We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, very welcoming and well located”
Review of The Fernside

The Fernside
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fernside
Ranked #11 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hotel, very welcoming and well located”
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed at the Fernside for 3 nights over the jubilee weekend at the start of June 2012 and had a brilliant stay.

The best bits:
1) Very welcoming and friendly atmosphere. The staff were really helpful throughout our stay.
2) The location- ideally located a short walk from the train station and the beach on a peaceful road- nice and close to bars and restaurants for you to stroll down.
3) Off road car parking facilities.
4) The hotel has good local contacts and knowledge- they can recommend good restaurants and can arrange bike hire etc for you.
5) The breakfast- definitely worth getting out of bed for.
6) The bar and separate seating area which are great for chilling out after a busy day of sightseeing.
7) Our room was spacious, comfy and clean.

We would highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again if we return to the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
20
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
swansea
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2012

lovely hotel, rooms spotlessly clean.. beds really comfy,,,breakfast excellent,,,and a good choice,,lawrie very hospitable, and when we had to leave a day early ferry change was organised promptly,,,will definetely stay in Fernside if we return to the island..

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mogvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Friendly,welcoming and helpful. Comfortable and good location. Only (very) slight downside is the limited and early breakfast time but I would definitely stay there again, and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We spent 3 nights at The Fernside in September, where we met up with 3 other family members. All five of us were impressed by the very helpful service and general ambience of the hotel. We needed the use of a fridge for medication and were given a mini-fridge to use in our room, which was perfect. Breakfast and "bar snacks" excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kravevr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The kids & I decided on impulse to travel to Isle of Wight for the remainder of their half-term and chose The Fernside after searching TripAdvisor. We all had an extremely pleasant stay and look forward to returning in the summer. Many thanks to Lawrie for all his help.

Room Tip: The family room (15?) is divided between a double bedroom and a single with a bunk-bed. The kids &am...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charolles, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 October 2011

My friend and I stayed four nights at the Fernside last week (September 25th to 28th) and had a lovely stay. Our room was clean and comfortable, the breakfast was excellent and our hosts very warm and helpful. We ate at the bar one evening as well. The "bar snacks" was a bit of a misnomer as it was a full meal and very tasty. The Fernside is well located for the train and bus and we got everywhere by bus. I would highly recommend the Fernside and the Isle of Wight.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

My wife and I had a three night break here last week and we cannot speak highly enough about this excellent hotel.

The rooms are spotless clean and very comfortable tea and coffee and free bottled water in the room.

The breakfast is as good as you can get anywehere - a full (and I mean full!) quality English breakfast - I am glad we were there only three nights 7 breakfasts their would have piled the pounds on us :)

The hotel has a nice little friendly bar and it serves bar meals - we had one and were very impressed at the quality and value for money.

This is a very friendly hotel that we will certainly use again the next time we visit the Isle of Wight

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AcombDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
313 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westfield
The Westfield
#4 of 30 in Sandown
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
713 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernside

Property: The Fernside
Address: 30 Station Avenue, Sandown PO36 9BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernside 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family-run licenced Guest House in an ideal location on the Isle of Wight, The Fernside offers a friendly atmosphere, comfortable accommodation and an excellent breakfast, just a few minutes walk from Sandown station and the town's award-winning beach. Whether you are on holiday or on business, Lawrie and Denise Davis offer a warm welcome and will ensure that your visit to The Fernside is relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fernside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernside Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing