We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What's wrong with everyone - this is a B&B by another name”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
London, UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“What's wrong with everyone - this is a B&B by another name”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2010

I don't understand these great reviews.

The room was tiny. The walls were thin. I could hear the people in the next room walking about and their TV even though it wasn't turned up too loud. This was not a private lovely hideaway.

The LCD TV was high up on the corner of the wall, so hard to see the picture and didn't even have all the freeview channels.

It was Feb so we were stuck inside as it was raining outside all the time. The pool table was ripped, the pool was half very shallow and half quite deep but it made swimming lengths hard as the shallow was very very shallow. The changing rooms didn't have a shower and you had to walk outside to get from the hotel to the pool (not great when wet from swimming to walk through wind and rain).

The snooker room was freezing (and £5 for just over an hour, a bit much) and was again outside.

The fitness centre was a joke, a few bits of rubbish old light weight equipment. I have a better cross trainer at home.

When you enter the hotel, it smells of a pub.

The people were ok but this is not a great place for a couple

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WebbyWebWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    178
    54
    32
    29
See reviews for
251
264
29
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2010

we stayed at the wight montrene for a weekend break to celebrate our parents golden wedding anniversary there were 13 of us in total age range from 11 to 73 including two 18 year olds. The facilities were brilliant for everyone, snooker room, games room and the wonderful pool, steam and sauna. Food was very good and an excellent choice on the breakfast and evening meal menu. Staff all very helpful and polite and we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzie080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOME
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

We stayed at the hotel over the new year period and we surprised at the lack of numbers staying, their loss our gain. All the staff were very friendly and it was more like staying with family than at a hotel. Free cocktails on the first night was very unexpected. Value for money was eccellent. /We look forward to returning in 2010.
Mags & Keith

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19361949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2010

Most of our work is in cities and the company books us into 3 star hotels. But when we went to Sandown we were mistakenly booked into a 3 star guest-house – there was nothing wrong with it but a 3 star guest-house is definitely not the same as a 3 star hotel – and a visit to the only 3 star hotel in Sandown pointed us to the view that they regard themselves more of a health spa than a hotel. Then we found the Wight hotel which is only 2 star - but we just cannot understand why as it was far better than most of the 3’s that we are used to. Friendly, efficient, thoughtful, nothing was too much trouble. The food was good and more or less limitless in quantity. The bedrooms were not huge but quite adequate and very comfortable and warm (not always the case in mid-winter). A decent sized pool (big enough to swim and well heated), jacussi, sauna, steam room, suntan booth. Games room with table tennis and a pool table and a beautiful full sized snooker table in a separate room. A few nights after we arrived the hotel the hotel had a party for the staff. A free bar from around 6 until 8pm, then they all went to a nearby restaurant paid for by the hotel, then back around 10ish again for a free bar until around 3am. AND ALL THE GUESTS IN THE HOTEL WERE INVITED! Definitely would not have wanted to pick up the bar bill, must have been colossal, but it shows how they treat there staff and it’s repaid in the way the staff look after the guests. Just hoping we land another contract on the island so we can go back again – but meanwhile self and wife are booked for Easter – and I’ve never done that with any hotel that we have stayed in whilst working.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Digital1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paulbn3
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2010

I stayed at the wight monday to friday for three months whilst working in sandown , the hotel is always cleen and the staff friendly and very helpfull , the food was very good and plenty of it [ thay even changed the menue for us as we were ther so long ] the pool and steam room were very welcome after a long day and this area was allso keepted spotlessly clean . many thanks to the managmant and all the staff for making us all very welcome

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paulbn3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

Very good clean accomodation. The room we stayed in had been upgraded but remained a little dated but you could not fault the cleanlyness. Flat screen telly and very comfy beds. View from the window did not blow us away but we didnt spend much time in the room anyway. We had the swimming pool to ourselves which was a bonus. Meals are excellent, salmon, duck, pork in a mushroom sauce, 5 course never made it to the 5th course! Barman Alex seems to find something to talk to everybody about. Drinks cheaper than some of the local pubs! Resturant area nice and airy but could do without the piped music. All the staff were friendly. Definately will go back, in fact looking to book for september.Plenty to see around the area and the hotel is very close to the beach and bars.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgebristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2010

We recently had 3 nights at The Wight Montrene, the directions sent to us made it very easy to find and the good sized, marked car park close to the sea front made it a good choice.
Our rooms were spotless with everything we needed ,the very bathroom was very small, but nevertheless functional.All facilities we were pleased to find open such as the indoor pool and steam room and sauna and we both had treatments in The Oasis which we enjoyed.
The main strengths of this hotel are the friendly staff...nothing too much trouble and the food...even though the hotel was very quiet a full menu was on offer and the evening meal had a great selection leaving us feeling more than satisfied.
Would be happy to return to this hotel as it was friendly, well located and great value for money, Thanks Fran and John and staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mazisredManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
5.6 mi away
Lakeside Park Hotel & Spa
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#6 of 54 in Shanklin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Property: The Wight
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing