We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sandown Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Banstead
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sandown Hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We chose this hotel as it advertised regularly in the papers and always offered a free ferry crossing from the mainland. We travelled the day after the busy Easter Weekend so occupancy was very low and a marked lack of atmosphere, nobody's fault, but it was noticeable. Other reviews all say how lovely are the staff and during our visit I have to agree. We paid extra for a balcony room but compared to the standards of other hotels we have stayed in, it was a disappointment, really nothing to commend itself as a room requiring additional cost..

There was a choice of food for breakfasts and dinners and although not a gourmet menu, it was perfectly adequate. Just a shame extra dishes, even at a supplement were not available

Would we go back again, probably not but maybe in the busy summer season it could be different

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GaryfromBanstead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    154
    83
    36
    27
See reviews for
141
143
14
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

Always look forward to staying here have never been let down
Staff good and helpfull gr8 dineing room and right on the beach and central to the town can't wait to go. This hotel is one of5 belonging to the same people and apart from one are not as good as the Sandringham but we have stayed in all of them and found them all to be adequate if you want a seaside holiday

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stanleyemmett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Stay here every year . Always an enjoyable experience all the staff are friendly and chat on. Adrian is amazing completely on the ball with a fantastic team behind him. Food always delicious . The only fault I would say is the entertainment is dreadful. Suggestion why not have a different act now and again. A band maybe, karaoke , different singers. For a change.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portsmouth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

Arrived for a weekend with my sister. Lovely hotel right on beachfront. Small car park with limited parking. There are a lot of steps and stairs in this hotel, no lift so please be aware if you suffer with mobility problems.
We had a balcony room, quite dated but comfortable and clean, ideal for what we wanted.
Meals were beautiful and we had wonderful prompt service from the staff.
We enjoyed using the indoor swimming pool and jacuzzi each evening which we had to ourselves! What a treat!!
The only thing I would say negative would be the stairs and lack of lift, evening entertainment and the decor of room.
Overall I would happily return to the Sandringham hotel and look forward to a future visit!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staceadams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatwick
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Been going to The Sandringham for a winter break for the last 5 years and I never tire of it. Worth spending a bit more for a balcony room because you have the most stunning views and the sun shines on you for most of the day. The rooms are clean and spacious and the bathrooms have recently been refurbished to a high standard. The food is more than adequate and the staff are always very helpful. I love this hotel and will continue to visit when I can. It is a great base for touring the island, or perfect for just relaxing as the lounge is very comfortable, or have a game of snooker or a swim what more do you want!

Room Tip: Pay a bit extra for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anegg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Sandringham for 4 nights, bed & breakfast with an elderly relative. The hotel is situated on the sea front in Sandown, great views from the room and dining room. My room has recently been redecorated to a high standard and fitted with a new en-suite (shower). The staff are very friendly and well presented at all times. Food excellent! The hotel provided entertainment even this early in the season (March). I would recommend this hotel for a stay on the Isle of Wight. I will return later this year.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

Marilyn was a great help we just walk in after we had a bad time at another hotel and found us a lovely room and Lou showed us what around and our room to make sure we was happy all the staff were great nothing was to much bother .pool was good room v clean and the views over the Solent were amazing.ideal location close to beach/restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tinkerbell73593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
2.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Property: Sandringham Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 117 bedroom hotel situated right on the sea front in Sandown, and cater for couples, families and private groups. We offer discounted ferry rates when booking directly with us and have a swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Entertainment in the ballroom four nights a week and large sea facing lounge and ballroom. Wi-Fi internet accessible in public areas and non-budget rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing