We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first class friendly hotel”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #5 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
paulbn3
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“first class friendly hotel”
Reviewed 20 February 2010

I stayed at the wight monday to friday for three months whilst working in sandown , the hotel is always cleen and the staff friendly and very helpfull , the food was very good and plenty of it [ thay even changed the menue for us as we were ther so long ] the pool and steam room were very welcome after a long day and this area was allso keepted spotlessly clean . many thanks to the managmant and all the staff for making us all very welcome

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulbn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    182
    57
    32
    30
See reviews for
257
271
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2010

Very good clean accomodation. The room we stayed in had been upgraded but remained a little dated but you could not fault the cleanlyness. Flat screen telly and very comfy beds. View from the window did not blow us away but we didnt spend much time in the room anyway. We had the swimming pool to ourselves which was a bonus. Meals are excellent, salmon, duck, pork in a mushroom sauce, 5 course never made it to the 5th course! Barman Alex seems to find something to talk to everybody about. Drinks cheaper than some of the local pubs! Resturant area nice and airy but could do without the piped music. All the staff were friendly. Definately will go back, in fact looking to book for september.Plenty to see around the area and the hotel is very close to the beach and bars.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgebristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2010

We recently had 3 nights at The Wight Montrene, the directions sent to us made it very easy to find and the good sized, marked car park close to the sea front made it a good choice.
Our rooms were spotless with everything we needed ,the very bathroom was very small, but nevertheless functional.All facilities we were pleased to find open such as the indoor pool and steam room and sauna and we both had treatments in The Oasis which we enjoyed.
The main strengths of this hotel are the friendly staff...nothing too much trouble and the food...even though the hotel was very quiet a full menu was on offer and the evening meal had a great selection leaving us feeling more than satisfied.
Would be happy to return to this hotel as it was friendly, well located and great value for money, Thanks Fran and John and staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazisredManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abingdon
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2010

we have just spent a fantastic new year at this hotel, on arrival we received a warm and friendly greeting and shown to our room which was spotlessly clean, very comfortable with a flat screen tv with freeview channels stocked very well with tea, coffee etc. All the staff were so friendly and attentive, their mission was to make sure that everyone was going to enjoy themselves and have fun, their friendliness rubbing off on all the other guests with the help of good entertainment. The owners John and Fran were a great couple looking after all guests needs without being intrusive very generously supplying free cocktails on the first night (what a great way to break the ice for their guests!) as well as nuts crisps chocs mince pies and sausage rolls, no cut backs here! The food is absolutely fantastic its worth staying just for the food. The swimmining pool was so warm and although it was very cold weather the pool area was lovely and warm. We would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting a warm, friendly ,clean and comfortable hotel with great facilities and PARKING You "arrive as a guest but leave as a friend "what better recommendation than that!! Linda and Mick Abingdon

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linnmick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

We have returned to stay at this wonderful hotel again as it never fails to deliver a truly wonderful holiday. We have two young children who love the swimming pool and facilities at the hotel and we love the lovely service delivered by the staff and the fantastic food - I am definitely returning several pounds heavier thanks to truly enjoyable dining. We have been here in the past for christmas and new year and the atmosphere was wonderful. Would truly recommend to everyone.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yummymummy099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2009

A lovely friendly very clean confortable Hotel with easy parking, excellent and varied food, great facilities (the Pool is lovely), relaxed atmosphere, polite, friendly and efficient staff and good entertainment . Suitable for all ages.
We have already booked for next April and cannot wait to return. That says it all !

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taglett21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We arrived to a warm, welcoming smile and an open invitation to join a Christmas Party that evening! The catering, service and facilities which accompanied the five course evening meal were faultless... and the menu choice phenomenal (all washed down with a delicious bottle of red - chosen from a vast selection and at very reasonable prices!)

The bedroom was a good size and provided all the basic facilities you would expect, like spare pillows and a flat screen tv. However, the Wight Montrene have added flourishes which I particularly appreciated: a personal safe (free of charge); a tea-caddy with plentiful supplies of teabags (rather than the usual one per person!); a good hairdryer with salon length lead and plenty of hangers in the wardrobe. We always had a plentiful supply of piping hot water in the bathroom - my only comment would be the need for bigger bath towels to wrap around the slightly larger guest!

The on-site facilities were clean and well maintained, we enjoyed using the swimming pool, jacuzzi and steam room (but ran out of time for anything else). With free on-site parking and such direct access to the local town and promenade - we both felt the hotel was the ideal location for exploring Sandown/Shanklin by foot.

Thank you to all the staff - we have had a really brilliant weekend away and are planning to return, with friends, in the spring.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mootimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
828 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
417 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,237 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Property: The Wight
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing