We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Simply The Best!'”
Review of Rooftree Hotel

Rooftree Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rooftree Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“'Simply The Best!'”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I was over on the Isle of Wight on the last weekend in March and first weekend in April deejaying at Warner's Bembridge Coast Hotel & Norton Grange. I decided to stay between the two weekends Mon-Thurs in Sandown with the intention of doing some walking & touring around the island.I luckily discovered The Rooftree B&B on the internet and made a booking.I'm so glad that i did,the room was nicely decorated,the bed extremely comfortable,clean,as was the shower,As i was taken ill and was unable to walk i spent most of the time in the room,apart from visiting the hospital in Newport.
The breakfast as mentioned by some other reviewers was excellent as was the price,and thanks go to Tony & Debs for their hospitality,hopefully i will endeavour to stay again in the future,and next time might get to do some walking ...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kgdj53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    20
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
28
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tamworth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Decided to go to the Isle Of Wight simply because i'd never been there before and was in the area. Despite a foul-up with the ferry not getting me in till after 11:00 at night Tony was more than accommodating getting me in despite the late hour. Wonderful place to stay! Very comfortable bed, simply but elegantly furnished room and a nice shower. Everywhere immaculately clean and tidy. The breakfast was something to behold too. Very generous portions and delicious (especially the sausages)! Tony & Debs the perfect hosts and should I ever have to re-visit the isle of Wight I will definitely be staying here again. I am recommending the Rooftree to all of my friends & family as an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breezeblock66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We stayed here early late October. What a lovely place, so clean and fresh. Bed was very comfortable and room had the most perfect modern on suite.. I didn't expect to find such a lovely place on the Isle of Wight when so many of its B&Bs are old and worn. The breakfast was lovely and they couldn't do enough for us. I would defiantly stay here again, a great little find and a very short walk to the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Digby211212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ryde, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 10 November 2013

I stayed here for two nights intially then extended my stay for a third...fabulous small hotel in Sandown - new couple running it for last 18months and nearly finished renovations to a very high standard. Excellent value for money for standard of accommodation - it is a character house and many of the main features have been retained. I can recommend room number five too! Best cooked breakfast on the Isle of Wight! SO nicely cooked, makes you wish they did evening meals. Lovely couple with young family - really welcoming - makes you wish they were staying open for the winter! (only thing missing?... some soft furnishings on floors and windows). With a fluffy bathrobe this place would give any "boutique" hotel a run for it's money!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I stayed here for one night as I had a meeting the next day near by. A friendly welcome by Tony and the room was perfect. Parking was immediately outside on the forecourt. I stayed in room number 5 which is a large room with very modern en-suite. Very comfortable. Breakfast had everything I needed. Free wifi which is a real bonus, particularly when you're away with work.

When I need to stay on the Isle of Wight again I will definitely stay here.

Room Tip: Room number
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snKits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 September 2013

My Husband and I have just returned home after a 4 night break at Rooftree, we can only sing praises regarding the owners Tony and Debs, they go beyond the call of duty, and nothing is too much trouble, they are a passionate couple and their aim is to please their customers, which they do magnificently !
The accommodation is lovely and comfortable and the food was exceptional and prompt.
The location was amazing literally a five minute walk to the Train Station, the town and the beach.
We would highly recommend Rooftree and look forward to returning again.
(Mick & Shelley-ann Kelly)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shelley_ann2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Very warm and friendly welcome from Debs and Tony, I was shown to my room by Debs it was a lovely double room towards the top of the build. The room has been recently refurbished including new furniture and en-suite bathroom, my friend’s room was just as nice as mine.
Breakfast was great compliments to Tony, location was spot on for a chill weekend break as is just 5 mins walk from beach, pier and great local eateries.
Debs and Tony are still in the refurbishment process, but this had no affect on our enjoyment of our weekend.
We are looking to book up again soon for another great weekend brake.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 305 reviews
0.2 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bell Lodge
The Bell Lodge
#1 of 30 in Sandown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooftree Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooftree Hotel

Property: Rooftree Hotel
Address: 26 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9BY, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Rooftree Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rooftree Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rooftree Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing