We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would definitely return”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Would definitely return”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one week with husband, 11 year old and a 4 year old loved the fact we had a family suite so we got some privacy too! Hotel great perfect location and very friendly staff nothing was too much trouble. Menu was excellent for adults And children and even if you fancied something else the chef was very accommodating would definitely go back but would like to see a but more entertainment in the evenings for the kids.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    182
    57
    32
    30
See reviews for
257
271
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Potters Bar, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Spent a week here with our five and three year old. Lovely family suite with a tv in each room, very comfy beds. Great food, amazingly speedy to the table but still of an exceptionally high standard. Super service too and this goes for all the staff in the hotel, not just in the restaurant....couldn't do enough for you. Lovely heated pool, less than five walk to the lovely sandy beach. V. minor quibbles were that the children's portions were overgenerous and would be better if they served from 6. No phones in rooms so would recommend some way of contacting reception, just in case. Would we return? Definitely.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a short holiday with family and loved every moment if it. This hotel is a bargain with feat location, generous breakfast and friendly staff.

Downsides were old and deteriorating room (no. 423), no fridge or minibar and very uncomfortable beds with mattresses that need replacing. We noted that the cleaners hadnt't vacuumed properly as there was some sand left on the floor from the previous night.

We hardly spent any time at the hotel and the location was the main feature for us - few minutes walk to the beach yet off the main road so quiet.

Overall this hotel was good value for money with many facilities hot normally associated with a 2 star.

I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheAuditor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2013

A wonderful trip for the family, in the perfect location just down the road from the beach and off the road to avoid noise. Cleaned daily, wonderfully decorated and excellent food! The kids will love the games room and the heated pool, also a brilliant location with plenty to do around the island for children and teens of all ages; We chose to stay on the "Bed & Breakfast" basis and the food was delicious. All the staff were very friendly and happy to help in any way they could. Would definitely recommend it to anyone thinking of booking a holiday in The Isle Of Wight.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracysHoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed at the Wight Montrene for a week and all I can say it was not long enough! Super breakfasts (huge choice of best quality food served by happy staff) and 5 course dinners in the evening - again first class food and more than anyone could eat (I know - I tried!). Lovely warm swimming pool with a sauna, a steam room and a jacuzizi. They even have a full size snooker table with an understandable adults only rule. A pianist plays most evenings during dinner and on Thursdays they have a superb jazz night.
Book this hotel with confidence - you will not regret it. As Will C said it is not a 5 star hotel - if it was a 5 star hotel it would cost 4 or 5 times as much and neither he nor I could afford it - but it must be about the best 2 star hotel in the UK. How anyone can give it less than the full 5 marks I just cannot understand - unless they mistakenly think that they are giving it a star rating. All I can say is that I normally get put in 3 star hotels when I travel for my company but the Wight Montrene is far better than most of even that higher grade.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubamike80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

Just returned from a great stay in this hotel. First things first.....this is a two star hotel so don't expect five stars and then you won't be disappointed. The bedroom was adequate. Nothing to rave or complain about, although the stairs up to it were a bit of a trial with a heavy suitcase. And that's really an end of the "cons" . The "pros" are the location, the breakfast, the staff , the facilities and the entertainment. You are a short walk away from the High Street, the beach and several sea front eating establishments and when i say short I mean 5 minutes. You are about a 15 minute walk to the Pier in one direction and the Zoo in the other. You can even have a long stroll into Shanklin along the seafront if the mood takes you.. couple of miles probably.. The beaches locally are excellent too. Lots of sand and not lots of people. The Breakfast is perfect.. have as little or as much as you want basically. Their "Full Monty" is a typical Full English and the "Jurassic" is pretty much two "Full Montys" ... I wish I'd tried one but the Monty was enough. We didn't eat in the evenings at the hotel but it seemed busy every night which I took as a good sign. The staff were perfect in every way, thats all that needs saying really. The facilities on site included a swimming pool, a jacuzzi, sauna , a mini gym, snooker table, table tennis and a nice seating area for families. The entertainment in the bar was most enjoyable most nights featuring a pianist or organ player. But on other nights there were disco and keyboard nights and Thursday was a jazz/blues night featuring the pianists plus some other friends, bass, drum, sax and vocals. Really quite excellent .

Room Tip: Our room (B2) was on the first floor at the back and reached by a tight little staircase which was j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

This hotel is worth more than its 2 star rating!!! The staff are all so friendly and helpful, our waitress was lovely, Hayley (our receptionist on arrival) was more than helpful and Mike from the bar was lovely and a real life "Mr Benn"!!!!
The hotel was spotless & well presented. The pool & steam room were ideal as they don't close during the day. The food was out of this world (good luck if you can eat all courses at dinner!) and the location was perfect..... The beach, Sandown centre & Sandown Pier a few minutes walk away! The beach is sandy and
plenty of sunbeds to hire.
We will definitely return to this
hotel, it's worth every penny!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dollydallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,237 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Property: The Wight
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing