We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Break”
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #8 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Croydon
2 reviews
“Pleasant Break”
Reviewed 10 August 2009

We booked up at short notice for a weeks stay over our weading anniversary which happened to be Cowes week, picking this hotel at random from the IoW guide. We had a first floor room at the back but did not notice much exterior noise. There was a lot of noise from the plumbing of other rooms. The water st times was slow to drain away and at times there was no hot water.No trouble with obtaining more toast at breakfast and plenty of choice in the evening. My wife is a Moslem which limits her but she always found plenty thst she could eat. Our waiter Duncan was very good. Too many kids in the pool and the evening enterainment was dire even by hotel standards. We had no trouble with the parking either when we were blocking somebody else in or were blocked in ourselves,

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ibanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    161
    84
    36
    28
See reviews for
142
147
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2009

Having stayed at this hotel last year I was pleasantly surprised to see the lounge/bar area had been upgraded to a 4* standard. It's a shame that they haven't got the money yet to update the bathrooms as this is their big downfall. If you stay here then pay the extra to stay on the top (3rd) floor as the view over the sea is wonderful - it couldn't be more perfect. Staff very friendly and helpful. There are 5 spaces outside where you could park and not get blocked in or block someone else in. Otherwise you will have to use the system of leaving your room number in your windscreen. My advice is it is better to block someone in i.e. they will have to find you rather than you be blocked in and then you have to go to the person's room and find them - they could of course be in the pool/lounge/restaurant. Alternatively there is a car park for £2 per day that you can use not that far away so I don't believe the parking is as bad as some make out. Food is basic but perfectly edible. Old fashioned menu eg honeydew melon/soup/fruit juice as starter and carrots/cabbage (plus 2 types of potatoes) for veg. but you won't starve. English breakfast is a bit stingy - eg 1 fried egg, 1 rasher of bacon, 1 TINY sausage and you can then choose either beans or tomato! Swimming pool is excellent and there is a sauna but it doesn't get switched on until 5pm (unless you want to pay). They have an excellent duo singing some nights and The Ballroom is a very pleasant room with wicker furniture. It's not the sort of cringy entertainment you usually get - it's really professional with music to dance to suiting all ages. Don't be put off by their very outdated website as the hotel is not represented well there - the pictures are outdated remember. Don't expect haute cuisine and everything to be perfect (it is a bit tatty round the edges) - just appreciate the location/swimming pool etc and you will have a good time.

Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank WINSTONSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandringhamiow, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 17 August 2009
I am so pleased to receive such positive comments about our recently renovated lounge and bar area - the hard work was clearly worth the effort and we are very pleased with the result!

We offer excellent value for money and our prices include bed, breakfast, evening dinner, ferry and VAT.

I must assure that the breakfast we provide is by no means stingy as this customer suggests, but confirm we do obviously portion control everything.

Our breakfast menu includes orange juice and a selection of cereals followed by a cooked breakfast - full english or kippers or boiled eggs or a variation of any of those - as well as tea and coffee and toast.

Extra helpings are always available however these do come at a small cost depending on whether or not the customer has had everything else provided on the menu.

If prospective customers would like to know more about our menu's, I advise that you contact the hotel reception who will be happy to assist and give the necessary information. We are also able to provide sample menu's by post.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hastings
1 review
Reviewed 20 July 2009

Reception - helpful and provided free towels for swimming.
Room - side room overlooking downs and sea. Noisy at times, fairly roomy, tiny bath with inadequate shower.
Dining - Excellent food, substantial breakfast and daily choice of evening meals. Drinks paid for at table or bar. Service excellent although waiters mostly foreign, with limited English. We had some laughs, such as ordering water for the tea, to be given iced water and having the milk removed! This was soon remedied.
Lounge - spacious with lovely sea views, smoking on the outside balcony.
Bar and entertainment on four nights. (Singing duo).
Swimming - warm pool, jaccuzzi, sauna (from 5pm-7pm free, £2 at other times).Changing facilities the other end of a carpeted lounge.
Parking - Sometimes 3 cars deep, impossible to leave hotel if blocking someone else in. If blocked in you had to find the owner of the other car(s) without the help of hotel staff.
Staff - Pleasant and helpful.
We would be happy to go again having stayed a full week. Remember this is only a two star hotel, which exceeds that rating in our opinion

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monicaolid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cambridge
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2009

We arrived on the Saturday afternoon and was welcomed by a middle aged lady who was very polite and welcoming. She asked a young man to take help with our luggage and show us our room which was no. 123 and was very nice and comfortable. When we went for our meals all of the staff were friendly and polite and if you needed aything they would get it for you no problem. We both had a lovely stay and would not hesitate to go back. The entertainment was ok but you can go and find your own entertainment if its not your cup of tea. well done all the staff and entertainers we look forward to coming again maybe next year. thank you all carol and terry x

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CambridgeBully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2009

I was full of foreboding having booked my holiday at this hotel, and having read the reviews. However, I found the whole stay perfectly good - sure the hotel is a bit shabby and could do with a makeover but you cannot beat it for value for money. Complainants on the site talk about the shock of having to pay for wine at the meal - most of them probably pre-paid their holiday, did not leave any credit card at the reception and so, as the hotel has no guarantee of payment, it is fair to charge for drinks at the time - like at a pub, if you don't leave a card behind the bar, you're going to pay for each round! The parking problem is easily solved by paying £ 2 a day and parking in a half empty car park a pleasant 200 metre walk from the hotel. I went with my 82 year old mother who found no problems with the stairs -despite being on the top floor.The complaints that are justified are those about the shower: how much would it cost to put a bracket for the shower head in each bathroom? Also avoid the top floor and the back facing rooms - the former gets very hot in summer, and the rooms back onto a pretty busy road. Pay the surcharge for a sea facing room.
The staff were extremely friendly, with the exception of a rather glum, young barman - the food was more than adequate with lots of choice, tasty, plentiful and served efficiently and in a friendly manner. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable, the pool was good (but why use the pool when the sea is 25 metres away?) and the Sauna (if you like them) worked fine.
Sandown is a true bucket-and-spade seaside town: interesting shops, a good beach, a number of bars close to the hotel (if you enjoy a drink,the hotel's bar leaves a lot to be desired) a pier close by. But more importantly it is a good base for the rest of the Isle of Wight. We had a wonderful holiday, the hotel was fine, and unless you're going to spend your time indoors, its shabbiness should really not be a problem

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BerkeleyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co. Laois
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 1 July 2009

We stayed here in July 07 (I wrote a review) saying we would definitely stay again but get a sea view room. We did return the following July to our Sea View with Balcony room. Divine, leaving window open, to go to sleep and to wake to sound of the sea, watching the lights of ships at night. Spacious room for 2 adults and a 12 year old. Breakfast still only ok but the view while eating is spectacular, didn't eat dinners there so cant comment. Pool table in lounge is great, keeping son & Dad amused while Mum relaxed, looking out at the sea, having a drink and listening to the music from ballroom!! Not returning this year but only because we have seen all the attractions on the Isle of Wight. I will return in a few years with a "gang of friends" for a relaxing weekend. Many bad reviews here but hotel clean, with loads of entertainment for young and old. If you are looking for a topclass hotel with all mod cons dont go to this hotel but for a great "chill out" break its a must. we stayed both times early July so was nice and quiet as schools weren't on holidays.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treesdalekyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2009

We spent just one night at this hotel, having booked 3 nights' accommodation at its sister hotel, The Albion. On arrival at The Albion, we were very disappointed by the junior suite that we had booked - the room was shabby and not, we felt, worth the £436 that we had paid for our weekend break. So we transferred to The Sandringham where the room was better (except for the dated bathroom - brown suite, red carpet, no shower, just a shower attachment over the bath). However, we were very disappointed by the general appearance of the hotel, the leisure facilities (the jacuzzi coudln't be turned on because the maintenance man was too busy trying to mend the lift) and the very poor evening meal. We found a key member of staff most unpleasant. We left, losing the money for the next 2 nights. Very sad and disappointing stay, couldn't recommend.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlexaSouthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandringhamiow, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 28 July 2009
I am sorry that you were so clearly disappointed with the two star accommodation we provide at the Sandringham Hotel. You booked and paid for our three star hotel in Freshwater (The Albion Hotel) and decided yourselves to transfer and downgrade.
The Sandringham Hotel is a large seaside hotel that can accommodate up to 300 guests in peak season, and our facilities are more than adequate for the price we charge.
All of our staff work hard to ensure that our customers have an enjoyable stay and I am sorry if you found a key member of staff unpleasant.
Of course we could not offer you the three star accommodation, facilities and service you were hoping for and had paid for at the original hotel you were booked to stay at. I, along with the rest of the management team are still baffled as to why you transferred from the peaceful surroundings of Freshwater Bay to the busier seaside resort of Sandown when it was a quiet and relaxing break you were looking for.
Many thanks for your comments and additional feedback - they have been noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
706 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Property: Sandringham Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandringham Hotel is located directly on Sandown seafront and is just footsteps away from the hotel's front doors, offering friendly accommodation for any occasion. Guest can enjoy the use of the heated indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. The high street is located to the rear of the hotel with a variety of shops. The large lounge and bar areas are perfect to relax in after a long day exploring the Island, with a variety of hot, cold and alcoholic beverages available to purchase. Free Wi-Fi is provided in our non-budget rooms as well as the lounge. Meals plans are available and can be booked at discounted rates for hotel residents. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing