We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great family hotel with traditional values” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Ringwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great family hotel with traditional values”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Husband and I booked a two-night stay, bed and breakfast. The room wasn't 'modern' or 'trendy', but it was extremely comfortable, quiet and very clean - we slept like logs after our days of walking and swimming.

We ate out (left the car securely parked, and walked to the nearby Esplanade), but we returned for very reasonably priced drinks at the bar, and the great entertainment provided by Steve on piano and keyboards really ended the day in a relaxed fashion.

The breakfasts were wonderful - the menu was flexible and the efficient staff were more than happy to adapt it at your request.

The hotel is so family-friendly, but not in a mad way - children were enjoying the pool, and some enjoyed a dance in the evening.

Overall, there is an air of warmth and welcome.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    404
    176
    53
    32
    29
See reviews for
251
261
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

We went to the Montrene in mid July, had a very pleasant holiday.
Staff we're very polite and courteous, the room we had 203 was very nice and comfortable although very hot at that time of July.
The fan provided was very welcome although did not help that much but that was down to the weather ( absolutely baking ).
The only thing I was not overly happy with was that I reported a broken plug socket on our first day which had not been dealt with when we left.
The waiting staff were brilliant as was the food.
Will definitely return to hotel when we visit island again.
We didn't stay in the hotel in the evening as I found the chairs in the bar area very uncomfortable.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff190784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Very good value for money, parking, great pool, great food, lovely staff, enjoyable entertainment, friendly relaxed atmosphere, very clean room. We cannot think of a better place and will be coming back in the winter. Yes, it is not a 5 star but truthfully deserve more than 2 !

Room Tip: We had room 150 on the ground floor and though not large was perfect for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Uppitymiss1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Just returned from the montrene hotel are having a lovely holiday.The food is top class and my granddaughter who is very fussy commented on the lovely food.The service is very good from
Reception,waitresses and bar staff.The children loved the swimming pool as well.The location is
very good and only 2 minutes from beach.The only downside was the bed mattress was a bit too
firm but other than that we had a great time and would certainly recommend this hotel to my
friends.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Staff are very friendly and trust worthy as on one occasion we left the safe open in our room. We have now stayed 3xs and the rooms have been been clean, breakfast is one of the best on the Island. The entertainment in the evening is good, especially the Jazz night. Our 6 year old son expecially enjoyed the swimming pool. We will definately be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

We have been to The Wight Montrene quite a few times now, and have always enjoyed it. I do find some of the reviews i see about it a bit "strange". I always find staff friendly and helpful, rooms
( we have been in ) always good and clean. This is NOT a 5* hotel so why do people seem to expect more. We will be visiting again in the not to distant future, taking with us our 2 GSD's... 1 of which will be making his first visit there, boy is he going to enjoy getting fusses from everyone in the hotel and having his first play on the dog friendly stretch of beach. Roll on September......

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank swainford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014

This hotel is perfect for families, room 207 was ideal for us as it was split in 2 sections, adults were in one part and the kids in the other, we all had our own space. Staff were lovely and friendly, they were very helpful and coudn't do enough for you. Location is superb. Haven't got a bad word to say about this hotel. Will be visiting every year now.... Special hello to Louise and Alex from PJ :-)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 759 reviews
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
0.4 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Property: The Wight
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing