We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab Weekend with Friends”
Review of The Fernside

The Fernside
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Fernside
Ranked #14 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab Weekend with Friends”
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Visited with friends for a weekend trip away to the Fernside. Both Denise and Lawrie were so welcoming and nothing was too much for them. The choice of English Breakfast was great and cooked to perfection. My fried egg was lovely and runny, very difficult when catering for so many people at one time.

The Fernside maybe a little old fashioned but who cares when the rooms are spotless clean lovely hot shower and fantastic welcome.

Definitely recommend the Fernside not far from the beach and pier. I very much look forward to sending time at the Fernside again on my next visit to the IOW.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loubeelou1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    17
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
20
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

I came with friends to stay at Fernside during the weekend. Denise and Lawrie are so welcoming and helpful. The cooked breakfast was delicious and we also enjoyed several other meals and had very generous helpings!

The decor at Fernside may be old fashioned, but everywhere was spotlessly clean and our room with ensuite shower was comfortable. We enjoyed a happy evening in the lounge where we were served with food and drinks from the bar.

Denise and Lawrie seemed to be cheerfully available at all times, ready to help if needed, and very friendly. I look forward to staying at Fernside again when I next visit the Isle of Wight!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Stayed recently for a couple of nights over a weekend. When you arrive you could be forgiven for thinking it's a little out of the way and looks a little old fashioned, but for what it lacks in modern decor it makes up for in droves with service. We were greeted very cheerfully and shown to our rooms. Our double room was a nice size, with plenty of space for everything. If you're there for longer than a couple of nights there was a massive wardrobe in our particular room (number 6). A nice touch was the two bottles of water and biscuits to go with your tea/coffee, not many hotels offer this kind of thing so that was nice to see.

We had a small flatscreen TV with freeview and a built in DVD player, so entertainment wasn't a problem. Wifi connection is a little flaky and slow, drops out from time to time and you can forget about streaming any video as the speed simply isn't up to the job, but it is offered free and allows you to browse the internet well enough.

We slept well enough, but the mattress on the bed was thin and very soft. Other beds may not be like this particular one, but just be aware if you find soft unsupporting mattresses a problem. The en-suite was nice with an electric shower, no bath.

Overall we had a really nice stay here, the breakfast was very good as many reviews here have stated, locally sourced produce and very well cooked! It's a good base for accessing most of the popular attractions on the island, and the centre of Sandown is a fairly short walk away. For those who don't drive and get the train down it's perfect, as Sandown station is just up the street.

Would I stay here again? Probably not, but that's by no means because of poor service or the hotel itself being bad, I just didn't get on so well with the bed, and I like to stay at different places each time I return somewhere, all part of the adventure after all!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SFGiantsNation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012

My wife booked this hotel for a short stay on the Isle of Wight with the intention that her cousin and husband would stay with us. Unfortunately due to family reasons they couldn't go. When we arrived Laurie gave us a warm welcome and told us about various places to eat in town. He also told us which roads to avoid as the Island was holding the Bestival festival and expected an extra 50,000 visitors. The room was spacious and parking was available off-road in front of the hotel. The full English breakfast was filling and tasty and Laurie was very attentive asking if everything was okay and did we require further toast or tea and coffee. Towels were changed daily if left in the shower cubicle. Maybe the decor was a little old-fashioned but as long as a hotel is clean, comfortable and friendly we don't mind and it was. We would stay there agaain.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chris_Carol_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We stayed for three nights, and yes, the cooked breakfast was good, although a very limited choice of fruit, grapefruit segment and prunes. The room looked very 'Heath Robinson', with cables hanging in bunches behind the tv, running down the doorframes, none of the fixtures & fittings matched. It certainly did not give a feeling of peace and harmony. Soap dispensers not working and containing 'strawberry' smelling soap/shampoo, may be ok for kids, but certainly not for adults. A sheet between ourselves and the duvet would have been nice. The bed was hard, which suited us, but the pillows were also thin and hard, which did not. Behind reception was, what appeared to be a 4 star award from Visit England, but I cannot understand how they could have deserved this. At £40 pppn we did not feel we had value for money and we certainly will not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsx276e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fernside, Owner at The Fernside, responded to this review, 26 August 2012
This is very disappointing.
It is evident from all of the other reviews, that the overwhelming majority of our guests leave happy.
It is such a shame that we were unable to meet the expectations of this particular guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

Been going to the fernside with my parents for years now, and never disapointed once with our stay. The breakfast is fatastic, with local produce on offer! The rooms are always clean and serviced well, and the Laurie is a superb hotel owner, making everyone feel welcome and comfortable.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2012

My son and I booked fairly late (about 2 weeks before arrival and including ferry), and Lawrie couldn't have been more accommodating: everything was sorted out very quickly. On arrival, we found the rooms to be clean, everyone welcoming, a decent-sized breakfast and a shower that worked (not as common an experience as you might think!).
We were so impressed that my son is threatening to return in late July with his girlfriend - Lawrie and Denise, you have been warned! As for me, I'll certainly be returning next year.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
0.1 mi away
Parkbury Hotel
Parkbury Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 236 reviews
0.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandhill Hotel
Sandhill Hotel
#20 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fernside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fernside

Property: The Fernside
Address: 30 Station Avenue, Sandown PO36 9BW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fernside 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small, family-run licenced Guest House in an ideal location on the Isle of Wight, The Fernside offers a friendly atmosphere, comfortable accommodation and an excellent breakfast, just a few minutes walk from Sandown station and the town's award-winning beach. Whether you are on holiday or on business, Lawrie and Denise Davis offer a warm welcome and will ensure that your visit to The Fernside is relaxing and enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Fernside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fernside Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing