We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Rooftree Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rooftree Hotel
Ranked #20 of 31 Sandown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 July 2011

Stayed here with a party of School children. Made very welcome. Children happy. Very clean and food very good.
Ideal position-10 minute walk to the beach & pier, with bus stop right outside. Up hill walk coming back.
Hope to return next year!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T.Fog.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

67 - 73 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2010

A great place to stay and good value for money.. Made us totally feel at home.. Brilliant brakefast and walking distance to the beach and restaurents.. children had their own bunk beds in the room and they had their toys too...

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rita_k_Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2008

We went to the Isle of Wight for the easter weekend, and happened to come across this little hotel on the internet. Having read no reviews beforehand, I have to say this hotel really did meet our expectations.

The hosts Ann and Futoshi were extremely welcoming, friendly and very helpful. As we have a little toddler in tow, we had a cot put into our room along with their own toys and books!..which we thought was a lovely touch!..especially if you forgot to bring toys with you! We loved the fact we found somewhere so family friendly!!...and it was only a 5 min walk to the beach. Shame we didn't get a chance to sample Futoshi's evening cuisine! (served Mon-Fri only)...we didn't want to eat out in the evenings (as it can be difficult with a 1 yr old!), but Ann was really understanding and recommended a takeaway down the road, which we bought and ate in their lounge.

Overall, the bedroom was quite dated in style but faultlessly clean, with free tea/coffee etc...and the breakfast was very good- with plenty of choice from full english, to porridge and smoked kippers! Great veggie breakfasts too!
We definately enjoyed our stay at the hotel and would recommend it to anyone!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank yunners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2006

We stayed here for the Isle of Wight Garlic Festival. There is a bus stop right outside the door of the hotel where they dropped us off but we needed to walk down a couple of blocks to catch the out-going bus. It's about a 10 min. walk from the train station. Parking can be a bit of a headache if the hotel is full. They were shuffling cars on Saturday a bit. The bed wasn't too bad; maybe a little hard, but the room was very clean. Dated decor but everything you need is there. The only problem was the electric shower didn't want to work. It was a scorching hot trickle or a freezing cold trickle. The owner, Ann, apologized and said they would get it checked right away, and I think she probably will. Breakfast was excellent.

Stayed: August 2006
Thank EMandDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2006

In three continents and several countries, Ann and Futoshi Abe are the two absolute best hosts we have ever had the pleasure of staying with.

The first person you are likely to meet is Ann who in short order will make you feel a part of the family in their big house. In the morning, she will give you extensive choices for breakfast; our favorite being the grilled Portobello mushrooms - be sure to try those. The hosts are more than happy to accommodate any wish you might have and the food is well prepared, tasty and plentiful.

The hospitality extends to more than just breakfast - ask for anything and they'll do their best to get it for you. They are also very family-friendly: there is a playroom and a closed-in garden for children to run around in. We happened to be there during the Easter weekend when Ann and Futoshi hosted an Easter egg hunt for the children staying there as well as their own.

The hotel is very close to transportation (both train and bus) as well as the Sandown Pier and the beach. Excellent tourist information office and vehicle or bike rental are also minutes away. We slept in two rooms during our stay; one was larger, the other one a nook in the attic which was smaller but extremely cozy and welcoming. The latter was recently remodeled while the other well kept up. Both bathrooms were very clean and relatively spacious.

We definitely recommend staying at this hotel - it is very relaxing, a good starting point for anywhere on the island, and the price is also very good (we paid £66 a night and was so pleased after the first night we added one more day to our stay).

5  Thank curiousn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenza P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nuvolanera1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marina Bay Hotel
Marina Bay Hotel
#12 of 29 in Sandown
317 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westfield
The Westfield
#5 of 31 in Sandown
133 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rosemary Cottage
Rosemary Cottage
#1 of 1 in Newchurch
212 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Belmore B&B
The Belmore B&B
#3 of 31 in Sandown
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooftree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooftree Hotel

Address: 26 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range: £41 - £67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rooftree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rooftree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooftree Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing