We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a little hidden gem”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Went to visit family on the Isle of Wight. Needed a hotel and got a good deal including the ferry across from Southampton. Were given clear but quite complex directions to the hotel. Probably this was because it is a "hidden gem" as only the entrance sign can be seen from the road. Hotel could not be faulted.

Staff - friendly and very helpful.

Room - on the ground floor with easy access to the car park. Good big bathroom.
Particularly noted - full size kettle and hairdrier, tv with DVD facility.

Entertainment - good indoor pool, games room, nice lounge and bar area with entertainment
during the summer months - even loaned us 2 DVDs (Sandown very quiet
on late autumn evenings). Also offered piano music to compliment our
dinner - by a accomplished pianist who clearly knew his audience.

Food - excellent - 5 course dinners - much more than we could eat.
breakfast was also good, and very varied, you were offered the chance of
double portions of a favourite breakfast item.

Hotel were appointed and decorated throughout it gave an appearance of a "looked after" property.

Room Tip: Just tell the staff your needs/wants when you book and you wont by disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eileen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

We have stayed here a couple of time in October and always enjoy a short break at the start of winter ! The hotel is in a good location and has plenty of free on-site parking which is always difficult on the Isle of Wight. We always book a bed, breakfast and evening meal deal including the ferry and feel that this represents great value. A great choice of food (especially breakfast!). Free WIFI throughout hotel is useful. The indoor pool is pleasant and was not busy in October. Some nights there is some evening musical entertainment which is nice to sit and listen to whilst having a drink in the bar. Some would say parts of the hotel are dated but please remember you are not paying 5* prices - what you are getting is a nice clean hotel, good food and friendly service as well as excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

As Wedding Planners, my husband an I take our holidays after the main wedding season has finished, and we always take the opportunity of previewing any hotels we stay in, with regard to adding them to our list of reccommended wedding venues,...

The Wight Montrene gave us all we were looking for in a hotel!... and it is perfectly situated, just 2 minutes walk from the beach, with no parking problems!

Downstairs is rather grand, .. and upstairs is nice, quiet, comfortable, warm and functional, with everything absolutely spotless!!! ..Housekeeping are brilliant!

The swimming pool and jacuzi is lovely, and we managed to have it to ourselves each time,... followed by a couple of games of pool.

The dining room is large, and immaculately laid out.
The colour scheme is very smart & relaxing, and.there was just so much food that we didn't manage to finish the courses on any single day!

Our waiting staff did us proud, and it was nice having the pianist, situated in the plush bar area, playing background music at dinner times.... don't often get that.
I would readily recommend this area for a reception!

I was able to catch up on my emails, as there is internet almost everywhere.

All the staff are really lovely & made us feel very welcome.... Nothing was too much trouble...even our car ferry was organised by them!

...But for me personally, the icing on the cake was finding a rare Hammond in the dance area!... being a church organist, I was literally in heaven!!! :)

We will definitely return in the warmer weather, so as to see the Island attractions which were out of season.... Can't wait!!! :)

Room Tip: A tip for a good room ... is to book one at the Wight Montrene!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolAnn27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Stayed with my kids last night and have to say was surprised at the welcome and efficiency of everyone there. We arrived and were shown to our rooms which were clean and set up for 3!

Breakfast was delicious and served to us in good time.

We were very close to the beach for fossil hunting and also dinosaur island which was perfect. A lot of b&b 's look quite run down in the area but if you are going to Sandown - stay here!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank Shibani B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We booked the Wight Montrene after reading the reviews on TripAdvisor. We needed a room for the night as we were attending a party on the island. We were not disappointed! I can't understand why this place is only a 2*, it should be at least a 3 or even a 4. The receptionists were all so friendly, even showing us to our rooms, showing us where breakfast was and where the pool was. We needed to change our ferry crossing back, and this was done very quickly with no hassle at all.
The rooms were a decent size and our bathroom was perfect, with plenty of hot water. (The only small complaint I have is the room was slightly too warm, but we just opened the window)
The pool was a decent size and clean and well looked after. The jacuzzi was so warm and relaxing!
The breakfast was delicious with plenty of options and was all very well cooked, and the waiter very pleasant.
The cleanliness of this whole place was excellent. The room was spotless and all public areas spick and span. (I even looked for dust, and rubbed my finger on the top of bookcases and light switches... Yes, I really am a saddo! And I found not even a speck of dust!)
The location was perfect as you could walk into town and there was a small shop opposite for the essentials. It was also nice and quiet.

We will definitely be back here, and are already recommending it to friends and family! Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

Just back after a four night break with my parents. The hotel was spotlessly clean, all the staff very friendly and helpful. The rooms are basic and the en-suite bathroom in our rooms was small but had everything we needed. Lovely big car park. Lovely indoor swimming pool. The only drawback was the food - there was loads of it! Five course dinners which were all well cooked- excellent meals and delicious puddings! Breakfast was only four courses! Waitresses all polite and helpful. Plenty of choices on the menu. This hotel is rated as a 2 star but should be re-evaluated as I have stayed in much worse 3 and 4 stars. Look forward to returning again soon.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor and did experience some noise overhead with people walking around.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suey58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

My husband and I have just enjoyed a fabulous week at the Wight Montrene. Our room was basic but spotless and had everything we needed and as there is only a ground floor and first floor at least we did not have lots of stairs to climb. The large car park meant we never had a problem parking back to the hotel. The staff we absolutely great - reception staff were very welcoming and helpful with any queries, the bar staff always helpful and attentive and our two waitresses could not have been better. Both breakfast and dinner was more than plentiful, beautifully cooked, varied and well presented (the diets have to start now!!). Many of our fellow guests seemed to have been bed and breakfast which is a shame that they missed out on the six course dinner menu (look at the website if you don't believe me!) All in all we will be happy to return as the hotel is in an ideal location both for the seafront and town centre as well as touring the island. Very big thanks to all the staff whose smiling faces and helpful polite professionalism made our stay perfect.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank colin076
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
915 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,275 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £65 - £97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing