We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than a 2 Star”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“More than a 2 Star”
Reviewed 19 January 2014 via mobile

Excellent value for money, like going back to the early 1970's but in a good way! We were genuinely surprised at how good the hotel was, from the large fluffy towels in the en-suite to the large well cooked breakfast.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    413
    184
    57
    32
    30
See reviews for
258
273
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ickenham, Middx
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have just returned from an enjoyable New Year Package at The Wight Montrene. The staff were very good and the food was delicious and plentiful. This three day package was good value for money. We enjoyed the nostalgia evening on the third night and the use of the pool and jacuzzi. We did miss a disco on New Year's Eve though as the entertainment tended to cater for older clients but that's just our own preference. Lots of extras like free cocktails, champagne to toast the New Year and sausage rolls and mince pies.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Argos109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Just spent the New year at The Whight Montrene Hotel, Sandown and did not want to come home.

Everything was wonderful, the food, the decorations, the staff, the entertainment and the cocktails !!!!

It felt like we had joined a big family for the festive season, We have been away many times for the New Year, but this was the best, will be back again.

Well done to the management and staff, you have a wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: rooms are not modern, but all rooms are very clean and have everything you need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ann K k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wessex
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We returned with friends to this excellent value hotel for the Christmas and New Year break. Although the weather this year was appalling, the friendliness of the staff, the food glorious food, the comfortable rooms, the entertainment, and the excellent facilities soon made us forget the wind and rain.
I must single out our waitress, Tammy, who looked after us with remarkable efficiency and good humour.
The Montrene makes a good base and we were able to visit the IOW Steam Railway, Newport, Ryde, Oasis, Busy Bees, Shanklin, Arreton and Gods Hill despite the stormy conditions.
We will be back in April with our classic car club.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1960Goldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

If you are going to Sandown then this is the place to stay.It's excellent location is literally 2 minutes from the beach yet the hotel is tucked away from the main road so you are not disturbed by traffic or noise. We have just returned from a 3 night stay over new year at the Wight Montrene Hotel and cannot praise it enough. The hotel is clean comfortable and very homely. Nothing was too much trouble and there was always a member of staff on hand to offer whatever assistance was required whether it be taking group photographs or serving a drink. The food was delicious with lots of choice and was always served hot with a smile from the waitress. I shall now have to stop eating for a couple of weeks to get rid of the extra mince pies and sausage rolls served around 10.30pm despite having enjoyed a 5 or 6 course meal earlier in the evening! We ordered a packed lunch for our journey home and the sandwiches were freshly made and filled with thick juicy ham. A much better option than supermarket or motorway cafe food. Thank you to everyone at the hotel for such excellent service. I don't think you have seen the last of us!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Just returned from this lovely hotel. We had a surprisingly relaxing and friendly break. Fabulous and plentiful food cooked by an amazing chef to whom my congratulations for the speed, the quality and the variety of christmas fare with the most amazing Christmas pudding I have ever tasted.

The accommodation was clean and very comfortable and the staff couldn"t be more helpful. The hotel is located 5 minutes from the beach.

Most of all the owner managers were on site to ensure that everything ran smoothly according to their very own high personal standards which was like a breath of fresh air in this very impersonal managed world we now all live in. Congratulations to all and a very prosperous New Year.

Room Tip: End of the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kathhop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is found tucked away to the rear of another. It has a red brick extension frontage, masking an older, pebble dashed building behind. It is very economically priced. Decor who is dated and plain with room walls and ceilings artexed. Furnishing is equally dated and plane, circa late seventies early eighties. Food is delivered remarkably quickly to the table, the waitress taking your order, going out of the room and then re-appearing very rapidly with hot food. How is it cooked that quickly? Having said that it is hot, filling and very economically. In contrast the wine was impressive, and much cheaper than might be expected in a hotel or restaurant.

Although plain, the beds are very comfortable, and in December the room was pleasantly warm during the day and throughout the night. The basic shower supplied steady hot water. The cramped bathroom was immaculately clean, as were all parts of the hotel, putting higher quality establishments to shame.

The poolroom was warm and the pool offered a good swim across the width, being too shallow for most of its length. The jacuzzi and sauna were dated but well maintained, yet again providing good quality experience.

The welcome at the hotel was efficient and helpful.

So, an economical hotel with plain and dated decor, and average food that pleasantly surprised with well serviced facilities, providing a good nights sleep on soft beds, and decent wine at a cheap price. A very secure place, good for children, and a short walk from the beach.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
419 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Property: The Wight
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing