We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book early!!”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 29 April 2014

This is a regular gem. I have stayed here 4 times in the last two years. Good, clean basic accommodation with excellent facilities for the price that you pay. The staff work tirelessly to please and are friendly and helpful. The swimming pool, steam room, solarium and jacuzzi mean that even when the weather is bad - there is enough to do. Kids can also play table tennis, pool and watch tv/dvd, whilst the adults can use the billiard room. There is plenty of parking and is very, close to the best beach on the island. The food is excellent and plentiful. Don't bother trying to save money by booking B&B as the meals are only as large as you choose!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Francis_A677
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (745)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

277 - 283 of 745 reviews

Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great, clean & comfortable room! Service was welcoming and warming! Jacuzzi was fantastic and relaxing.. we never had dinner but next time we will as it smelt amazing as was the breakfast in morning! Wish I had time for the massage!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Lovely place, let down by one member of staff who was very rude when I was trying to book. I have dyslexia and short term memory loss, so trying to hold a conversation with this man was no easy feat. His attitude was so bad that I was worried for the whole of my stay that it would not be enjoyable. I think you know who I mean, the one who puts everything into numbered lists.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank James519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Wight Montrene Hotel over Easter 2014 and is a relatively recent (by area standards) purpose built hotel with a large gravelled car park lying back off a drive running between two properties which front the road, so you won’t find it on Google Earth but does make for quiet rooms. The facilities were varied and excellent.

Quite frankly I couldn’t fault the hotel except perhaps to say that the room was a little smaller than I would have liked as we were sharing with a dog but it was adequate with a modern TV and the double glazing was sufficient to kill all sound of the night time entertainment laid on by the hotel.

The first meal we had was dinner with five splendid courses each with a choice, except for the soup and Entrée courses, all cooked to perfection. The next two dinners were even better if that was possible one with a broccoli and stilton soup that was the best I have ever tasted. A nice touch was the pianist who played appropriate music throughout the dining period; he also made for a pleasant accompaniment to pre-dinner drinks in the bar. Breakfast was simply astonishing and amazing value.

The staff were not only efficient but polite, friendly and helpful as well. I was left with the impression that they really cared, this despite the fact that the hotel has a strict “no tipping” rule.

All in all this was a very enjoyable experience.

Room Tip: We were in the older part of the hotel where the WI-Fi would not work in the rooms. Apparently it wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Julian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Stayed here during the Easter break... close to the beach, 2-3 minutes walk to lovely sandown beach ; a bit far from the station.
A big plus is the swimming pool and steam rooms (helps you relax after the long walks). Shame it is open till 7.30 pm though. The jacuzzi works well when you put the extra pound in, and we didnt mind spending that :)
Unfortunately, we were given rooms in the ground floor and the room just above us was given to a family with 2 kids... it turned out to be very noisy till 11 pm. Wish they had allocated rooms the other way round.
Breakfast is nice and filling.
Would recommend this place if your requirements are basic, that is, looking at a place to sleep at night (though ours was disturbed due to kids running around in the room above ours) and want a swimming pool to relax in the evening.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iyer_kaushik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We have just come back from this hotel and cannot fault it. We decided to take the dog with us as a google search resulted in this hotel being dog friendly and it certainly was. The room was small but very clean. The food was wonderful. The breakfast could keep you full all day and the evening meal was 5 courses if you wanted it. The service was exceptionally swift and the staff very very friendly.
There is a small pool, a chance to play snooker and a playground for children. The beach is a five minute walk away.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone whether they are taking children, dog or even just as a couple. We are very surprised it is only a 2* as it certainly gives the impression of being better.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We stayed as a family group to celebrate our parents 50th wedding anniversary. The staff were welcoming and helpful from the moment we walked in. The rooms are much as you would expect. They are clean and well appointed. I found the bed really comfy but I guess it's what you're used to! The food is good with a 5 course dinner. The head waitress is an absolute asset. She went above and beyond by doing some balloon shopping for us for the anniversary dinner. The bar manager looked after us...he even held onto our unfinished wine for us to gave the next night. The pianist was a lovely touch! Thank you for playing a song for us. The jazz night was good too. The pool in a real bonus- don't go in the jacuzzi first though! We would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haybo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
901 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
448 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
438 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,264 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £66 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing