We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Montpelier

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Montpelier
Ranked #14 of 30 Sandown B&B and Inns
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2012

Once again we had a lovely stay at The Montpelier. Sandown has a lovely beach for strolling on in the Autumn months as well as for sunbathing in the summer. The bus stop is located just round the corner and handy for visiting other parts of the island. Theres a Sunday market in the High Street, the Zoo is a short walk away and Dinosaur Isle too. We shall definitely be going back there.

Room Tip: All the rooms are good. Theres a fridge in every room, the owner even provides a bottle of milk as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Mickntwink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    11
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
12
16
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

A warm welcome, the room was comfortable, especially the bed!!! Everything needed was in the room already, even down to a jug of fresh milk in the fridge. Plenty of tea & coffee as well as shower gel & soap. The shower room was exceptionally clean and fresh as were the towels. But the real bonus was the fantastic view looking over the pier and beach, Will stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banbury
Level Contributor
65 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2012

Warm welcome, clean & tidy if a bit in need of TLC. Decor dated and in need of attention, but overall would stay again. Barnabys restaurant for breakfast handy and accomodating with friendly staff. Cant cook poaced or scrambled eggs, bacon undercooked swimming in baked beans and tasteless tomatoes. Tea was good though. Would willingly pay more for a decent full English breakfast.

Parking a nightmare at weekends in high season.

Room Tip: Front facing rooms have the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 646Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

we stayed for 1 night at short notice, the owner was very friendly and made us fell welcome, the family room was very big which is nice when you have children with you, there was plenty of tea and coffee and the breakfast was very good, we will stay here next time we have a break on the island.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurajane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I have just sent 3 days here in a very comfortable single room with pretty sea views.
As much tea and coffee as you want to drink, a comfortable bed and a fridge to put
snacks and cold drinks in and an efficient shower with plenty of hot water.

Very laid back and extremely reasonable. I chose the no-breakfast tariff but for a few pounds more you can eat a wonderful breakfast across the road. The owner gave me a front door key so I could come and go as I pleased. The weather was not good but i had a TV in my room.

I would recommend The Montpelier very highly especially if you are not wanting a regimented stuffy hotel with prices to match.

Jan

Room Tip: As for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janisamiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights. We met Steve and found him to be most helpful with any questions we had. There was plenty of tea and coffee in the room for our use. We had a card given to us for each morning to have breakfast in Bellamy's restaurant opposite the Montpelier for which there was a reasonable choice, I would recommend this place to everyone.
The only downside to this is there is no parking for the hotel. But please don't let this put you off.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBrez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speyer, Germany
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

We were very content and stayed 4 nights instead of 3. We booked by chance via tourist info on the homepage of the isle of wight and found this b&b very close to the seaside. We had a lovely morning view to Sandown pier and beach during breakfast at barnabys just opposite of montpelier which is also a very friendly place to start for the day. Montpelier is a neet and quiet place to sleep, with tidy bathroom and a refrigerator of your own to keep food and beverage fresh during your stay. Very friendly hosts

Room Tip: new carpet in April 2012 in serveral rooms, ask for a room overlooking the seaside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.1 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.0 mi away
Royal Pier Hotel
Royal Pier Hotel
#13 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
0.1 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Montpelier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Montpelier

Property: The Montpelier
Address: 5 Pier Street, Sandown PO36 8JR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montpelier is situated in one of the finest positions in Sandown directly opposite the glorious sandy beach and pier and around the corner from the High St. We offer B&B, room only and ferry inclusive packages. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Montpelier Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing