We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our lovely weekend stay.”
Review of Wight Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wight Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 24 November 2013

The hotel is fantastic.Rooms were very spacious and clean.Food was wonderful homemade cooking really enjoyed it.Thankyou you all for making our weekend trip to the Isle Wight very nice.
Even the packed lunch we bought was very good.Not far to walk to the beach and lots of buses if you need to travel to different towns.

Room Tip: The family rooms very lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank helen5163
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013

Spent a long weekend at the Riviera Hotel. The hotel is very pleasant and the rooms are comfy. the food appeared to be home-cooked and was very good.Bar area was delightful with entertainment scheduled for each evening. Hotel staff were very friendly and efficient. I do not understand why the hotel is rated as a 2 star only.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank AlanD_Bournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Spent five days at this Hotel on a coach trip. The owners and staff were extremely pleasant and very efficient. Everywhere was spotless and the food excellent. We were on a Tinsel and Turkey break, the decorations were beautiful and the entertainment first class.

Room Tip: No lift so if unable to use stairs ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sandiel127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

we 've been going to isle of wight for the last 6 years we never had the experience like the Riviera the room was stunning the food was the best and the staff were helpful and very nice
we recommend it and we will be returning back there keep it up .

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bekhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Returned today from a 4 day break with Travelstyletours...the hotel was spotless, our room was small but with all our needs, the food was excellent and we must say we ate every bit ...we had no problems whatsoever and can't find any fault.. if we wanted to nit pick the entertainment was only on the Saturday and it was a disco, but you can use the Channel View Hotel which is directly next door, we didn't as we sat with other couples we met and had a chat .....would I use this hotel again most certainly ..........

Room Tip: we requested a low floor which we got but I heard no complaints ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank christine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Just spent the weekend at this hotel with 'Just go' coach holidays. Lovely single room and great food. Hotel was clean and staff were friendly, what more could you want. On the morning we were leaving I wasn't feeling very well and the staff were very helpful. Thankyou.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EssexHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2013

we've just got back from a long weekend at the Riviera Hotel and were pleasantly surprised with how nice it was for the cost.

we had a double, and a single room, both were clean and more that adequate as a base for exploring the island. The breakfasts were ok but the evening meals were really nice, especially the trout and salmon. We were more than prepared to eat out in the evening but never did once. The waiter was lovely and friendly, in fact all the staff were great. The rooms were clean and the bed quite comfy.

The hotel is in a great location, 5 minutes walk to the sea front; granted up hill, but then all of the isle of Wight seems to include hills so I don't think you'd get better in another hotel.

On the down side, the walls were very thin, leaving us able to hear every word of our neighbours nagging, and taking a shower was pot luck as to whether the water would stay the right temperature or not. The rooms were quite small, but nothing we didn't expect for the price we paid.

We booked with Travel style which offers cheap D, B & B deals so we knew we weren't booking a luxury holiday, but you get whet you pay for, and for the price we were all very impressed with the Hotel and would definitely return

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kath90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
750 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
456 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
2.2 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wight Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wight Bay Hotel

Address: 2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Sandown
#1 Family Hotel in Sandown
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £32 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wight Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wight Bay Hotel committed to provide customers great value for money Our hotel is located in the famous town of Sandown known for its award winning blue flag beach. Our hotel offers it's guests a fantastic location, being within 2 minutes walk of the town centre and the steps which lead to the esplanade and cliff top walk, which runs between Sandown and Shanklin. Our spacious and bright dining room looks out to the front of the hotel and serves breakfast and dinner specially prepared for you on the premises. We also have a large bar and seating area, which is a great place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Wight Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sandown
Wight Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing