We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired hotel but judy the owner was friendly and breakfast was good”
Review of Chad Hill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chad Hill Hotel
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

A hotel tucked away from the sea and town but just a short walk away so made it nice and quiet with ample off road parking or side roads which were without time limits. The hotel owner judy was welcoming and really friendly. However the room we had was to the front with the sink in the bedroom!! The bedroom was tired and old fashioned. Probably 1970's yellow sanitary ware - that's a first for me. Swirls on the carpets. Nets at the window etc etc. it was cramped and lacked space and didn't feel fresh. The garden could have bee pretty but with filthy plastic chairs it was very unacceptable as was seeing jury's nic jacks blowing on the line whilst eating breakfast which was small in size but tasty and fresh!! A good price though but could be so much better! It also constantly smelt of chips so a few air freshners in the hall would be nice. Doubtful we go back

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babebond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (95)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 95 reviews

Reviewed 1 October 2012

The Chad is a very friendly period hotel, food is excellent and the owners are a very nice couple. We spent 2 days there and found it a very enjoyable experience.
We will definitely be back for a longer stay.
Many Thanks

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marowe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

The room was adequate, clean, and the bed comfortable. Lovely hosts, good breakfasts and we would stay again. Parking was free and the Hotel a walk from Sandown high street. The area was very quiet at night and a peaceful sleep was had.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maria29_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Warm welcome, friendly host's....off road parking....clean comfortable rooms....really good breakfast, with a choice.....would stay again....:...................................................................................................................................thanks.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mag54321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

A nice place to stay . The hotel is quite old fashioned but not in a bad way . The bedroom size was ok although the shower is a bit of a squeeze . Everything was clean . The beds a double and a single were really comfortable .
The breakfast was ok , with a choice of cereals and juice along with cooked from the menu .
The location was not too bad , about 10 mins from the front and no problems with parking.
We stayed for a week and found it to be very friendly .
There was only one little niggle and that was paying with a credit card and being told this would incur a 2% charge . To be honest I would rather be told the room price with the 2% already included . That aside though it was a very nice stay .

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBarbe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

We spent a long weekend in this little hotel and apart from the very meagre cooked breakfast,no kippers and dreadful supermarket sausages and bacon, we found it ok. If you want a fancy hotel go and pay £100 per night elsewhere. If you want super, personal service and a perfectly adequate clean comfortable room at a bargain price Chad Hill is fine. If we go back to the Island again we would not hesitate to go back to see Judy at this hotel.
Also, if you want to hire a car for your stay, the customer service at Value Car Hire in Sandown was superb and I'd highly recommend them too.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Stayed here with my wife for two nights it was a cheep and cheerful weekend get away, we were made welcome and our room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was nice and plentiful. It was about a 5-10 min walk to the sea front and pier. I did read some of the reviews on here before traveling but i thought i would judge it for myself, i liked it here, it was a cheap break away and it was worth the money would stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
10.2 mi away
Best Western New Holmwood Hotel
6.8 mi away
Travelodge Newport Isle of Wight
0.5 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Hazelwood
The Hazelwood
#35 of 51 in Shanklin
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chad Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chad Hill Hotel

Address: 7 Hill Street, Sandown PO36 9DD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: £60 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chad Hill Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 121
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Chad Hill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chad Hill Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing