We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was our 2nd Visit. We have already booked for the 3rd !”
Review of The Wight

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Wight
Ranked #6 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
An English Family
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“It was our 2nd Visit. We have already booked for the 3rd !”
Reviewed 6 May 2010

We discovered the Wight Montrene last October, having booked after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor. We then booked again for last month, when we had again a fantastic time; So we have already planned a 3rd visit in late September; The food is fantastic, the pool and the snooker room are such an added bonus for a 2 star Hotel, the large adjoining car park is a rare commodity, the staff is so friendly and efficient and the our bedrooms were freshly decorated and bright and airy. We simply love the place !

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnumboy34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    412
    184
    57
    32
    30
See reviews for
258
272
30
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2010

Rooms were very clean and tidy. All staff were very polite and friendly, especially the barman. Evening meal was very enjoyable and plentiful, with the added touch of a pianist. Breakfast was also excellent. Hotel very close to seafront with good pubs. Definiately go again.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HampshirePetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We stayed a couple of nights in June, enjoyed ourselves so much we visited again for a couple of days in September. Will be planning another couple of short breaks again this year,everyone so friendly, and they give you such a warm welcome. There are plenty of good facilities, with the pool,the spa, the steam room, the sauna and of course the" BAR" & Restaurant

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swainford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Puerto Galera
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2010

I visited Wight Montrene with my partner in the New Year and i most say we had a fabulous time. The staff are very friendly, the food was excellent, and the entertaiment; specially Dave Parr. We also found his wife working in reception who also very friendly yet proffesional . John & Fran the owners where also in residence and very welcoming and hospitable. The facilities, suna, swimming pool, solarium, and oasis to name just a few where fantastic. Overall good value for money and my first choice for a Hotel stay in the Isle of Wight in the future. Thank you to everybody, you made our stay enjoyable and relaxing

Lordelisa Arago
.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChubblyPuertoGalera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

I don't understand these great reviews.

The room was tiny. The walls were thin. I could hear the people in the next room walking about and their TV even though it wasn't turned up too loud. This was not a private lovely hideaway.

The LCD TV was high up on the corner of the wall, so hard to see the picture and didn't even have all the freeview channels.

It was Feb so we were stuck inside as it was raining outside all the time. The pool table was ripped, the pool was half very shallow and half quite deep but it made swimming lengths hard as the shallow was very very shallow. The changing rooms didn't have a shower and you had to walk outside to get from the hotel to the pool (not great when wet from swimming to walk through wind and rain).

The snooker room was freezing (and £5 for just over an hour, a bit much) and was again outside.

The fitness centre was a joke, a few bits of rubbish old light weight equipment. I have a better cross trainer at home.

When you enter the hotel, it smells of a pub.

The people were ok but this is not a great place for a couple

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WebbyWebWeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surrey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

we stayed at the wight montrene for a weekend break to celebrate our parents golden wedding anniversary there were 13 of us in total age range from 11 to 73 including two 18 year olds. The facilities were brilliant for everyone, snooker room, games room and the wonderful pool, steam and sauna. Food was very good and an excellent choice on the breakfast and evening meal menu. Staff all very helpful and polite and we were made to feel very welcome.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lizzie080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HOME
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 February 2010

We stayed at the hotel over the new year period and we surprised at the lack of numbers staying, their loss our gain. All the staff were very friendly and it was more like staying with family than at a hotel. Free cocktails on the first night was very unexpected. Value for money was eccellent. /We look forward to returning in 2010.
Mags & Keith

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19361949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
5.1 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
833 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#4 of 29 in Sandown
418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 29 in Sandown
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Luccombe Manor Country House Hotel
0.5 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,239 reviews
2.6 mi away
Luccombe Hall Hotel
Luccombe Hall Hotel
#7 of 52 in Shanklin
837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wight? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wight

Property: The Wight
Address: Avenue Road, Sandown PO36 8BN, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Sandown
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wight 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 2 star RAC & ETC hotel for a holiday out of the ordinary – whatever the weather! Set in its own grounds just 100 yards from the sea. 41 comfortable ensuite bedrooms, all with TV, hospitality tray and hair-dryer. Outstanding food. Large bar, entertainment several nights each week, superb indoor pool with jacuzzi, games room, dedicated snooker room, trimnasium, large car park - the list goes on and on. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wight reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wight Montrene Sandown
Hotel Wight Montrene
The Wight Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing