We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good long weekend”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 2 June 2014

First time we used this hotel and would definitely return, easy to park, very good food and service, room very clean ensuite tea coffee and TV. Swimming pool and facilities were enjoyable had a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (749)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

275 - 281 of 749 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2014

Just returned from an enjoyable short break at the Wight Montrene. Without exception, staff were friendly and extremely helpful, particularly with arranging our discounted ferry bookings. We chose B&B, as we like eating out, and found several reasonable restaurants in the area, including Bellamy's in Sandown, and Purple Mango in Shanklin. Breakfasts at the hotel were excellent value for money, with plenty of choice, full English and continental options, hot, tasty and plentiful, and service with a smile, despite waiting staff being extremely busy!

The pool was nice, but not accessible from inside the hotel, which means a brisk walk to and from the annexe, or changing into/out of swimwear, once in the pool area itself - a bit inconvenient to then return to reception, to ask for the sauna/steam room to be switched on! (Maybe a sign on the wall outside the steam room, with instructions how to switch this on, once in the pool area, would be helpful?)

It's true the hotel is rather dated in decor and atmosphere, e.g.; a jazz style pianist in the bar, and a singer of 50's and early 60's music on a Saturday evening, which served as a reminder of days gone by . . . however, bedrooms have flat screen TV's, and free wifi is available in some rooms, although it's rather patchy in others.

The bedrooms are of a good size, the hotel is clean and comfortable, and is quietly situated, although the walls are rather thin in this 60's style building. There is ample free parking, and the beach is a short walk, so it's an ideal place for young families. It's a good base for seeing the island, and was reminiscent of my childhood holidays in IoW, in the days when customer service and satisfaction were considered to be paramount. We felt valued, as customers - thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WiltshireJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have just had the most amazing experience ever...Wight montrene you served your purpose brilliantly...a massive thank you to Alec and Jill who are amazing people you guys are a massive asset to this wonderful hotel..the pool and spa really clean breakfast the perfect size the waiting staff were friendly, informative and lovely...and Debbie well your just brill too...thank you so much everyone keep up the good work and we will definitely be back to see you...Stacey and Rebecca

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank rebeccaandstacey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from a 2 night stay at this hotel which has wonderfully friendly staff, the cost including half board and ferry crossings is excellent value for money.
The breakfast was good and evening meal good value for money with reasonable bar charges, the price of wine at dinner was good too
We used the pool which was again very clean, didn't get to use the spa, door was locked so didn't get to have a look maround.
Our rooms were a good size but the one negative comment is that the showers in our rooms were awful, very old fashioned with no pressure, water was either boiling hot or cold, it's nice to start your day with a refreshing shower and after a busy day out to freshen up,
Would recommend this hotel to people who are out and about or older couples

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Wessex56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Just back from 5 nights at The Wight Montrene Hotel. Right From the warm welcome and the very informative tour of the property on arrival, we felt comfortable and relaxed. Rooms are spotlessly clean and well furnished. Large, comfortable bed and plasma TV,free WIFI in the room was a bonus.The pool and the jacuzzi were a little piece of heaven, so warm and clean and relaxing. Breakfasts were superb, from the enormous Jurassic or the Full Monty to a soft boiled egg , nothing was too much trouble. The evening menu with its 5 courses and various choices of mains and desserts was fantastic. The hotel is very close to the beach, zoo, shops and all amenities too. But the biggest and brightest asset of this hotel has to be the fabulous, caring, dedicated, friendly and helpful staff. Everyone we met was informative and helpful to guests and to each other, they seemed happy in their work and it showed! Worthy of a special mention has to be Alec, head barman, (also we discovered, an accomplished harmonica player), always greeted with a smile and a joke or two! Also the girls in the dining room, Gill, Michaela and Ruby, who work so hard to make sure everyone has exactly what they choose, promptly and efficiently, and steaming hot on the plate! Extra thanks to Ruby (my favourite) who entertained us with stories, jokes and youthful innocence for the whole time! Gonna miss you Ruby! Would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to arrive as a guest and leave as part of the family! We will be returning soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Leslee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Stayed two nights at this I.O.W hotel during last bank holidays. Staffs there are quite friendly, offered to help settle our bikes throughout the stay. The room is clean and well equipped with everything we need. The breakfast and dinner offer plenty of choices, all are absolutely delicious. There are live piano/ singing performances at the bar on weekend nights, making the dinner even more enjoyable. We also quite fond of all their indoor facilities, especially the pool, sauna, and table tennis. The only downside is that the room has poor sound insulation...I can even hear the snoring coming from the room next to ours. Still, I will recommend this hotel to budget traveler.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hclu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

this hotel has every think you could wish for and its just a short walk to the beach the kids will love the indoor pool if it is raining ,I cant fault this hotel we had a great time there and the staff are great give it a go you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#21 of 29 in Sandown
4 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
461 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
951 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 51 in Shanklin
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Sandown
#7 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £59 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing