We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent place to stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rooftree Hotel

Rooftree Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rooftree Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here for one night as I had a meeting the next day near by. A friendly welcome by Tony and the room was perfect. Parking was immediately outside on the forecourt. I stayed in room number 5 which is a large room with very modern en-suite. Very comfortable. Breakfast had everything I needed. Free wifi which is a real bonus, particularly when you're away with work.

When I need to stay on the Isle of Wight again I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Room number
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snKits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
11
28
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013

My Husband and I have just returned home after a 4 night break at Rooftree, we can only sing praises regarding the owners Tony and Debs, they go beyond the call of duty, and nothing is too much trouble, they are a passionate couple and their aim is to please their customers, which they do magnificently !
The accommodation is lovely and comfortable and the food was exceptional and prompt.
The location was amazing literally a five minute walk to the Train Station, the town and the beach.
We would highly recommend Rooftree and look forward to returning again.
(Mick & Shelley-ann Kelly)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelley_ann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very warm and friendly welcome from Debs and Tony, I was shown to my room by Debs it was a lovely double room towards the top of the build. The room has been recently refurbished including new furniture and en-suite bathroom, my friend’s room was just as nice as mine.
Breakfast was great compliments to Tony, location was spot on for a chill weekend break as is just 5 mins walk from beach, pier and great local eateries.
Debs and Tony are still in the refurbishment process, but this had no affect on our enjoyment of our weekend.
We are looking to book up again soon for another great weekend brake.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aldershot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Unfortunately we only stayed one night as it was a flying visit to the island but it was superb.
Debs and Tony are a wonderful couple and passionate about their business the refurbished rooms are excellent, the breakfast was superb i can only say that we will certainly stay again and would recommend to anyone visiting the island

Its a great location within working distance to the beach and pier, and even a pub (The Castle) enroute to stop for a swift drink or two!

Once again thanks for a great stay and we will be back

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

My wife and I have just spent two nights with twelve of our friends ( all middle aged couples) at Rooftrees.
On behalf of us all who travel together once a year for a weekend break we cannot recommend this 9 bed hotel more highly.
The welcome and attention to our needs was excellent
The breakfast choice is fantastic from full English to smoked salmon, kippers or smoked haddock.
The rooms are all newly refurbished and our ensuite had lovely marbled tiles.
All the nice touches are there with hair driers and tea making facilities.fans if required.
Debs and Tony are a lovely couple and compliment themselves with Debs looking after front of house and Tony looking after back of house.
All in all we had an enjoyable stay with above local pub called the Castle and several nice restaurants down the front one being the Bank which we all went to on Friday night.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mcglone666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derbyshire
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013

We have just returned from spending a lovely week on the island which was made more enjoyable from the excellent hospitality from our stay at The Rooftree with such friendly hosts 'Debs and Tony'. Nothing was any trouble to them and they catered for all our family needs. The breakfasts were superb and tasted lovely and the service was tops! We were made to feel welcome from the minute we stepped through the door from having a chat and having our bags taken to our room. Our room was very comfortable and spacious and done to a high modern standard including the en suite. The home comfort of having a fan and bottles of water were lovely touches and much appreciated after a hot sunny week. We have already booked for next year and cannot wait!! Keep up the good work Tony and Debs and THANK YOU so much!

Room Tip: We had room 5 as a family room but from what we saw then all rooms will be of the same high standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank oinkyDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

We (a couple in our mid 20's) had a fantastic stay at the rooftree. The welcome and service that we received throughout the week was what really made our stay, Tony and Debs were great hosts! The bedroom and en-suite were ample size and nicely decorated with all the amenities you would need. The breakfast was brilliant with lots of choice and attentive service. All in all a lovely hotel for all, we had a great stay!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trebormack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Burlington Hotel
The Burlington Hotel
#10 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 293 reviews
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooftree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooftree Hotel

Property: Rooftree Hotel
Address: 26 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rooftree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rooftree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooftree Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing