We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Wight
Nearby Hotels
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Marina Bay Hotel(Sandown)(Great Value!)
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandown Hotel(Sandown)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Caprera Hotel(Sandown)
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$79
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveller rating
435
204
62
32
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
204
62
32
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomswimming poolsnooker roomstar hotelbar managerpool tablegreat facilitiescourse dinnerexcellent value for moneybed and breakfastfantastic hotelwell stocked barfamily roomwaitress serviceevening entertainmenthigh streetpublic areas
Filter
Updating list...
571 - 576 of 764 reviews
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Read the rules carefully. They're posted everywhere, and you may be tested on them. This is English hospitality at its near worst with a mean holiday camp masquerading as a hotel- "probably the best in Sandown" we were told over the 'phone. From the time you arrive in the large car park-"Have you parked behind the lines?-and enter what is surely the back way...? but no!.. leave all hope of 'best' behind. It had a swimming pool, a sauna (pay at reception), a steam room, and it was clean. It also had a splendid snooker table (behind locked doors). I'm sure I could have obtained a key for the appropriate fee, but make no mistake: this is an establishment where the management are in firm control. And if you like fifties decor and polyester, you'll be fine. And the breakfast was as mean and measured as the expression on the waitress's face.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bryansymons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2011

Well, my gast is well and truly flabbered! But for the fact that we do have record of a client of that name (who had a single night Room & Breakfast only reservation on the 9th July) this review would be regarded as false. But the gentleman’s assertations, whilst wildly differing from the huge majority of clients who think the hotel to be really rather good, obviously need a response.

Firstly – we do not have “rules”. If you can find them then please do indeed read them – and then let me know where they are! There is a notice-board in the foyer giving times of meals and details of entertainment. There are the statutory fire notices on bedroom doors. There are several “safety” notices (i.e. no unaccompanied children, no diving, bombing or big inflatable’s in the pool, not to use the Jacuzzi if you have a heart condition) etc.. Then there are several “instruction” notices (i.e. how to use the bedroom safes, steam room and solarium etc.). But those are hardly “rules”.

Secondly, we do not have “lines” in the car park –really rather difficult on gravel! We do however have wooden posts to demark individual parking spaces so that all guests have a space. Possibly the gentleman concerned took umbrage on being asked to move his car if it was taking up two spaces and denying another guest the ability to park. If so then doubtless he would be the first to complain long and hard if it was he that could not find a space!

Thirdly (ignoring the bit about the “back way” which I am at a complete loss to understand – interested clients can visit our website which clearly shows the hotel entrance, foyer etc. – comes “pay at reception” for the sauna. If the gentleman had read the “rules” (to quote his own terminology) he would have seen that use of the sauna is free of charge for 2 hours each day – it is only out of hours “private” use that is payable. The steam-room is meanwhile free of charge throughout the day.

Fourth – yes, we have a really good snooker table and it is indeed in a dedicated room which is kept locked and from which children are barred. If the gentleman could see what happens to the pool table in the games room then he would possibly understand the necessity for same! And yes, this is an establishment where the management is in firm control – firm control of ensuring that the hotel is run to a standard which most of our guests appear to appreciate!

Fifth – Fifties décor and polyester. Again our website carries photos of all public rooms and types of bedrooms. There is not a sign of 50’s décor and, as for polyester, we would love to know quite where it can be found.

Lastly the “mean and measured” breakfast. Our kitchen brigade have a strict but unusual system of portion control – it’s called “give the clients however much they want”!. Our Breakfast Menu not only gives more choice than any other Island hotel but also actually exhorts clients to double up our “Full Monty” to what we term the “Jurassic” – and if you manage to eat that you will not be looking for a restaurant in which to get lunch! And unless the demeanor of the clients was very off- putting then it would be most unusual for them not to be greeted by their waitress with a friendly smile – that (and the correctness of my foregoing remarks) must surely be qualified by the countless positive reviews from satisfied clients.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Not a very attractive hotel, but that's the only negative I can apply. Friendly and helpful staff, quiet, clean and nice pool and other facilities. Rooms not huge, but perfectly adequate. All the other hotels in Sandown looked a bit tired and (dare I say) focussed on the pensioner market!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank home55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2011

Frankly, we tend to agree with “Home55” – whilst the front elevation of the hotel is quite reasonable and the planting of around 150 rose bushes has further improved the grounds, the rear elevation of the hotel is indeed somewhat reminiscent of a 1960’s school building!

Sadly we will therefore never be able to lay any great claim to exterior architectural merit - but thankfully believe that but very few hotel clients ever spend too much of their time gazing at the outside of the hotel in which they are staying! Inside however is definitely a very different story – our public areas are already amongst the most attractive and further improvements are yet again scheduled to take place during the coming winter. The hotel is however open throughout the year and, as it has become popular with both clients on business and those taking winter breaks, such works now need very careful planning to avoid any disturbance to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We used the Montrene as we cycled the old railway route to Newport. This place is ideal for that, plenty of safe car parking and close to the start of the cycle route. Perhaps some would prefer a hotel on the front, but the beach is but a short walk away and here it is quieter.
The High Street is only moments away making it very convenient for shops and restaurants. We stayed on a B&B basis so I can't comment on the evening meals, but breakfast was good, all served to the table fresh and hot, none of the scrabble to a buffet that can happen elsewhere. The only slight downside for me is that breakfast doesn't start till 8.30 which means if you are working, or need an early start you may be disappointed, to be fair, we managed perfectly as we were on holiday but worth bearing in mind.
The room was clean, well presented and comfortable enough, and the booking arrangements were first class.
The next time we are in Sandown, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CotswoldsMidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2011

We are pleased to know that “Cotswolds” enjoyed their stay with us and can assure them that our 5 course Evening Dinners are every bit as good quality as our Breakfasts! One point made is however rather a puzzle – the statement that Breakfast does not start until 8.30am.

As stated on keycards, bedroom browsers and the notice board at the entrance to the Dining Room, Breakfast is served from 8.15am until last orders at 9.45am (Dinner from 6.30pm until last orders at 8.00pm) which, as a holiday (as opposed to business) orientated hotel, is to suit the vast majority of our guests. If however a client is on business, has an early ferry to catch or for some special reason needs their Breakfast a little earlier then it can normally be arranged.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I was quite surprised when we first arrived, sat nav said we had reached our destination, but we couldn't actually see the hotel. This is because it isn't on the road, but has been built at the back of other hotels in the road. The slip road round to the hotel was well maintained, with roses growing along the path, and there was plenty of parking spaces, and gardens near the games room and swimming pool. Not being on the road meant it was very quiet.
Our room was freshly painted, the bed very comfortable, there was plenty of storage space and the hairdryer and tea making facilities were conveniently situated. The bathroom was fine, except for the shower, which had very little pressure, and changed from very hot to cold on occasions.
Breakfast was entirely waitress service, and each part of the breakfast was produced within minutes, and yet was very fresh and well cooked.
We like to eat out, so didn't book dinner at the hotel. I would have liked to have tried the evening meal, but not for every evening. I thought the price for just having one meal was too high, perhaps they could lower it if you booked in advance.
We made use of the pool, which was a good size, much larger than usual hotel pools.
I'm sure we will return to the Isle of Wight, and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Twig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We booked to stay here during the island music festival and were quite shcoked to find ourselvses receiving 4 star standards in a 2 star hotel and it really made for a fab weekend. The breakfast was out of this world with such an extensive choice. a lot of thought has clearly gone into devising such a menu. The room was spotless, amenities (swimming pool and games rooms) excellent and if the only complaint we have (but it's not in relation to the hoteal at all) is that in some brochures the hotel has used a photo that depicts the swimming pool with a view overlooking the sea. If you booked with this in mind you would be very disappointed to find the view was actually a mural, but for us this didn't actually matter at all as we were there for a music event. And the beach is only a few minutes walk away. But it is a point to consider if views are important to you as the hotel is tucked away behind other hotels and have no views.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews