We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandringham Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Sandown Hotel(Sandown)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
The Wight(Sandown)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (477)
Filter reviews
477 results
Traveller rating
115
176
99
52
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
115
176
99
52
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssea viewisle of wightswimming poolone way systemwaiting staffdining roomflat roofhigh streetoverlooking the beachthree coursessnooker tablemy mummobility problemswaiter servicesea frontgood nights sleeplovely break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
443 - 448 of 477 reviews
Reviewed 28 May 2009

Good points (only fair to list them first)
Lots of hot water, fairly comfortable bed, excellent sea views from 3rd floor

Bad points
Car parking - hunt the guest who has blocked you in, without assistance from the hotel staff.
Rooms - We had a "superior room with sea view and balcony" - superior only to a police station cell. The room, No96, was very basic with old /stained furniture,
Bathroom - bath taps that were so close to the wall it was near impossible to turn them on, sink taps that only just faced the bowl, a "shower" that had to be held and was either too hot or too cold,
Balcony - want to look in other guests rooms - no problem just walk along the communal balcony.
Cleanliness - the bedroom was clean, but the door frames and paintwork in the hallways were full of dust.
Staff - reception very poor, dining room good.
Entertainment - Ha ha ha.
Dining experience - yes well. The English breakfast consists of 1 egg, 1 sausage, 1/2 tomato or spoonfull of beans, 1 rasher of bacon. Dinner - dinner was a bit better with a fair variety of choice. Just buy your drinks at the bar before you go into dinner to avoid being asked for the money while your eating.
Access - Plenty of stairs. Didn't need a gym as the 1 lift for 100+ rooms was not working for the 3 1/2 days of our 4 day stay

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vstarKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2009

Well, booking was okay, confirmation posted promptly with ferry reservation included. Slightly difficult to find the hotel, no map included with the confirmation and the one way system throws you off. Not clear where to park, and they knew we were coming with a car (due to the ferry booking).

Check in was okay, older receptionist was very friendly although a bit sarcastic. Informed us of the car park blocking in system and that some-one would find the owner of the car that was doing so. Young man was told to take our luggage as the lift was out of order all weekend, he must have been new as he took a wrong turning and my mother has trouble walking long distances. We had to walk up 36 steps and along a VERY long corridor with a VERY smelly toilet in the corridor by room 36.

The room was okay - a bit stuck in the 80's. Carpet in the bathroom! No-where to hang the shower head, no shower curtain, one two foot long towel rail for 3 bath towels and 3 hand towels and one small shelf for 3 peoples toiletries - not really enough!, big crack in the ceiling, no hooks to hang things on. toilet handle rubs against the wall making it difficult to flush, extractor fan extremely noisy, mirror light cover cracked.... The room was VERY clean though

Two spare pillows for 3 poeple, TV with just 4 channels and no remote control, tea and coffee facilities are chargeable after the first two drinks!, questionnaire looked like it had been used as a coaster, plenty of storage space for clothes though and two nice bedside lights with dimmer switches making it easier for others to sleep. No telephone in the room and the one at the end of the corridor didn't work - in an emergency, that could be a serious problem.

The leisure facilities are good but a changing room for the pool is in a seperate room so that you have to walk past a load of men playing snooker etc is not very nice. The sauna is on for 2 hours a day, if you want it outside that time you have to inform reception and pay £2 per hour. To use the jacuzzi you have to inform reception. There is evening entertainment most nights, or there are board games and books in reception, fruit machines, quiz machines, table football, pool, snooker - something for everyone.

The bar has been refurbished recently, very nice! The restaurant is interesting. Well cooked food but I agree with a previous reviewer, having to pay for your drinks as soon as they arrive is all well and good in the bar but not when you are eating in the restaurant -surely it can wait. The two waiters that served us were very friendly but maybe not up to particualrly high standards (their white jackets at breakfast were hideous - not one looked like it fitted properly!)

Check out was non existant, no goodbye, no thanks you for staying, just left the key. Then, our car was blocked in, when I asked the receptionist she told me that I had to go and find the guest! Luckily the guest was in the restaurant still but the receptionist told me to go to the room and knock on the door! Unbelieveable.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2009

My wife and I stayed at this hotel last year, and after reading some of the dodgy and snide comments directed towards this establishment, decided to write my own review.
Included in the price was the cross-Solent ferry and parking.
There were some down sides of our stay, namely the location of the hotel and the dreaded one-way system around the beach front. However, we did locate the venue reasonably quickly. The receptionist was rather gruff and first impressions DO count, so I was waiting to kick off at the earliest inconvenience given our rather rude introduction. There was no need as our room was great. Granted, the bathroom looked very retro with a fetching avacado green bath suite!! The tiles were also of that bygone age. Never mind the art deco style frontage of the hotel, the bathroom looked straight out of a 70's porn movie.....and we loved it!!
The walls were a bit thin, and we could hear the noises next door, but after an hour, tended to not notice them. Great view, had a balcolny, although the plastic BBQ chairs were usually blown everywhere. Didn't like the fact that residents either side of us could see into our room, but as we're not nudists, nothing to moan about.
Restaurant was excellent. Food was hearty and no-frills, but well presented and our waiter, Matthew, was both profesional and attentative to his customers needs. If this young man was working in London, he'd be making a fortune in tips as he was that good. My gripe was when ordering drinks to accompany the meal, we were required to pay for them as soon as they arrived which half-way through a mouthful of food, is a bit much, especially as the drinks waiter would hover for a tip!
Breakfast was again, value for money and we left feeling well fed.
Swimming pool was a tad grotty but the jacuzzi was piping hot, but no complaints from us.
Parking was about 400m from where we were. That is, in an old parking area off what appeared to be a guest house. Felt safe and unconcerned if any chancers were around lurking around hotel car parks.
Fellow guests were always polite and well meaning, and thankfully for us, we went whilst schools were still going. The few children that were there were well behaved and a credit to their parents, however, on our last day (Sunday) kids descended from the break-up of the schools, and brats were charging and yelling.......and we were so glad to be leaving at this stage.
Management were non-existant, receptionists were off-hand and abrupt, as most receptionists usually are, but the waiters and house-keepers were excellent.
Its a pity that Isle of Wight is becoming a derelict place, we counted lots of bust business's ranging from cafes. B&B's and small hotels which was a real shame as the island is a fantastic place and somewhere I'd happily retire too.
Overall, I'd recommend this hotel, and reading some of the negative reviews, maybe we were lucky, or perhaps those reviewers wanted everything for nothing and I'd bet the latter!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AlanF5150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

This hotel was clean, they have started to refurbish as it doe's require, the lounge and bar area were nice, the bedrooms require a good refurb espeically the bathroom's we had 2 room's and both the bathrooms did not have a fixed shower only a hand held shower head fixed to the taps.. the rooms were clean and the maids came every day.. food was ok,be aware to pay for drinks at the table immediately as there is no facility for room tab.. For a cheap 3 night stay this is what we would expect.. Staff were helpful, Overall cheap and chearful.. would not stay here again though..

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2009

Upside - 99% staff friendly, accommodating and very helpful; recently decorated lounge/dining area with great veiws of the sea. Refurbishment still ongoing!
Middling - meals a bit schoolish, although there is a choice at both breakfast and evening meals; not stingy with portion size and as long as you are not looking for cordon bleu good.
Downside - 1% of staff (you always get one!) unfriendly almost to the point of obnoxious, unhelpful, in fact I might go as far to say I'd rather have a conversation with a slathering rottwieller than this particular receptionist again. Carparking an issue even in the winter.
NB: If your looking for a quiet break this is not for you, as they have inhouse entertainers and do not shut the doors between the upper bar and lower lounge. If you want a reasonably priced, reasonable family holiday then yes this could be the one.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NLPSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews