We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and great holiday”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
swindon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel and great holiday”
Reviewed 7 August 2011

The hotel was very clean, tidy and well kept and the staff were all friendly and very helpfull. The food was reaaly good and there was so much of it. The room had plenty of space for the three of us which was good as we were there for two weeks and it was serviced daily. The facilities were very good expecially the pool area there is even a small outside pool/play area for the younger children. Special thanks to Tammy our waitress and Alex the bar manager who helped to make our holiday so enjoyable.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank relaxedSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

724 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    415
    189
    58
    32
    30
See reviews for
264
275
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2011

Friendly staff, good food, clean rooms and great location.
The hotel is only 2* but gives the impression of a higher rating, the only 2 things we could think would be needed to make 3* would be a phone to reception in the rooms and a better shower so nothing major if your thinking of skipping it for a higher * rated hotel.
Close to the beach, only took 5mins when walking with a toddler. Also a shop (co-op) opposite the hotel drive if you need anything.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MrsM2907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Read the rules carefully. They're posted everywhere, and you may be tested on them. This is English hospitality at its near worst with a mean holiday camp masquerading as a hotel- "probably the best in Sandown" we were told over the 'phone. From the time you arrive in the large car park-"Have you parked behind the lines?-and enter what is surely the back way...? but no!.. leave all hope of 'best' behind. It had a swimming pool, a sauna (pay at reception), a steam room, and it was clean. It also had a splendid snooker table (behind locked doors). I'm sure I could have obtained a key for the appropriate fee, but make no mistake: this is an establishment where the management are in firm control. And if you like fifties decor and polyester, you'll be fine. And the breakfast was as mean and measured as the expression on the waitress's face.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bryansymons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this review, 28 July 2011
Well, my gast is well and truly flabbered! But for the fact that we do have record of a client of that name (who had a single night Room & Breakfast only reservation on the 9th July) this review would be regarded as false. But the gentleman’s assertations, whilst wildly differing from the huge majority of clients who think the hotel to be really rather good, obviously need a response.

Firstly – we do not have “rules”. If you can find them then please do indeed read them – and then let me know where they are! There is a notice-board in the foyer giving times of meals and details of entertainment. There are the statutory fire notices on bedroom doors. There are several “safety” notices (i.e. no unaccompanied children, no diving, bombing or big inflatable’s in the pool, not to use the Jacuzzi if you have a heart condition) etc.. Then there are several “instruction” notices (i.e. how to use the bedroom safes, steam room and solarium etc.). But those are hardly “rules”.

Secondly, we do not have “lines” in the car park –really rather difficult on gravel! We do however have wooden posts to demark individual parking spaces so that all guests have a space. Possibly the gentleman concerned took umbrage on being asked to move his car if it was taking up two spaces and denying another guest the ability to park. If so then doubtless he would be the first to complain long and hard if it was he that could not find a space!

Thirdly (ignoring the bit about the “back way” which I am at a complete loss to understand – interested clients can visit our website which clearly shows the hotel entrance, foyer etc. – comes “pay at reception” for the sauna. If the gentleman had read the “rules” (to quote his own terminology) he would have seen that use of the sauna is free of charge for 2 hours each day – it is only out of hours “private” use that is payable. The steam-room is meanwhile free of charge throughout the day.

Fourth – yes, we have a really good snooker table and it is indeed in a dedicated room which is kept locked and from which children are barred. If the gentleman could see what happens to the pool table in the games room then he would possibly understand the necessity for same! And yes, this is an establishment where the management is in firm control – firm control of ensuring that the hotel is run to a standard which most of our guests appear to appreciate!

Fifth – Fifties décor and polyester. Again our website carries photos of all public rooms and types of bedrooms. There is not a sign of 50’s décor and, as for polyester, we would love to know quite where it can be found.

Lastly the “mean and measured” breakfast. Our kitchen brigade have a strict but unusual system of portion control – it’s called “give the clients however much they want”!. Our Breakfast Menu not only gives more choice than any other Island hotel but also actually exhorts clients to double up our “Full Monty” to what we term the “Jurassic” – and if you manage to eat that you will not be looking for a restaurant in which to get lunch! And unless the demeanor of the clients was very off- putting then it would be most unusual for them not to be greeted by their waitress with a friendly smile – that (and the correctness of my foregoing remarks) must surely be qualified by the countless positive reviews from satisfied clients.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Not a very attractive hotel, but that's the only negative I can apply. Friendly and helpful staff, quiet, clean and nice pool and other facilities. Rooms not huge, but perfectly adequate. All the other hotels in Sandown looked a bit tired and (dare I say) focussed on the pensioner market!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank home55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Frankly, we tend to agree with “Home55” – whilst the front elevation of the hotel is quite reasonable and the planting of around 150 rose bushes has further improved the grounds, the rear elevation of the hotel is indeed somewhat reminiscent of a 1960’s school building!

Sadly we will therefore never be able to lay any great claim to exterior architectural merit - but thankfully believe that but very few hotel clients ever spend too much of their time gazing at the outside of the hotel in which they are staying! Inside however is definitely a very different story – our public areas are already amongst the most attractive and further improvements are yet again scheduled to take place during the coming winter. The hotel is however open throughout the year and, as it has become popular with both clients on business and those taking winter breaks, such works now need very careful planning to avoid any disturbance to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level 6 Contributor
338 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2011

We used the Montrene as we cycled the old railway route to Newport. This place is ideal for that, plenty of safe car parking and close to the start of the cycle route. Perhaps some would prefer a hotel on the front, but the beach is but a short walk away and here it is quieter.
The High Street is only moments away making it very convenient for shops and restaurants. We stayed on a B&B basis so I can't comment on the evening meals, but breakfast was good, all served to the table fresh and hot, none of the scrabble to a buffet that can happen elsewhere. The only slight downside for me is that breakfast doesn't start till 8.30 which means if you are working, or need an early start you may be disappointed, to be fair, we managed perfectly as we were on holiday but worth bearing in mind.
The room was clean, well presented and comfortable enough, and the booking arrangements were first class.
The next time we are in Sandown, we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CotswoldsMidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this review, 26 July 2011
We are pleased to know that “Cotswolds” enjoyed their stay with us and can assure them that our 5 course Evening Dinners are every bit as good quality as our Breakfasts! One point made is however rather a puzzle – the statement that Breakfast does not start until 8.30am.

As stated on keycards, bedroom browsers and the notice board at the entrance to the Dining Room, Breakfast is served from 8.15am until last orders at 9.45am (Dinner from 6.30pm until last orders at 8.00pm) which, as a holiday (as opposed to business) orientated hotel, is to suit the vast majority of our guests. If however a client is on business, has an early ferry to catch or for some special reason needs their Breakfast a little earlier then it can normally be arranged.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2011

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. I was quite surprised when we first arrived, sat nav said we had reached our destination, but we couldn't actually see the hotel. This is because it isn't on the road, but has been built at the back of other hotels in the road. The slip road round to the hotel was well maintained, with roses growing along the path, and there was plenty of parking spaces, and gardens near the games room and swimming pool. Not being on the road meant it was very quiet.
Our room was freshly painted, the bed very comfortable, there was plenty of storage space and the hairdryer and tea making facilities were conveniently situated. The bathroom was fine, except for the shower, which had very little pressure, and changed from very hot to cold on occasions.
Breakfast was entirely waitress service, and each part of the breakfast was produced within minutes, and yet was very fresh and well cooked.
We like to eat out, so didn't book dinner at the hotel. I would have liked to have tried the evening meal, but not for every evening. I thought the price for just having one meal was too high, perhaps they could lower it if you booked in advance.
We made use of the pool, which was a good size, much larger than usual hotel pools.
I'm sure we will return to the Isle of Wight, and will definately stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2011

We booked to stay here during the island music festival and were quite shcoked to find ourselvses receiving 4 star standards in a 2 star hotel and it really made for a fab weekend. The breakfast was out of this world with such an extensive choice. a lot of thought has clearly gone into devising such a menu. The room was spotless, amenities (swimming pool and games rooms) excellent and if the only complaint we have (but it's not in relation to the hoteal at all) is that in some brochures the hotel has used a photo that depicts the swimming pool with a view overlooking the sea. If you booked with this in mind you would be very disappointed to find the view was actually a mural, but for us this didn't actually matter at all as we were there for a music event. And the beach is only a few minutes walk away. But it is a point to consider if views are important to you as the hotel is tucked away behind other hotels and have no views.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
849 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
420 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,244 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Property: The Wight
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing