We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We have just returned from a superb three-night break at the Wight Montrene Hotel. The hotel arranged all the ferry crossings for us, which we were glad of, and everything went smoothly. It is a nice friendly, family hotel, the staff could not do enough for you and made us feel very welcome. Our family group included four teenagers who spent a lot of their time in the warm swimming pool , playing snooker or table tennis and thought this was fantastic. The rooms were warm, spotlessly clean, large and comfortable and the food was excellent with lots of variety and nicely cooked. The helpings were very generous and you could have double of everything at breakfast if you so wished. We had two brilliant waiters/waitresses and a barman (great on the mouth organ) who were friendly, hard-working and very efficient. A gentleman played the piano during the evening meal which was a nice touch. The ladies in our group treated ourselves to some spa treatment which, again, was lovely. We were sad to go home but will definitely come again. A lovely hotel and in a good location to the beach and shops. Well done Wight Montrene!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Derek H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
There are newer reviews for The Wight
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

425 - 431 of 733 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2012

I stay on a regular basis, I am never disapointed The food is excellent especially the breakfast ! The hotel is spotless & the staff very welcoming.Highly reccomended. The hotel is ideally siuated near the shops & beach with good parking

Room Tip: Rooms are all good watch the water it's hot
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peter h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2012

We chose this hotel for our 30 years wedding anniversary trip, Every thing was first class, the cleanliness of the rooms and the whole hotel was superb. The meals were very nice and presented well by hard working waiting staff. A ideal centre to explore the whole island with great travel links. would recomend to friends and family in the future, Thanks again to all, Mr & Mrs G. Palmer

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank geoffamapolas p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Just returned from another brilliant break at the Wight Montrene. In a great position with a wonderful ambience and fantastic food. We were a party of 6 and cannot speak highly enough of the food the cleanliness and the helpful staff. Our booking made direct with the hotel including ferry travel was dealt with efficiently and nothing was too much trouble (one of our party needed extra equipment).
Chris our waiter deserved a medal for putting up with us, He was always smiling, efficient and helpful. He joined in with our banter completing our mealtime experience. The family fun atmosphere carries on in the evening with Alex at the bar and evening entertainment suitable for all.
As if this wasn't enough add the snooker room the swimming pool etc and you have the best place to stay on the island. We are already sorting our return date for 2013.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank j m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2012

Nearly booked a different hotel with inclusive ferry package before checking trip advisor ratings and switching to this one. Hides behind other properties so no showy frontage but actually much smarter than many others in resort and conveniently placed for access to beach and town. As others have reported it is well presented, everything functions properly and the food is plentiful, and of good quality without being too fancy. Dining room service staff were friendly, helpful and efficient (Chris in particular).

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

A smart well run hotel, with friendly and helpful staff, that gives GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY..

The restaurant, bar, entertainment and communal areas have all been recently decorated/upgraded (very smart) and the bedrooms, although ours was not overlarge, were, comfortable, well equiped and more than adequate.

The food was varied, plentiful, well cooked and presented and the evening entertainment, although we went 'out of season', was an unexpected treat which catered for all age groups.

The swimming pool, snooker table etc. were most welcome additions and the free carparking a boon. I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to any of our friends.

If we return to the Isle of Wight in the future then the WIGHT MONTRENE will be where we'll stay.

Graham & Debbie D.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Several months ago my boyfriend and 4 others from his company stayed at the Wight Montrene for close on 3 weeks. He said that it was really good - and finally got round to taking me last weekend!



We stayed for 3 nights, Thursday to Sunday and though the weather was far from good we had a great time. Our bedroom, which was very clean, warm and comfortable, had a modern TV with a slot for our DVD’s and even had a safe. The staff were excellent - nothing was too much trouble and they were always quick with a smile. In particular Tammie, our waitress, was an absolute treasure – and how she managed to keep a straight face when one rather large lady demanded that the kitchen cook her just peas (the vegetables that night were broccoli plus a mix of peas and sweet corn) I just do not know as I had a severe fit of the giggles which threatened to turn into out-right laughter (which from her attitude on this and other occasions) I don’t think would have gone down very well!) On the subject of food – good to excellent – breakfast was superb and how they manage to provide the dinners that they do for £14.00 I just cannot fathom – similar meals would be at least £30.00 in any restaurant – Saturday’s lamb shank alone would cost more than the £14.00 but then there’s the other 4 courses plus coffee! . .



To my surprise the entertainment was really quite good – after all it’s a small hotel on the Isle of Wight so you can;t expect London’s West End. Thursday night was Jazz Night and at one point there were 6 people playing – and the hotel even put free hot sausage rolls on the bar late in the evening. The next 2 nights there was a a good pianist during dinner (he seemed to be able to play anything that you asked for). Friday was clever – a guy asked you for your favourite records, singers, comedians, TV shows etc. then with a computer system turned the whole thing into a program with whatever was chosen being shown on a big screen – a great way to spend an evening and at times very funny. The last night was a singer who played guitar and used backing tapes – as good as you are likely to find almost anywhere



The pool complex was really good and the weather did not matter as the pool was very warm. The jacuzzi was nice to sit in (there was no real need to use the slot meter to make it go fast as it was always gently turning and at a nice temperature) and we loved the steam room for which no charge was made and which could be used all day. We had a private sauna one morning (£3.00 for 2 hours) and also used it one late afternoon during a free session (it’s free for 2 hours every afternoon).



All in all a really good place to be and we are going again the first weekend in November as we heard that a local nightclub is closing for redevelopment and is having a “last night” party on the 3rd. Rang the hotel to book a room and they even offered to go and buy us the tickets so that we definitely get in. Now that’s what I call helpful!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
872 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
432 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,254 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
32 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £65 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing