We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Wight Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Wight Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Hailsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

We visited this hotel in March for 7 nights half board, having been 4 times before with coach parties. The staff are all extremely efficient and friendly, the rooms and communal areas spotless and the food very good.
Situated as it is, just a stone's throw from the beach, we had lovely bracing walks along the coastal path before breakfast.
There is a bus stop right outside for those without their own transport, and of course, on the Island, everything is within easy reach. Having been several times, we are now greeted like friends, and consider it a home-from-home. Having read some of the negative reviews I think maybe some people just expect perfection. Yes some of the decor is a bit 'tired' and it is unusual these days to have sheets and blankets instead of duvets, but I don't find that a problem, as long as everything is clean, which it is. This is a two-star establishment, - if you want luxury then you will have to pay more and try a 4 or 5 star. Or just stop 'nit-picking' and relax and enjoy your holiday - as we did. We will certainly go again, and again!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANVILLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    111
    39
    14
    11
See reviews for
78
125
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2012

me and my family visited the hotel again for the second time this year. the holiday was once again so pleasant and all the staff very welcoming and helpful. the hotel feels just like home. i strongley recommend it.
Ive also read the previous reviews and they do not sound like the riviera i visit. so try it out and you wont regret it.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank liz m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferndown, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

Room and bathroom clean however very shabby, small and awful bedding (Second if not First World War springs to mind). TV so tiny, my laptop screen is bigger, as it rained the first day we preferred to weather the elements than being cooped up in this uninviting room. Everything done on the cheap. Overprized for what it is.
Breakfast so revolting....I didn`t know you could still get bread as horrible as this sawdust.....that we chose to eat elsewhere despite that breakfast was included. We nearly booked for 3 nights, thank goodness decided on 2 nights and couldn`t wait to get out.
Dining room smelled dank/dusty/indescribable really.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicolelucie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012

Stayed for 5 days, could not find anything to complain about. The food was excellant, staff very friendly and helpful and the hotel was spotless. Would not hesitate to recomend it and would not consider going anywhere else when we come back to the area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2012 via mobile

Tired and not welcoming. Rooms clean and adequate but small. Restaurant shabby. Breakfast - yuk

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank areviewer9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chelmsford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We had chosen this hotel being only one of a few offering wheelchair access..........the hotel was contacted to confirm that the hotel really was accessible for a wheelchair user.......this would surely suggest that the wheelchair user may be using a wheelchair! at no time during the conversation with an 'english'(we think) receptionist was there any forthcoming information regarding the level needed for our visit! We can only surmise that the lady wanted to fill the rooms regardless of the client's needs! on arrival I entered via the 'ramp' at the rear to find a closed bar/empty lounge and no sign of staff........... on entering at the front I was greeted coolly by the english receptionist, who considered a ‘phone call more important than me, paid the balance and was 'helped with my bags to the room by 2 very helpful indian gentlemen. on entering the room I immediately realised that the abysmally small doorway into an equally poor en-suite would be totally inaccessible to my husband, who can manage 2-3 steps but no more.....a shower was impossible and the only way he could use the toilet was to leave his mobility scooter in the doorway and leave the loo door wide open. After approaching the relief Indian receptionist (doubling as waitress/bar staff etc)regarding the inadequacy of the en-suite (there were no grab rails/seat or aids to the shower) I was informed that she always let people know that there were no disabled rooms in this hotel!!! This was news to us!
For the 4nights stay my husband had to suffer the indignity and lack of privacy that anyone would expect using a toilet! Needless to say he couldn’t have a shower and even the washbasin was not within easy reach.
The Indian members of staff were very polite and helpful as was the Hungarian breakfast waitress. I can only say that the English receptionist does appear to lack communication/people skills from my experience!
The exciting varied menu (traditional and continental) may have been home-made but most certainly was not exciting..............our one venture into exciting was a curry on our second evening. The meals can only be described as adequate.
We were really looking forward to our visit but we certainly would not recommend this hotel with its tired in need of TLC bedroom and general lack of personality.

Room Tip: visit first to ensure room is suitable
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paul b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We knew that this was a 2 star hotel and as such went with 2 star expectations. In some areas the hotel pleasantly surprised us, and others let themselves down. The room was clean and had everything that we wanted from it. Unfortunately the bed was quite hard, you had to run the shower for at least 10 minutes before any hot water came through and had little or no sound proofing so we heard much of the ‘entertainment’ and suffered with noisy neighbours, especially at 3am. The breakfast was really good for 2 star and the staff really pulled the place up being extremely helpful. These staff in a slightly better surrounding could easily have scored extra stars.

All in all, the hotel was perfectly adequate for our needs and we were only irritated by the noise which was a result of poor noise insulation. This was booked on a Groupon deal so for the price paid we were satisfied. We had a great time in Isle of Wight and may return again, we might even stay back at this hotel at the right price.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ruth E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
708 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Clifton
The Clifton
#2 of 52 in Shanklin
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wight Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wight Bay Hotel

Property: Wight Bay Hotel
Address: 2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Sandown
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wight Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wight Bay Hotel committed to provide customers great value for money Our hotel is located in the famous town of Sandown known for its award winning blue flag beach. Our hotel offers it's guests a fantastic location, being within 2 minutes walk of the town centre and the steps which lead to the esplanade and cliff top walk, which runs between Sandown and Shanklin. Our spacious and bright dining room looks out to the front of the hotel and serves breakfast and dinner specially prepared for you on the premises. We also have a large bar and seating area, which is a great place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Wight Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sandown
Wight Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing