We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice visit”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 26 November 2012

We went to a formal dinner at the hotel and made a long week-end of it as did others from the 'main-land'. The whole thing was well organised and run by the hotel and we had a very good time. The rooms were very clean and comfortable, the staff were very helpful. The dinner went very well and entertainment was good. The position of the hotel is good, being near the sea front and we managed a walk up to Culver Cliff on the Saturday afternoon. We didn't use the swimming pool, but we will be better prepared next time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

435 - 441 of 750 reviews

Reviewed 23 November 2012

I was a guest at an ASA dinner and entertainement evening hosted by the hotel, they did a jolly good job! Very clean, very welcoming, very attentive professional and friendly staff from the restaurant to the bar area. The food was very good, well presented, I missed of nothing! I really appreciated the live entertainment too. I did not stay over night, but I`ll certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Severine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2012

Four of us on contract on the Island for just over two weeks. Said it before but will say it again - rooms, staff, food and facilities are unbeatable at anywhere remotely like the price. Last visit was in the busy seaspn and we did wonder what it would be like Oct/Nov - but you need have no worry - it's still just as good.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Having recently attended a dinner/dance at this hotel, most of who stayed overnight, I can only praise the hotel. The food both at the dinner dance, and the breakfasts and evening meal provided on our first night was excellent. Although only a 2 star hotel, the facilities, and hotel room were excellent. The staff were friendly with nothing too much trouble. Together with its central location, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, and in fact will be booking a summer trip, with the grandchildren.

Room Tip: There is no lift and the stairs are a little steep, and if limited mobility would ask for a ground f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janet s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We stayed as part of a group ( Classic & Vintage Car Club) , in September. This was our 1st visit to the Hotel, ( their second) ,and we were very pleased! Excellent value for money , rooms good , and the food.... well! Fabulous breakfast , and the evening meal was really good ,tasty and very quickly served by the lovely accomodating staff. We were all sat together (which was very good of the staff,as we were quite a big crowd!).We thought we really had nothing to moan about!
We forgot our cossies,so unfortunately didn't go in the pool,but that looked nice.
There are no sea views,but,not a problem, it is a "stone's throw" from the beach.
My only moan (if I dare say this) was the pianist-not my cup of tea,but of course,that is definitely personal taste!
We would certainly go back again,as we found the staff very nice....as was most things!
Well done to them all :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggielavell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

We have stayed at this hotel on several occasions and so can give a genuine review of the place as our experience has been the same whenever we have been guests. The hotel is a 2 star hotel but we believe you get lots of extras that make your stay extra special. We have three children aged from 1-10 and they love the hotel too. The food is excellent, the pool and additional facilities brilliant and the staff are the best feature. The staff always seem to want to give their best effort to make your stay comfortable - I am amazed by the previous negative review as I cannot imagine any staff member from this hotel being rude unless they were treated with disrespect. The entertainment was varied - really enjoyed the jazz night and there was a great atmosphere. We really will be booking another trip to the Wight Montrene as soon as we can.

Room Tip: If like us you have kids, the family rooms are brilliant - loads of space and two tvs so you get som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yummymummy099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We booked into this hotel for one night having read the very good reviews on Tripadvisor. We were initially somewhat disappointed. The hotel was a little difficult to find and does not have any views from the bedrooms. There seemed to be a degree of regimentation - instructions were to park between the white posts with two feet of the car in front of the posts. then, having booked in, the first thing we were shown was where we had to sit for breakfast in the dining room. The public areas of the hotel were clean and well-decorated. Our bedroom was also clean but we were conscious that sound insulation was not particularly good betwenn neighbouring rooms. We had elected to have a room with a four-poster bed and were a little surprised to find it was a family room with an additional two single beds in a separate room. The decor of the room included dark, bold patterning of the duvets. There were two comfortable leather swivelling armchairs. Two vases containing rather dusty artificial flowers were in a boarded-over fireplace. Along one side of the room there was a work-surface made of flowery formica which looked incongruous. There was only one bedside light and a wall-mounted radio which did not appear to work. A sign in the bathroom warned of very hot water but this was an exageration - it took a long time for any hot water to reach the bathroom and, even having the shower controls turned to their hotest, it was not warm enough for my wife's liking.
Having been rather critical thus far, it would be good to emphasise some good points. There staff were very friendly and helpful. Ferry charges were included in the hotel charges. The bar had a good atmosphere later in the evening when live jazz was on offer. The regimentation at breakfast worked well. Our food was personally served to our table. There was a very adequate menu and large portions if required. The hotel itself is very central within a short walk of the seafront and town centre. We did not have dinner at the hotel nor did we use the swimming pool and jacuzzi which are in a separate building within the grounds.

Room Tip: The four-poster room was more spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poppadoc5748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,278 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £59 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing