We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wight
Nearby Hotels
Marina Bay Hotel(Sandown)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandown Hotel(Sandown)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Caprera Hotel(Sandown)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (765)
Filter reviews
765 results
Traveller rating
436
204
62
32
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
204
62
32
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomswimming poolsnooker roomstar hotelbar managerpool tablegreat facilitiescourse dinnerexcellent value for moneybed and breakfastfantastic hotelwell stocked barfamily roomwaitress serviceevening entertainmenthigh streetpublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
575 - 580 of 765 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I was quite surprised when we first arrived, sat nav said we had reached our destination, but we couldn't actually see the hotel. This is because it isn't on the road, but has been built at the back of other hotels in the road. The slip road round to the hotel was well maintained, with roses growing along the path, and there was plenty of parking spaces, and gardens near the games room and swimming pool. Not being on the road meant it was very quiet.
Our room was freshly painted, the bed very comfortable, there was plenty of storage space and the hairdryer and tea making facilities were conveniently situated. The bathroom was fine, except for the shower, which had very little pressure, and changed from very hot to cold on occasions.
Breakfast was entirely waitress service, and each part of the breakfast was produced within minutes, and yet was very fresh and well cooked.
We like to eat out, so didn't book dinner at the hotel. I would have liked to have tried the evening meal, but not for every evening. I thought the price for just having one meal was too high, perhaps they could lower it if you booked in advance.
We made use of the pool, which was a good size, much larger than usual hotel pools.
I'm sure we will return to the Isle of Wight, and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We booked to stay here during the island music festival and were quite shcoked to find ourselvses receiving 4 star standards in a 2 star hotel and it really made for a fab weekend. The breakfast was out of this world with such an extensive choice. a lot of thought has clearly gone into devising such a menu. The room was spotless, amenities (swimming pool and games rooms) excellent and if the only complaint we have (but it's not in relation to the hoteal at all) is that in some brochures the hotel has used a photo that depicts the swimming pool with a view overlooking the sea. If you booked with this in mind you would be very disappointed to find the view was actually a mural, but for us this didn't actually matter at all as we were there for a music event. And the beach is only a few minutes walk away. But it is a point to consider if views are important to you as the hotel is tucked away behind other hotels and have no views.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2011

Well what can we say than what a fantastic place. We booked the hotel because of the views of the previous guests and every word they say are true. The hotel is very nice clean and presentable and the food is AMAZING, they let you have what ever you wanted on the menu and you could change it round if there was something you didn't want. Our room was a lovely size and had everything we need. We noticed that its only a two star hotel and we couldn't understand why as it definitely deserves a 3 or 4. We noticed quite a lot of hotels around the island and they never looked a patch on what we had. The staff were very accomodating and looked after your every needs and would definitely book the same hotel again. Well worth every penny thank you......Mr and Mrs Gearing

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JoolesAshford_Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We had a very warm and informative welcome to the Wight Montine, which got us installed very soon after our arrival. The staff are very attentive without being over familiar and are very well drilled in their duties. The hotel is close to the beach (about 100 yards or so) and shops are close by too. The hotel boasts an indoor swimming pool, sauna and steam room, with a coin operated jacuzzi.
Loved the food for both breakfast and 5 course dinner, and on this subject, if you find nothing appealing on the dinner menu, the hotel will provide adult portions of the children's menu, and these options are also tasty.
A pianist plays for dinner and evening entertainment is provided in the bar. The bar itself is well stocked, but the chairs tend to be uncomfortable after a couple of hours, but by then it is bedtime for us old fogeys.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Haggismacsporran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed here in 2009 and enjoyed it so much we came back! Places never seem to be as good the second time round but that was certainly not the case here. The staff were extremely welcoming and helpful, a huge plus was having an allocated table for all your meals (no queueing at THIS hotel) the food was incredibly good, very tasty and plenty of it. Since our last visit, the rooms have been updated and look really nice. The pool area was a big hit with the Jacuzzi, Sauna and Steam Room. Regretfully we didn't get a chance to use the Spa...maybe next time!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank elymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews