We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel in sandown isle of wight wight monterene hotel”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
england
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great hotel in sandown isle of wight wight monterene hotel”
Reviewed 30 July 2009

great hotel that we visited last month with two young children
lovely indoor swimming pool, sauna, steam room and games room also a small outdoor pool for children and garden with play equipment which kept my two quiet!
the staff were freindly and couldn't do enough for usif we needed any thing or questions answered.
all in all freindly hotel that we will stay at again when next visiting

Helpful?
1 Thank lindyEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    409
    181
    57
    32
    29
See reviews for
254
269
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2009

Wight Montrene is in superb location close to the beach and the shops. Parking is available on site. The boys enjoyed swimming pool and chess, the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F0gg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2009

We came here from a disasterous one night stay at a caravan park. The manageress was extremely helpful, showing us a choice of rooms. The rest of the staff were friendly and polite and also very helpful. The room we were in was spotless, sheets on the beds were crisp and white, the decor was pretty, clean and bright, the bathroom had a 6ft bath! wonderful. There were clean white towels, complimentry bathroom toiletries, tea and coffee making facilities, hairdryer and television. The domestic staff replenished everything as you needed it. The rest of the hotel was very clean and pleasant, we didn't have time to sample all that was on offer there but when we go back for a longer stay, we certainly will. There was plenty of room in the dining room, the food was plentiful and we had no complaints about the chef. The car park was a very generous size and rules about parking within the white posts, guaranteed everybody got a space at the end of the day. The hotel is ideally located for the local shops and beach; no need to take the car. We would definitely come back here and have already recommended it to friends and family.
It was very apparent to us that the staff, from the top, down, all worked hard to make sure we were happy and the manageress herself, went out of her way to cater to our needs.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammySurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2009

Recently booked in here by my employer whilst doing some work on the Island.

To begin with, and to be fair, this is only a 2 star Hotel so guess I shouldn't have expected much. Probably just as well really as this place really does NOT deliver.

I'll begin with the positives though -
1 - Staff - Domestic, waiting and bar staff were friendly and reasonably efficient.
2- Errr.. That's it really.

So to the Negatives -

1-If you are a fan of a certain cheesy, chintzy style of 80's decor or maybe just love the idea of sleeping in your grannys spare room then this is the place to be. For the rest of us, for whom the world has moved on since crimplene floral bedthrows were fashionable, this place is desperately in need of a makeover. Room was small and cramped with musty smelling wardrobe. Bathroom (replete with olive green suite) even more cramped and shower pretty much non functional.
2-Rules. Lots and lots of rules. Rules written on signs wherever you look. Rules about when you can eat. Rules about how to park your car. Rules stuck to your bedroom door should you dare to transgress aforementioned rules. Rules about kids doing anything that being a kid involves. (Think maybe the owner is a fan of the seen and not heard school of thought). Rules about use of everything really. Made me feel like I was there to please the owners rather than the other way round.
3-Food. Not really bad as such just nowhere near the standards that the hotels own website claims. Ordinary rather than bad - though whoever thought that tinned pears work well with balsamic vinegar as a starter ought to think again.

In conclusion this place is like an overblown guest house rather than a proper Hotel overseen by a slightly eccentric management team and grimly hanging on to those 2 stars. Remove the pool and 1 star would be generous...

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tobyfair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wightmontrene, owner at The Wight, responded to this review, 10 July 2009
In answer to the client’s … Errr…Negatives:

1. Décor and style are matters of personal preference. Because one person does not like something it does not mean that it is either bad or wrong. Our décor and style are in keeping with the type of building and whilst we are working through the hotel gently up-rating and modernizing the last thing we are aiming for is to be “trendy” – which will of course be tomorrow’s “old hat”. We now have only half a dozen rooms with coloured bathroom suites – 30 odd perfectly good coloured suites have been tossed on the scrap heap and replaced with gleaming white as is the current trend – won’t it be funny in a few years time when fashion states that avocado is once again the in thing!

2. Infamy, Infamy – they’ve all got it in for me! I don’t think I suffer from paranoia but this thing about rules and notices is distinctly odd when it is considered that: a) We have not put up any form of notice since just over two years ago when the new steam room was installed - and that notice was simply the instructions as to how to work it b) But meanwhile the last two reviewers have both mentioned notices and rules – yet the previous better part of 100 reviews have contained not one mention of either!
As stated in respect of that previous review we have but few of either – but those that we do have are essential and mainly to do with the pool i.e. children must be accompanied by an adult, no running, diving or bombing, no glasses or bottles to be taken into the pool building, no big inflatables – in other words all to promote safety and the convenience of other guests. That’s about it for rules and notices apart from the notices giving instruction upon how to use the steam room etc and that children must not use the steam room or sauna unless with a parent – hardly unreasonable.
The client in question made mention of three particular signs : i) Rules when you can eat. OK, yes we have an illuminated signboard in the foyer which gives meal times (8.15am to last orders at 9.45am and 6.30pm until last orders at 8.00pm) and also the days/times of entertainment. One would have thought pretty essential. ii) Rules on bedroom doors – as any experienced traveler knows ALL bedroom doors must have the statutory fire alarm and escape route information – but there is absolutely nothing else on our doors. Bedrooms do however have one other notice – instructions as to how to set a combination in their digital safes. iii) Yes, there is indeed a notice at Reception detailing car parking – nothing very complicated or harsh – just to park using only one car park space rather than two. And yes, if two spaces are taken up then we do politely request a client to re-park their vehicle on an a.s.a.p. basis. And if the client has still not bothered to do so 3 hours later then we do indeed have the temerity to insist! Maybe not popular with that client – but very popular with the guest who is waiting to use the freed-up space!

3. Food. We get a lot of compliments for same. The starter mentioned is actually somewhat of a classic and is very popular. To describe it correctly it is a poached pear, lightly dressed with balsamic vinegar, with a watercress and walnut garnish.

Thankfully we are in absolutely no danger of losing a Star – to the contrary the hotel’s merit mark awarded by the AA (last inspection just weeks ago) puts us in the top 5% of 2 Star hotels in the U.K.

John K. P. Amor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2009

My wife and I decided at the last minute to have a short break away in June, after our trip to Oz over last Christmas had to be curtailed half way through owing to illness in the family. We decided that we would both like to see what the Isle of Wight was like now, the last time I visited was about 1957 (when I was too young to be very interested in what it was like there) and my wife had never been, We picked the Wight Montrene after a friend of my mother -in -law recommended it to us. We were not disappointed, the food was excellent, the staff couldn't have been more obliging and friendly and the whole place was spotlessly clean. If I was forced to come up with a critisism, I would say that our en-suite bathroom was too narrow, and the toilet roll holder was positioned in the wrong place, making it difficult for my wife (who is disabled) to sit down and get up from the toilet without difficulty. If you are looking for a place to stay in Sandown you won't go far wrong booking your stay in the Wight Montrene, I only wish we were able to stay for longer than 5 nights (this time, hopefully, next time it will be for longer).

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesandpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Watford
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2009

Our bedroom was spotless and kept that way with daily fresh towels. The decor was 70's but this didn't bother us. The food was wonderful. Five course dinners with plenty of choice and always a vegetarian dish. Very speedy service too. The deserts were 'to die for'. Old fashioned puddings with custard, the favourite being treacle pudding. Breakfasts were reputed to be 'the best on the island' and they were we presume. Again plenty of choice and everything including the fruit juices and cereal served to your table.We had wonderful weather for the whole week and can't wait to go back there again! The ferry was booked for us by the hotel and you can catch an earlier one that your original booking which was very helpful to us both ways.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobcratchett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines
1 review
Reviewed 25 June 2009

You cannot get a better location for this hotel, and to be able to roll off the beach and into a very nice pool / games area was even better.
The staff in this hotel were fabulous and nothing was too much.
As for the breakfast, I wish I was able to eat more. Quality was excellent and we were spoilt for choice.

I grew up on the island so I am very particular. But I am going to be going back to the Wight Montrene, probably on a yearly basis

Thanks Wight Montrene. See you next year!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jemmyjem73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 52 in Shanklin
825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Property: The Wight
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing