We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC HOTEL, WE GO BACK AGAIN AND AGAIN”
Review of Wight Bay Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Wight Bay Hotel
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 3 February 2011

We have visited this hotel 5 times now and NEVER been disappointed. The food is FANTASTIC, varied and there is more than enough of it. The staff are so friendly and cannot do enough for you, it is like visiting friends.
The rooms are well presented and always spotlessly clean, as are the restaurant and bar areas.
Just a couple of minutes walk from the beach, and about minutes from town. Ideally located for any sort of holiday on the Isle of Wight. Will recommend to EVERYBODY.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JANVILLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

315 - 321 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2010

We haven't been for for 5 years, since the hotel changed hands. We had previously visited every year for at least 35 years (when we were taken as little ones by our own parents) But returned in October 2010 and had a wonderful weekend. Nothing had changed - thank goodness!!. Warm, clean, comfortable hotel, excellent grub. We took Mum and our two children aged 13 and 6, who both thoroughly enjoyed themselves. The older having good memories from years gone by and Alfie (aged 6) said it was better than Spain, so we will definitely be returning again next year. Really Good company as well courtesy of a coach of over 60's from High Wycombe - lovely people who knew how to enjoy themselves. Well done Riviera!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dangerous67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

This hotel is absolutely spotless from entrance all through to your room. The bedding is checked every day and bed made while you have your breakfast.
The breakfasts are fantastic. Full english is only one of the options. i did not go for any of the others because I enjoyed them so much. The evening meals are the best I have ever had. Having mainly travelled abroad for holidays this is the first time that I have actually looked forward to the meals. The soups are home made, very tasty. The main courses are like something that you would find in an expensive restaurant. The waitresses and bar staff are so friendly, nothing too much trouble. Many of the guests we spoke to had stayed there many times one over 60 times!!! Bar prices very suprisingly were not expensive, no more than your normal pub prices. The guests were all ages but a lot were pensioner age they were all lovely people. We made lots of friends whilst we were there. The hotel is only one street away from the beach, the walk is a bit on the steep side but does not cause any problems. Newspapers are there on the reception every morning. So congratulations to the proprietor and staff of the Riviera for getting everything not just right but very right if you know what I mean. Would I recommend this hotel? Of course I would. Already done so.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2010

Convenient to beach and town. Evening meals good and good choice , however cooked breakfast low quality produce. Tea and coffee making facilities minimal. Staff polite and efficient.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tomjack10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2010

Have Travelled with same coach party for several years now . and this has been the best accommodation yet. Excellent service, with polite staff. Rooms clean and tidy.Food very good, and bar prices reasonable, Good evening entertainment.
Satisfied from Norfolk.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RomaNorfolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2010

The rooms are a little on the small side but the staff are very good and do everything they can to improve your stay. The food was extreemly good, not posh, but good quality and enough of it. The beach is a couple of minute walk.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KentStarrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

We planned to stay at the Carlton Hotel in Sandown but were put off by reviews we had read on the internet. Cancelled this 2 weeks before departure. Booked up Riviera at short notice. We were very pleased with the hotel, the food was excellent, and had a good variety(inc childrens menu). Very friendly staff, rooms were very nice and decorated to a very good standard, cleaned every day inc sunday, the hotel is situated 2 mins walk from Sandown. We would highly recommend this very good hotel and would return there. There were 6 of us in our party ranging from 11 yrs to 70 and we all had a great time. There was entertainment 6 nights a week.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cook1atschool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#10 of 29 in Sandown
454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 29 in Sandown
353 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wight Bay Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wight Bay Hotel

Address: 2 Royal Street, Sandown PO36 8LP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sandown
#2 Family Hotel in Sandown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £34 - £126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Wight Bay Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Wight Bay Hotel committed to provide customers great value for money Our hotel is located in the famous town of Sandown known for its award winning blue flag beach. Our hotel offers it's guests a fantastic location, being within 2 minutes walk of the town centre and the steps which lead to the esplanade and cliff top walk, which runs between Sandown and Shanklin. Our spacious and bright dining room looks out to the front of the hotel and serves breakfast and dinner specially prepared for you on the premises. We also have a large bar and seating area, which is a great place to relax and unwind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Wight Bay Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Hotel Sandown
Wight Bay Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing