviewed 1 January 2014

This hotel is excellent we stayed here on the 27th December 2013 for 3 nights. The staff are polite, friendly and extremely helpful,they could not do enough for you. It is well placed for shops and right on the beach. I would like to say a special hello and thank you to Barry our waiter in the restaurant for such an excellent service especially to one of our party with us. We originally had a town facing room, but was noisy and without any problem or asking they immediately upgraded us to a sea view free of charge. It was fantastic waking up to the beautiful sight of the sea. Thank you sandringham hotel you made our break perfect.

Room Tip: Ask for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GailV322
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

I recently stayed here with two friends, I found the whole experiance brilliant. The staff were helpfull and polite, the rooms very clean, The bed was so comfortable with crispy clean sheets I slept soundly and did my friends in there room, Also the food was excellent and the waiter so polite.

I cannot fault the place my room overlooked the beach as well I will definitely go back, 100% great break. Thankyou The Sandringham.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dilys C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

This hotel is very well positioned directly opposite the sea front. The staff are all very friendly and helpful.We had problems with our kettle, and the management were very reluctant to deal with the matter of changing it, but after long arguments with them, the problem was resolved. WE GOT A REPLACEMENT ! This came across as petty, and should caused unnecessary upset.

The choice for breakfast and evening meals was very good, and could please all tastes.


The only problem with The Isle of Wight is that OSBORNE HOUSE and THE DONKEY SANCTUARY closes on the 31st October, and we were there the second week in November. WHY ? WHY ? WHY ? This was upsetting, and there were lots of visitors around.
I suggest if making a visit OFF SEASON,make sure that the places you wish to visit will be open.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lawrepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We went to this hotel in September this year (2013). The breakfast and dinner meals were good, the room fair, but the bathroom could have been better. They are upgrading the bathrooms at the moment when guest numbers are down. Parking could be better as you could get blocked in by other guests.

Room Tip: Our room looked over the town, but there were rooms with a sea view if you want one for an extra cha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marymonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

Take your own loo rolls!! Those provided are so cheap and thin you need yards of it. Food and our waiter Lloyd was very good. Comfy and clean beds. Convenient location with lovely views. Went as part of a group. Would consider going again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We recently stayed for a three night break. The staff are all very helpful and friendly sorting out any problems you may have. The food and service in the restaurant was very good.Rooms are very clean and beds comfortable.

Do not be be put off by negative comments

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are obviously the best as it is a busy and noisy high street at back of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank carysarriad7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
325 reviews
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
905 reviews
2.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £31 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandringham Hotel is located directly on Sandown seafront and is just footsteps away from the hotel's front doors, offering friendly accommodation for any occasion. Guest can enjoy the use of the heated indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. The high street is located to the rear of the hotel with a variety of shops. The large lounge and bar areas are perfect to relax in after a long day exploring the Island, with a variety of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages available to purchase. Free Wi-Fi is provided in our non-budget rooms as well as the lounge. Meals plans are available and can be booked at discounted rates for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing