We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value for Money - it was more than 'AwlWight'!”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A smart well run hotel, with friendly and helpful staff, that gives GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY..

The restaurant, bar, entertainment and communal areas have all been recently decorated/upgraded (very smart) and the bedrooms, although ours was not overlarge, were, comfortable, well equiped and more than adequate.

The food was varied, plentiful, well cooked and presented and the evening entertainment, although we went 'out of season', was an unexpected treat which catered for all age groups.

The swimming pool, snooker table etc. were most welcome additions and the free carparking a boon. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any of our friends.

If we return to the Isle of Wight in the future then the WIGHT MONTRENE will be where we'll stay.

Graham & Debbie D.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
There are newer reviews for The Wight
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 19 October 2012

Several months ago my boyfriend and 4 others from his company stayed at the Wight Montrene for close on 3 weeks. He said that it was really good - and finally got round to taking me last weekend!



We stayed for 3 nights, Thursday to Sunday and though the weather was far from good we had a great time. Our bedroom, which was very clean, warm and comfortable, had a modern TV with a slot for our DVD’s and even had a safe. The staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble and they were always quick with a smile. In particular Tammie, our waitress, was an absolute treasure – and how she managed to keep a straight face when one rather large lady demanded that the kitchen cook her just peas (the vegetables that night were broccoli plus a mix of peas and sweet corn) I just do not know as I had a severe fit of the giggles which threatened to turn into out-right laughter (which from her attitude on this and other occasions) I don’t think would have gone down very well!) On the subject of food – good to excellent – breakfast was superb and how they manage to provide the dinners that they do for £14.00 I just cannot fathom – similar meals would be at least £30.00 in any restaurant – Saturday’s lamb shank alone would cost more than the £14.00 but then there’s the other 4 courses plus coffee! . .



To my surprise the entertainment was really quite good – after all it’s a small hotel on the Isle of Wight so you can;t expect London’s West End. Thursday night was Jazz Night and at one point there were 6 people playing – and the hotel even put free hot sausage rolls on the bar late in the evening. The next 2 nights there was a a good pianist during dinner (he seemed to be able to play anything that you asked for). Friday was clever – a guy asked you for your favourite records, singers, comedians, TV shows etc. then with a computer system turned the whole thing into a program with whatever was chosen being shown on a big screen – a great way to spend an evening and at times very funny. The last night was a singer who played guitar and used backing tapes – as good as you are likely to find almost anywhere



The pool complex was really good and the weather did not matter as the pool was very warm. The jacuzzi was nice to sit in (there was no real need to use the slot meter to make it go fast as it was always gently turning and at a nice temperature) and we loved the steam room for which no charge was made and which could be used all day. We had a private sauna one morning (£3.00 for 2 hours) and also used it one late afternoon during a free session (it’s free for 2 hours every afternoon).



All in all a really good place to be and we are going again the first weekend in November as we heard that a local nightclub is closing for redevelopment and is having a “last night” party on the 3rd. Rang the hotel to book a room and they even offered to go and buy us the tickets so that we definitely get in. Now that’s what I call helpful!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Our third stay - gluttons for punisment? No - very satisfied!

I think I'm hard to please but the Wight Montrene gives me no cause for complaint on any level. A warm welcome from the staff and very accomodating for groups, comfortable clean rooms, food plentiful and excellent quality, nothing too much trouble for our waitress, "entertainment" was entertaining especially "Nostalgia" which I could watch night after night, pool good, snooker room a mite small at the ends of the table but OK, and the room servicing left nothing to be desired.

Do you get value for money? I've had to pay much more for a lot less but I've never got as much for the same money anywhere else. Yes, it's good value!

We were part of a group on a weekend break and you have to join in to get the most out of such a holiday. That's easy to do at the Wight Montrene.

We'll be back again at Christmas.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1960Goldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

stayed at the montrene for the weekend with many friends had a brilliant time the hotel was spotless the food was good and there was plenty of it and a good choise the staff i found very friendly so i would definatly go back again

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RobertandBrenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of October for four nights. We arrived late and were met with a friendly welcome. After being shown to our room we managed a quick drink at the bar before bedtime. Swam every morning in the pool which was a very good facility. Breakfasts were very good with a good selection. Bedrooms were very clean and had everything you need however a little dated and bed wasn't very comfortable at all. Staff were very friendly and accommodating, especially with regard to our bikes which we were able to store in the workshop during our visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Spotlessly clean but we were very disappointed in our stay here. Went with as group of people for a weekend break. The first room we were given was like a box room and the beds were hard as a board. Small uncomfortable chairs so no-where to relax in private really. The second room was larger but still very uncomfortable. Public areas were quite nice and the breakfast was very good. The 5 course evening meal was good in parts but, clearly packet soup to start with, followed by egg mayonnaise, main pud, cheese and bisc and coffee. It was too much and quite mediocre quality. Some staff were very accomodating and some very outstandingly rude. We made a simple request to the waitress who was very cutting and then banged our food on the table and unresponsive to our thanks.

This hotel really is suitable for coach parties I think, all entertainment was focussed on 50's - 70's, some was good some was awful!! They charge for most of the Leisure facilities, sauna, jacuzzi etc only the pool was included in hotel stay, gave up in the end.

Room Tip: Avoid all of them or take a mattress topper to protect your back!!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debby1606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

I refer to Debbie1606. When you have put your heart and soul into your business, plowed every penny back into it year after year in order to carry out improvements, work with an excellent team of staff who strive to give excellent serviced, know that you succeed in pleasing 99% of your customers, even then it is still hard to accept that occasionally you will get a client who seems determined to be di8fferent and be as problematic as possible.

Whilst the hotel does not take coach tours it does have a thriving trade in affinity groups – bowls, whist, ramblers, gardening. geological, archeological clubs and societies etc. and on this past weekend a classic car club who were on their second visit to the hotel. Debbie 1606 and her husband/partner belonged to that club but yet did not seem to be part of the group. Four immediate points:
1. The organizer of the weekend had emailed her members suggesting that it would be nice if they dined as a group and met at 7pm in the bar. We were asked to remind members about this when they checked in on arrival. The response from Debbie 1606 was “She’ll be lucky”.
2. The club sat as a group in the dining room. This couple decided to sit apart from their fellow members.
3. When they were shown to their standard Double room (definitely not a “box” room, pictures and specifications appear on our website) the gentleman said that he suffered from claustrophobia. They were immediately moved to a larger Treble room – no argument, no fuss, no additional charge made. Good manners would call for at least slight gratitude but none was forthcoming Incidentally the “small and uncomfortable” bedroom chairs are standard in all ,of our bedrooms, are shown in website photos and, as this is the first complaint about them in 7 years, I think it could safely be said that they are large enough to suit the average sized client.
4. The firmness/softness of beds is very much a personal choice. Our beds, none more than 3 years old, are midway in that range and, whilst therefore not ideal for every client, have been acceptable to most and have met with but very little criticism.

We pride ourselves on good and abundant food. Our clients, with but few exceptions, seem to think that it is rather better than merely good. But having looked at the restaurants that Debbie 1605 has reviewed we cannot compete when our 5 course Evening Dinner (plus tea/coffee) at £14.00 costs less than those restaurants charge for a main course, possibly even then plus having to pay extra for vegetable and potatoes. Apart from saying that our soups are definitely not “packet” (Debbie 1606 may make her soups from a packet but we do not) there is nothing more to say on the subject but anyone interested can view our menus on the website.

Our staff are noted for their friendly and efficient service but the relationship between staff and client does in part depend on a two-way flow. If a client’s attitude is seen as stand-offish, better than you or downright “you’re the servant, I’m the customer, I’m paying for this so I have a right to be difficult” then the friendly smile on the staff member’s face will tend to first slip, then look a little strained and finally become a grimace. The “simple request” incident has been investigated. To go with one of Saturday night’s “mains” (lamb shank in red wine) were mixed sweetcorn and peas plus broccoli. But Debbie 1606 demanded just peas and when her waitress said that she would check with the chefs the attitude was one of a snapped “of course the kitchen has got frozen peas and they only take 30 seconds in a microwave”. As said, it is all down to attitude and a polite request and a smile usually wins the day, but even with neither Madam did get her peas as soon as they could be properly cooked.

We all complain about TV but, let’s face it, nightly we watch the best of music and entertainment from all over the world and so become very blasé. So how can any seaside hotel match that? We do the best we can with local musicians and, apart from a pianist most nights during Dinner, provide as wide range as possible from a Jazz evening through keyboard/guitar, vocalists etc. etc. And whilst I cannot agree with “50’s to 70’s” the repertoire is indeed from the 60’s to the more tuneful numbers of the present day. There is just one rule – musicians tend to play either what is requested or what gets a reaction from their audience. As quality-wise our musicians are better than average I can only presume that Debbie 1606’s taste must be rather more “cutting edge” than that of her average age group. In respect of other leisure facilities our steam room is free all day, the sauna is free afternoons 4.30 to 6.30pm and most people use the Jacuzzi without the strong massage effects which does indeed need £1.00 in the meter.

One final point. Apart from the hotel being “uncomfortable” Debbie 1606 also states that we give poor value. Being charitable may I suggest that it is probable that she has forgotten that a fifth of what she paid was for the ferry to get to and from the Island! Her last “throw-away” comment is “Gave up in the end”. Whilst I always believe in complete politeness to our clients, on behalf of both myself and my staff I would thank her for that as I take it to mean that she will not be returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

Easy to find, 5 mins from seafront and town centre. Good Parking, many rooms on ground floor for our older guests. Food was very good, plenty of choice. in fact we ate too much!! A couple of our party have been on coach holiday and said hotel was better than any they had stayed in. Would definately use the hotel again. Only downside is that the showers in the bathrooms are mixer taps rather than electric showers. Pool was good for an early morning swim.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyndsey g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
874 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £66 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing