We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Four star food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wight Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Wight Bay Hotel
Ranked #5 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Four star food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Just returned from a 5-day Travelstyle coach holiday, based at the Riviera. Traditional décor and everywhere looked clean and tidy and smart. My single room (No.8) on the first floor was average sized and had everything I needed, the bed was comfortable, and it was spotlessly clean, as was the bathroom. The small window only looked onto rooftops but did not detract from the overall stay. There is a lovely dining room and lounge with well stocked bar on the ground floor. Staff friendly and helpful. Should be a 3 star at least for comfort and cleanliness. But most of all, the food was fantastic, equivalent to any 4 star hotel, with great choice, quick efficient service, evidently home cooked and always generous in the amount of meat included. Heard lots of people commenting on how great the food was and I hope the Chef received our compliments. Set on an incline and with steps to the entrance, perhaps not ideal for the very disabled. But overall this hotel deserves much praise and is great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Joanna55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    102
    32
    14
    11
See reviews for
73
115
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in August. On arrival you are faced with a flight of steps at the front main door. Not easy to haul luggage up, but there is an easier entry via a ramp and through the lounge around the front of the hotel. Can't remember seeing a notice re this at the main entrance though!
The decor of the passageways/landings and bedrooms although somewhat dated in style is fresh, excellent condition and clean. The standard of cleanliness in bedroom/bathroom and through out the hotel is of a very high standard.
Linen - bed and hand all smart, clean and in excellent condition.
Tea/coffee facilities together with toilet essentials in rooms.
The dining room and lounge are very nice rooms, warm, welcoming and friendly appeal to them. In these public rooms handy WiFi is available free of charge. The breakfasts and evening meals are impressive, with quite a varied choice, well cooked and presented.
Location, on main road exiting west from Sandown which means there is a fair amount of traffic and thus noise early mornings and evenings if you have a South facing bedroom, as we did. But, on the positive side, you get the sun in room most of the day, view of Sandown Pier and sea. Although only app 250/300 yds from Sandown Pier, it is an uphill walk all the way back to the Hotel, steep initially then gentle climb.
For a 2* rated hotel it is excellent. We have stayed in worst hotels with higher ratings.

Room Tip: Rooms on South side are facing main road, therefore can be noisy with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trevor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

We stayed for one night, but enjoyed the friendly staff and also helpful. Room was clean and a good size. Breakfast was just right and served swiftly and nothing was to much trouble. The only thing I would say would have loved a mug with the tea making facilities, but that is my choice, I know most people like a cup. Will go again. Thank you

Room Tip: Very local for all Sandown has to offer
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LesleyB1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

Nice place in Sandown close to the beach, bus stop and the high street.
Rooms are a bit dated but what it matters is that are fairly cleaned, breakfast is fine as well as the service.
Tv in the room as previous reviewers say are small but who cares, if I had wanted to watch a telly I would have stayed at home; we found some stains in the linen of the beds so just advice maids to pay extra attention whilst doing the beds as some customers might not like it.
We will come back only at the reasonable rate that we booked , b & b @£35 per person; I won' t find it worth it if rate is higher than that.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nando1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

vary nice hotel with good food sever, good food. with good friendly worker. vary good location to town and to the beach and swimming pool & gym. with good entertainment on most night. with nice size bedrooms with tv in rooms.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

Having read previous reviews I feel I need to reply. I have been visiting this hotel since 1988 both as a child, with a large party of friends/family and now as a mum.
This hotel is extremely friendly and no job too big or small for the owners and their staff and you are genuinely made to feel part of the family.
The rooms in the past admittedly have appeared tired and slightly dated(always continuoisly spotlessly clean though!) however have recently been part of a refurbishment seeing new toilets, basins, wallpaper, carpets etc I have in previous stays (but not often) had shower trouble/broken toilet seats but one mention of this to hotel staff and the problem rectified immediately! Some people appear that they would rather wait until they are at home to complain rather than bring this to attention whilst on their stay and get a solution! After all the owners/staff do not sleep in these rooms so how are they to know if the bed is wonky/theres no water unless they are told? The TVs yes are small portables but are flatscreen and have freeview and as the previous reviewer states 'who goes away to watch tv?'
As for the food I can honestly say I have never had a bad meal, with plenty of selection and flexibility from the chef and waiting staff. I have two very fussy children and had no quarrell with catering for their needs.
The restaurant is always open when guest have 'booked' for an evening meal and the bar also, and as stated in the hotel guide in the bedroom if anything is wanted out of the designated meal times then all you have to do is ring the bell at reception!
I truly believe that you should ignore the bad comments and try this hotel for yourself and you wont be disappointed. It is in a great location, 5 min walk from beach and local shops and close to train station and across road from bus stops.
There is also some great restaurants/pubs opening now on the island which are well worth the try - the Fighting Cocks is a great pub serving beautiful food with excellent portion sizes , very accommodating with children and has a large beer garden/play area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison123_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlington, Middlesex
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My family have visited this hotel many times and never been disappointed. My husband and I have just returned from another visit and were more than happy with the service, the food and the lovely bright refurbished rooms.
I have noticed a review about the size of the television in the room but who goes on holiday to watch a television when you can do that at home, why not sit in the lounge and make some new friends and believe me you will. I have never left this place without a new Christmas card to write, everybody is friendly whether on a coach or visiting with their family.
The bedrooms are beautifully clean with new bedding, new carpets, new bathrooms.
This hotel has always claimed to be a home from home, bucket and spade hotel, it is not 5 star and does not claim to be, this is extremely good value with great food from a chef who has been working there for many years and if you stayed a fortnight you would not get a repeat meal very often. The rolls and gateaux are made in house and are always fresh. No squirty cream coming out of this kitchen!!
If you want a holiday in Sandown, then give the Riviera a try you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you cannot climb stairs then ask for ground floor, this is an old Victorian house so the stairs a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TheSpoards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wight Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wight Bay Hotel

Property: Wight Bay Hotel
Address: 2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#2 Family Hotel in Sandown
#3 Best Value Hotel in Sandown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Wight Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wight Bay Hotel committed to provide customers great value for money Our hotel is located in the famous town of Sandown known for its award winning blue flag beach. Our hotel offers it's guests a fantastic location, being within 2 minutes walk of the town centre and the steps which lead to the esplanade and cliff top walk, which runs between Sandown and Shanklin. Our spacious and bright dining room looks out to the front of the hotel and serves breakfast and dinner specially prepared for you on the premises. We also have a large bar and seating area, which is a great place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Wight Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sandown
Wight Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing