We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average; but fits the purpose”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Average; but fits the purpose”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here during the Easter break... close to the beach, 2-3 minutes walk to lovely sandown beach ; a bit far from the station.
A big plus is the swimming pool and steam rooms (helps you relax after the long walks). Shame it is open till 7.30 pm though. The jacuzzi works well when you put the extra pound in, and we didnt mind spending that :)
Unfortunately, we were given rooms in the ground floor and the room just above us was given to a family with 2 kids... it turned out to be very noisy till 11 pm. Wish they had allocated rooms the other way round.
Breakfast is nice and filling.
Would recommend this place if your requirements are basic, that is, looking at a place to sleep at night (though ours was disturbed due to kids running around in the room above ours) and want a swimming pool to relax in the evening.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iyer_kaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    184
    57
    32
    30
See reviews for
258
272
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Grayshott, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just come back from this hotel and cannot fault it. We decided to take the dog with us as a google search resulted in this hotel being dog friendly and it certainly was. The room was small but very clean. The food was wonderful. The breakfast could keep you full all day and the evening meal was 5 courses if you wanted it. The service was exceptionally swift and the staff very very friendly.
There is a small pool, a chance to play snooker and a playground for children. The beach is a five minute walk away.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone whether they are taking children, dog or even just as a couple. We are very surprised it is only a 2* as it certainly gives the impression of being better.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed as a family group to celebrate our parents 50th wedding anniversary. The staff were welcoming and helpful from the moment we walked in. The rooms are much as you would expect. They are clean and well appointed. I found the bed really comfy but I guess it's what you're used to! The food is good with a 5 course dinner. The head waitress is an absolute asset. She went above and beyond by doing some balloon shopping for us for the anniversary dinner. The bar manager looked after us...he even held onto our unfinished wine for us to gave the next night. The pianist was a lovely touch! Thank you for playing a song for us. The jazz night was good too. The pool in a real bonus- don't go in the jacuzzi first though! We would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

stayed here with my wife for 3 nights FANTASTIC from the moment we arrived the reception staff showed us all we needed to know including our dining table the games room, swimming pool etc. We took the optional evening 5 course dinner it was magnificent and the girls in the dining room were brilliant. Next morning breakfast WOW full monty or a jurassic only order the jurassic if you're really hungry. the hotel bar is really good and Alec the head barman is there to serve all your needs at very reasonable prices. All in all a fantastic hotel spotlessly clean will certainly visit again

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner recently stayed at this hotel and was extremely happy. The hotel is beautiful and the staff really friendly and helpful! We were really surprised that this hotel was rated a 2 star as it was much higher in our eyes! Also the fu Monty breakfast is fantastic! We had a lovely stay and would definitely go back!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kelly27_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edingworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I and my daughter had rooms which were spotlessly clean. The linen was good quality and the beds comfortable. Good to have the extra facilities of pool, sauna, snooker room etc. Close to the sea front but the road is quiet.
Staff were accommodating and friendly. Lots of choice for a good breakfast.
The hotel needs a makeover to update but is in very good order.
A single room with double bed has the smallest loo/shower room ever (you need to turn on the spot) but there was plenty of hot water - room itself was plenty big enough. Breakfast hours (from 8.15am) are a little limited if you need an earlier start.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MazzyMaggot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Portland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice, rooms comfortable and close to sea front. The staff were really friendly and cheerful. Breakfast was perfect and the waitresses were great. We had a swim and jacuzzi was great!
Seafront area of Sandown was run down and all the buildings shabby (except our hotel) Zoo was OK but small.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Property: The Wight
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing