We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the waiter we had was poor”
Review of Sandringham Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandringham Hotel
Ranked #7 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“the waiter we had was poor”
Reviewed 4 November 2010

we have just had a 3 night break at the sandringham hotel everything was great apart from wen we had our meals. The waiter we had was a liverpudian and was very rude and very unprofessional with the way he went about his work. when he asked us what we wanted for our meals we were treated like we were in the army rather that a two star hotel. All the rest of the waiting staff seem to be very frendly.
We got speaking to some over guests and got talking about how we are finding our stay. They said that they could not falt the service they have been getting. we then started to speak to people who were sitting on the table next to us and they were not happy with the service they were geting from the same waiter as us, they said that he seamed to rush us through our meal and couldnt wait for us to finish our meal. Wen we came down for breakfast on our last day we had a different waiter and wish we had had him for the rest of our stay he was so freindy and was very polite. when we finished our cooked breacfast he asked if we would like any more tost of tea which we never got asked by our other waiter.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank biggins2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandringhamiow, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 1 January 2011
Many thanks for your review and I really am sorry that you were unhappy with your waiter and the service he gave you during your stay. The member of staff you refer to has worked for us for a long time and he really is an excellent waiter.
As it happens the waiter you mention is requested as a waiter by our many repeat customers more than any of our other waiting staff so this really has come as a surprise to me and I really don't know what went wrong!
I will be sure to show our employee your review and discuss things with him - your feedback really does matter to him and to us.
Thank you and my sincere apologies once again that you were unhappy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    161
    84
    36
    27
See reviews for
141
147
14
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
oxford
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2010

We would thoroughly recommend this hotel to all. It is so relaxing and has such a lovely atmosphere. The staff are always friendly and smiley. We return year after year to this hotel and still want to keep going back. We have noticed that people return to this hotel all the time. We are a party of sometimes 10 of us, from my parents who are pensioners, ourselves, who are in our early forties with our children who are now teenagers, they all love it. Even my 17 year old teenage son still loved it this year.

Whenever we go there we never want to leave. Nothing is too much trouble. It is also such great value for money. It is in a great location right on the beach, in fact we can hear the sea from our room which is one of the great assets of the hotel. We park up and usually dont use the car again for the whole week, it is a real rest.

The hotel is always nice and clean, the beds are really comfy and I always manage to sleep so soundly during our stays. The food is great. So much variety, we always leave the restaurant absolutely stuffed! Its real traditional home cooked food with plenty of choice, always something for everyone. You would be hard pushed to not find something you liked on the menu.

It is just the lovely atmosphere of the hotel that we love, reflects the slow easy going pace of the island. We will be returning I am sure for many years to come.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxfordeasty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The hotel room we had booked on the island was so bad that we refused the accommodation(dont ask!!!).therefore we were a party of four stranded with mountains of luggage, and in need of a bar .Friends had previously stayed at The Sandringham and the hotel were able to offer us rooms for the length of our stay. .On arrival the staff knew of our plight and were very welcoming ,they showed us the rooms and we were very surprised to find ourselves in family rooms with a balcony and sea view. The hotel was very comfortable with a spacious lounge area .the meals were reasonable and the location great. So i just wanted to publicly say Thank you Mr (or Ms ) Sandringham .You changed our impression of the Isle Of Wight

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jin_dru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blackpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 September 2010

I am not disabled but far from nimble so I asked about stairs, lifts and showers (as I can't get into or out if a bath). I was told they had a lift. This is true but it starts on the first floor so you have to climb 20 steps to access it. The shower in the (very small, old fashioned and ill-equipped bathroom) was on a flexible pipe attached to the taps and was for hair washing only. Reception said they only had 4 stand up showers in the hotel and we couldn't change. Most staircases were very wide with no handrail.
Food was average, the bed was very comfortable and the seaview excellent. There was limited entertanment. Car parking (at extra cost) was good. The hotel would not "run a tab" for drinks and all transactions were cash - a considerable inconvenience. Poor value for money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ronandmo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2010

If all you want is location and a good but small bed then this hotel cannot be faulted; otherwise read on.
Lacks upkeep overall; bare wood work, rusty iron work, dead light bulbs, mildew, missing coat hangers, 70's style restaurant menu of 'boil in the bag' quality, bathroom [no shower, curtain, cabinet, toiletries, less than charity shop quality, towells plus carpet flooring]. and mostly unmanned reception complete with iron keys , not electronic card system.
One socket and broken bedside lamp.Cheapest single pendant high wattage light fittings.Fat pigeons nesting on balcony [ shared,not mentioned at time of booking together with lack of lifts to first floor]
No room telephone . No tannoy system [ useful when guests double park] Had to rely on the less than adequate entertainers [of 18 years!!!] microphone! Reception staff said this was our responsibility.! No credit card facility for guests extras tally "cos it costs too much" said but it was ok at time of booking!
We paid extra for a premium balcony sea view room!!!
Wine on 1000% mark up we judged by taste and ripped label. An establishment purely for profit. Needless to say we left early and nobody asked why???

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chiusi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandringhamiow, Owner at Sandringham Hotel, responded to this review, 19 August 2010
Many thanks for your listing and I am sorry that you were so clealy disappointed with the accommodation, service and facilities we provide at our hotel.
We do work hard to ensure customer satisfaction and I am sorry that you vacated the hotel early without anyone actually sitting down and discussing your grievances with you. I would be more than happy to do this by telephone if you would like to contact me.
Our hotel is an old Victorian building which has grown in size over the years and we have and will continue to upgrade the hotel as necessary. Our guests now benefit from a newly refurbished lounge, bar and ballroom with lovely furniture and fixtures.
Our bedrooms are clean and tidy and the beds, mattresses and linen are all more than adequate. Practically all of our ensuite bathrooms have baths with a shower attachment for hair washing (not fixed to the wall for showering) however we do have plans to upgrade these bathrooms in due course - customers are welcome to request a room with a shower at the time of booking although this cannot be guaranteed. Fortunately we also own a couple of other hotels in the area so if a shower in the ensuite bedroom is essential we can usually accommodate the customer in the Sandown area.
We do not offer a tab facility at the hotel for one reason, and one reason only and this is not because it "costs to much" but because with 117 bedrooms checking out, and all of those customers leaving on a ferry, customers will inevitably miss their ferries due to long check out queues. My apologies if this wasn't conveyed to you and I will endeavour to explain this to all of our staff so as they are able to give guests the correct information if ever questioned about this again.
With regards to our car parking, it would also seem that the correct information hasn't been conveyed to you here either. Our main car park is a short walk from the hotel and costs £2 per night. Alternatively at the front of the hotel there are 30 parking spaces but the condition of parking in one of those spaces is that should a customer be blocked in (there is a blocking in system in place) that it is up to the customer to find the person that is blocking them in - the hotel will have no involvement. Clearly our entertainers did endeavour to help you which was kind of them, and our dining room and housekeeping staff will usually assist even if they are not supposed to. In short though there is plenty of parking in the Sandown area but at peak times, as with any seaside resort it might mean not being as close to the hotel as you had wanted to be.
I personally feel that our wine list has been carefully chosen and offers a good range of old and new world wines at very reasonable price. Alternatively we have a range of wines that we sell by the glass for those unable to drink a full bottle and these too are vary in price but are very reasonablly priced. Not a 1000% mark up as suggested, far far from it in fact.
My apologies once again you were disappointed and I do hope to be able to speak with you personally about the points you have raised.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

Having stayed in the Sandringham in the past and other hotels in Sandown we found that the sea view rooms in the Sandringham come in three sizes and you know what type of room you are going to get for your money. Because the Sandringham and others back on to a noisy road it essential, ln our opinion, to have a sea facing room

This time, we booked a superior sea view room with balcony, having read that the top two floors had been recently refurbished. We were given a room on the second floor with a view of the sea and beach. The first floor has sea views but the beach view is restricted by the very large ground floor roof. The top two floors have the superior rooms and the four poster balcony rooms.

Since going there about 4 years ago, the refurbishment has included new beds and matching furniture and bedside lights. The walls have been stippled with plaster in a modern style. The ceilings have been artexed. However the bathroom although adequate, remained back in the sixties with an avocado suite and sixties tiling. The bathrooms are small and our room did not have a full sized bath but made up for it by being deeper than a normal bath. The toilet was snug fit behind the door and it was an art to slip under the toilet roll as one sat down. Unfortunately IMO the only way forward to modernise the bathroom would probably be putting in a shower but as walkers, requiring a soak, that would not appeal to us.

The restaurant looked very tidy and the meals were served efficiently by very pleasant staff. Breakfast included orange juice or prunes; various cereals; a cooked breakfast of 1 sausage, 1 egg, 1 rasher and half tomato/or beans; toast and marmalade and coffee/tea.

Evening meals included first course soup etc; a roast dinner or other choices like fish or lasagne; various puddings and coffee but we strangely the main meal included roast pork both on Mon and Thurs. Wine was, in our opinion, too expensive ranging from £14 to £40 a bottle and £10 for half and we could not justify this cost whilst eating seaside meals.

The lounge and bar area had been completely been refurbished and unrecognisable from before. The beer sold was what I call conglomerate made beers and I would prefer some real ales. Entertainment was a duo on Mon/Wed/Fri and the lady singer was quite acceptable but I would not want to listen to the same act twice.

We were warned by previous a posting that tea facilities provided in the room was somewhat mean, two teabags and two packets of coffee per day, so we brought our own with us including milk sticks.

Car parking was a problem for some as cars as double parked is rife but this problem is easily solve as the hotel has a private car park facility just up the road for £2 a day

Overall we now find this the best seafront hotel in Sandown and despite any niggles we may have, we will still come back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DelboyAylesbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I came over with my Mum and aunt. This was our third time and we have such a relaxing time. The food is very good and the chef will do all sorts of food for us 'veggys' and nothing seems to be too much trouble for any of the staff.

We are planning on returning next year!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carolecull728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 702 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 791 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
2.4 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandringham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandringham Hotel

Property: Sandringham Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Sandown PO36 8AH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Sandringham Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a 117 bedroom hotel situated right on the sea front in Sandown, and cater for couples, families and private groups. We offer discounted ferry rates when booking directly with us and have a swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. Entertainment in the ballroom four nights a week and large sea facing lounge and ballroom. Wi-Fi internet accessible in public areas and non-budget rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Sandringham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandringham Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing