We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“revisit”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have been to The Wight Montrene quite a few times now, and have always enjoyed it. I do find some of the reviews i see about it a bit "strange". I always find staff friendly and helpful, rooms
( we have been in ) always good and clean. This is NOT a 5* hotel so why do people seem to expect more. We will be visiting again in the not to distant future, taking with us our 2 GSD's... 1 of which will be making his first visit there, boy is he going to enjoy getting fusses from everyone in the hotel and having his first play on the dog friendly stretch of beach. Roll on September......

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank swainford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is perfect for families, room 207 was ideal for us as it was split in 2 sections, adults were in one part and the kids in the other, we all had our own space. Staff were lovely and friendly, they were very helpful and coudn't do enough for you. Location is superb. Haven't got a bad word to say about this hotel. Will be visiting every year now.... Special hello to Louise and Alex from PJ :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Don't stay here. Small room, no lift, shabby establishment, very dated and very rude staff when asking if we could change rooms and pretty unhelpful/unfriendly when asking other general queries. Really don't understand how this place could get so many good reviews. We would never return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank travcam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Congratulations must go to Travcam3 who is 1 of only 14 (out of 493) reviewers to honour us with the supreme accolade of Terrible! True, a further 13 have given Poor and a yet further 31 marked us as just average – so you have therefore to feel really sorry for the deluded idiots who, with such obvious poor judgment of value and lack of discernment, have insisted on awarding us as Very Good (111) and, horror of horrors, even Excellent (324).

But a few corrections. All or our rooms fly past the requirements for our AA grading – and we are marked in the top 5% of our grade in the UK. No, we do not have a lift – hardly necessary when we have just a ground floor and first floor – with nearly half of our 40 bedrooms on the ground floor. Shabby and dated – definitely not – whilst not a purpose built hotel we are one of the more up-to-date hotels on the Island.

But there’s no concealing the real truth from Travcam3, a Senior Reviewer with 10 reviews under her belt. My brief perusal of those 10 reviews was of great interest and possibly points to what weight should be given to her viewpoints. Firstly, the average mark given in those 10 reviews is a miserly 2.5. This obviously shows either a highly critical/difficult to please reviewer or one who has the bad luck to consistently choose sub-standard establishments to honour with her presence. There are several other pointers within the Reviews but I will only deal with one illuminating fact – the frequency of finding staff rude and unhelpful. I have just one comment which I hope may be of benefit to the reviewer on her future expeditions - just possibly it is her own attitude towards those who are tasked with being of service that leads to said staff not being as polite and helpful as they seem to be with other clients!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights – but was ready to leave after the first night. Booked because of the reviews on Tripadvisor – but should have read the poor reviews as well as the good. The room, “economy”, was very small. There was no room for a bedside table and you needed to walk side on in order to get into one side of the bed. I do not think anyone slightly overweight could have managed this.
The ensuite was really a “cupboard” and measured no more than 2’6” by 7’0” and included a shower cubicle, washbasin and toilet. These were very dated, green plastic toilet cistern and shower tray and the shower tray had numerous holes in it, some of which someone had attempted, badly, to repair with sealer. Even then the water drained away very slowly. The concertina door to the shower was broken and should have been replaced. The hot tap in the basin had no top to it – the whole “cupboard” desperately needs to be updated. It was not possible to close the door when using the wash basin. Advertised as compact but functional – it is not really up to it. You really need to use your imagination to call this an ensuite bathroom.
The room was unbearably hot and we had to immediately open the window. However as this room (number 130) was on the ground floor it was not possible to leave it open all night. We immediately, on seeing the room, informed the person on reception of the above, who told us as we were staying for only 2 nights, there were no other rooms available. This was possibly the worst hotel room we have ever stayed in.
Spoke to a different receptionist in the morning who offered to speak to the owner to see if we could have a different room – otherwise we had decided to return home rather than suffer another night in this room. We were offered the 4 poster bedroom but then had to pay extra for this. This had a bigger bathroom but still had the same peach tiles on the wall and plastic flowers in vases. The pillows and bed were hard and extremely uncomfortable. Half way through having a shower the water stopped running completely!
Before arriving in the Isle of White we stayed at the Premier Inn Southampton. Room was spacious in comparison, and air conditioned with large excellent ensuite and could not be faulted – no comparison with the room in The Wight Montrene. Room 130 was a complete shock and even though advertised as “economy” it was more expensive than the Premier Inn and of much poorer standard.
The hotel is close to the beach and Sandown town centre – but there is little there to see and most shops closed at 5pm. The whole area is very run down.
Breakfast was OK, although the service was a little slow.
Reception staff were helpful.
Would we return or recommend to others? Definitely not.
Avoid staying at this hotel. This was not a good experience for our first trip to the Isle of Wight and probably will never return to the island after this.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank dfddad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, Owner at The Wight, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2014

In respect of the condition of the room’s ensuite I fully agree with the client. It is one of the few that are awaiting being renewed (but not enlarged) this coming off-season but the condition did indeed leave much to be desired. Unfortunately the previous occupants of the room did considerable damage and were asked to leave. Our maintenance man did what he could quickly and made sure that everything worked – but the room had to be used on the first night as the hotel was completely full (which is why the first receptionist could not do anything the first night). The following morning the Four Poster Suite became available and I O.K’d a transfer to that at an additional £15.00 – a considerable bargain as the nightly rate is £50.00 higher than a room in our Economy range. Strangely however the client still managed to find fault even with that superb room!

The now vacated Economy room received further attention that day and all but the shower door (the damage to which leaves it still workable and a replacement has been ordered) have been cosmetically rectified.

In respect of the client’s many other adverse comments and complaints I can only state the independent professional inspectors of the AA place the Wight Montrene in the to 5% of 2 Star hotels in Great Britain and the size and appointments of our Economy rooms more than meet the requirements of the grading.

The problem of, thankfully just a very few hotel client’s, is that they forget the truism that you only get what you pay for then, having chosen to save money by booking an Economy room (the size and appointment of which is fully described on our website and then reiterated when offered) somehow then expect parity with Standard or even Superior grades.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The double room we had was on the small side but adequate for a short break. Wardrobe space is tiny. The fan was very welcome as we didn't want to leave the large window open at night. Nice to have the use of a free safe in the room. The bed was comfortable though the pillows were a bit hard.
The bath with shower over was OK, but there is a real problem with the hot water here, it is absolutely scalding! There is a warning notice by the sink but surely it would be better just to adjust the temperature at source? The shower head is very small and sometimes the hot water disappeared altogether, so you had to wait until it came on again, not great when you are in the middle of washing. Whatever you do, you cannot try turning the hot water tap up as I did because it suddenly rushes out with scalding water. The breakfast was good. The entertainment in the bar in the evening was not to our taste so we didn't use it, though it looked comfortable. It's a shame there isn't an outside area to sit, but the hotel is so close to the front it was easy to take a stroll to a local bar on the seafront.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oap46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed here with my fiancé for our anniversary. The hotel looked great on the outside and I was impressed with the interior. The staff were very helpful and showed us to the room and all the amenities. Our bedroom was small but looked great. The fan in the bedroom was broken so we asked for a replacement which they gave us. The breakfast was varied with a selection of cereals and cooked breakfast.
I would recommend this hotel to friends and if I was to go back to the island I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We had our wedding reception here in February. John & staff really put themselves out to make our day so special. The food & service was excellent & our night in the bridle suite was wonderful. we would highly recommend this hotel.

Sheila & Bill Jackson

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
916 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,275 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £64 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing