We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best!”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Tiny room, ridiculously small shower and toilet, paper thin walls, terrible inedible food, no entertainment, (September), gym not working, restaurant staff clearly didn't want to be there.
On a positive note the treacle sponge was fantastic.
My advice, find somewhere else in Sandown as there is no shortage of hotels

Room Tip: Choose a first floor room as you can here every movement upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

What can one say when faced with such condemnation except that whatever would suit (let alone please) Gary M is highly unlikely to be found in even the best of 3 Star Hotels let alone with our AA 2 Star Rating (albeit with the very high Merit Mark of 78%). But for the fact that his name and town were sufficient to positively identify him his viewpoints are so alien to those of the majority of reviewers that we would otherwise be quite sure that he had never entered the hotel.
But he was definitely here for 2 nights, Tuesday 10th until Thursday 12th September.
We currently have 397 reviews. Only 20 out of that number have ever given us such a low mark as 2 and only a further 24 have marked us even as low as 3 out of 5 – and some of those 2 or lower marking were by people who have quite definitely never stayed at the hotel.
Whilst unwilling to go into detail on all of his comments the following are the facts:
1. Room & Ensuite – he either chose (or possibly it was all that was still available when he booked only a week in advance) one of our range of Smaller Doubles. Either way they are £10.00 per night cheaper than Standard rooms and the point that they were smaller and that the ensuites were “small but functional” was made absolutely clear at the time of booking. The rooms concerned still however fly through the AA Annual Inspection.
2. Terrible, inedible food and staff – I have nothing to say – the praise which is heaped upon us in respect of both food and friendly, efficient staff in the many reviews speak for themselves.
3. No entertainment – Wrong. We have entertainment from 8.30 until 11.30pm on 4 nights per week – Monday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday. In addition on 6 nights per week (all except Thursdays) we have a pianist who plays during Dinner from 6.15 until 8.30pm. Hardly “No entertainment” and with most clients being on relatively short stays putting on any more would be pointless as not many want to sit in the Bar every night of their stay.
In closing I would agree with Gary M that there is indeed no shortage of hotels in Sandown. Thankfully it is obvious that if he ever returns to the town it will thankfully not be to the Wight Montrene – but whichever he chooses he will find that he has a problem because, quite simply, we are either the best or very close to being so!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

351 - 357 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2013

This hotel is first class. Clean, pleasant staff and the pool and pool facilities are a excellent. We stayed B&B and found the breakfast and the service first class. If I have a criticism it is a very small one and people may thing silly, but we used the bar on one occasion to listen to three excellent keyboard players but had to leave early because the seats are so uncomfortable. Very hard. And I am very well upholstered on my rear. We thank the staff of the Montrene for making our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sohud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was our fourth mini break at this hotel, and it justs get that little bit better with every visit,
Staff are always attentive friendly and willing to help in any way at all.
Food in the restaurant is excellent and plentiful, with some very good choices,
Breakfast will last you round to Dinner if you go for the Full Monty.Bar prices are reasonable, with evening intertainment most nights
There is a very large car park with room for everyone, the town of Sandown is just five minutes away, and Sandown boasts a sandy beach with a lovely promenade, to walk off those extra pounds one may have aquired

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Goldenboy291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2013

Booked for 3 nights with the hotel arranging the ferry across from Southampton included at a far lesser cost than we could have got from the ferry company for our two cars. The motto of the hotel is "Big enough to have the amenities and stature of a proper hotel - but small enough to care". Says it all really which is why after the first night we asked to extend from the booked 3 nights to 8 and finish our holiday period at this hotel rather than going on to another town. Great standard of service from really friendly, attentive staff, comfortable rooms and really good food both at breakfast and dinner(we booked just bed & breakfast but once we saw the dinner menu upgraded to include dinners. Good pool, steam room etc. and the hotel has a small Spa for all kinds of treatments. Best was that the kids really enjoyed themselves, so much so that they did not want to go home - did ask the hotel if we could leave them behind until next year but unfortunately the answer was No!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pete P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one week with husband, 11 year old and a 4 year old loved the fact we had a family suite so we got some privacy too! Hotel great perfect location and very friendly staff nothing was too much trouble. Menu was excellent for adults And children and even if you fancied something else the chef was very accommodating would definitely go back but would like to see a but more entertainment in the evenings for the kids.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Spent a week here with our five and three year old. Lovely family suite with a tv in each room, very comfy beds. Great food, amazingly speedy to the table but still of an exceptionally high standard. Super service too and this goes for all the staff in the hotel, not just in the restaurant....couldn't do enough for you. Lovely heated pool, less than five walk to the lovely sandy beach. V. minor quibbles were that the children's portions were overgenerous and would be better if they served from 6. No phones in rooms so would recommend some way of contacting reception, just in case. Would we return? Definitely.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adapen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a short holiday with family and loved every moment if it. This hotel is a bargain with feat location, generous breakfast and friendly staff.

Downsides were old and deteriorating room (no. 423), no fridge or minibar and very uncomfortable beds with mattresses that need replacing. We noted that the cleaners hadnt't vacuumed properly as there was some sand left on the floor from the previous night.

We hardly spent any time at the hotel and the location was the main feature for us - few minutes walk to the beach yet off the main road so quiet.

Overall this hotel was good value for money with many facilities hot normally associated with a 2 star.

I would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheAuditor99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
461 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#21 of 29 in Sandown
6 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
953 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sandown
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £61 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing