We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Friendly”
Review of Chad Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chad Hill Hotel
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
pembrokeshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Friendly”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Chad is a very friendly period hotel, food is excellent and the owners are a very nice couple. We spent 2 days there and found it a very enjoyable experience.
We will definitely be back for a longer stay.
Many Thanks

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marowe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    30
    13
    7
    13
See reviews for
19
42
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
maria29_10
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The room was adequate, clean, and the bed comfortable. Lovely hosts, good breakfasts and we would stay again. Parking was free and the Hotel a walk from Sandown high street. The area was very quiet at night and a peaceful sleep was had.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maria29_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Warm welcome, friendly host's....off road parking....clean comfortable rooms....really good breakfast, with a choice.....would stay again....:...................................................................................................................................thanks.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mag54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A nice place to stay . The hotel is quite old fashioned but not in a bad way . The bedroom size was ok although the shower is a bit of a squeeze . Everything was clean . The beds a double and a single were really comfortable .
The breakfast was ok , with a choice of cereals and juice along with cooked from the menu .
The location was not too bad , about 10 mins from the front and no problems with parking.
We stayed for a week and found it to be very friendly .
There was only one little niggle and that was paying with a credit card and being told this would incur a 2% charge . To be honest I would rather be told the room price with the 2% already included . That aside though it was a very nice stay .

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBarbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barnstaple, England
1 review
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent a long weekend in this little hotel and apart from the very meagre cooked breakfast,no kippers and dreadful supermarket sausages and bacon, we found it ok. If you want a fancy hotel go and pay £100 per night elsewhere. If you want super, personal service and a perfectly adequate clean comfortable room at a bargain price Chad Hill is fine. If we go back to the Island again we would not hesitate to go back to see Judy at this hotel.
Also, if you want to hire a car for your stay, the customer service at Value Car Hire in Sandown was superb and I'd highly recommend them too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed here with my wife for two nights it was a cheep and cheerful weekend get away, we were made welcome and our room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was nice and plentiful. It was about a 5-10 min walk to the sea front and pier. I did read some of the reviews on here before traveling but i thought i would judge it for myself, i liked it here, it was a cheap break away and it was worth the money would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2012

if you like an old fashioned hotel which looks after its guests this is the one! So friendly and welcoming. the weather was awful but felt very happy in our room reading or in the small bar. Food always lovely. 5 mins walk from sandown pier. close enough but nice and quiet too.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
715 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
313 reviews
0.2 mi away
Parkbury Hotel
Parkbury Hotel
#14 of 29 in Sandown
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,239 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
756 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chad Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chad Hill Hotel

Property: Chad Hill Hotel
Address: 7 Hill Street, Sandown PO36 9DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chad Hill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Chad Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chad Hill Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing