We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
30
12
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
30
12
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spotlessly clean room wonderful stay steve montpellier comfort
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2010

This hotel is close to the beach and the main street. The rooms are comfortable and clean. Loved the family sized fridge and the generous supply of tea and coffee.
Informal and relaxed atmosphere. Didn't see much of the owners but that suits me fine.
Second visit and I'll definitely be returning next year. Don't let the cobwebs put you off (previous review). This hotel is NOT dirty.
The restaurant just across the road provides a fabulous all day breakfast so you can get up as early or late as you like. Or you can have breakfast for lunch. What a great idea.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jacrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2010

The Montpelier Hotel is the worst B&B I have ever seen. The room itself could use a new coat of paint, there were cobwebs on the light fixtures, and brownish drip marks on the baseboards and below the windows. The room was damp, windows dripping with condensation and the bed even felt slightly damp. The bed was the absolute deal breaker. The bedding was made of some sort of polyester that made plastic scrunching sounds when you sat on it-- The mattress was so soft and spongy it didn't feel like a mattress, laying on the bed caused both my head and feet to lay below my waist (like laying on a soft egg). It makes my landlord's £100 Argos mattress feel deluxe! The only positive: The bathroom was clean and the location is excellent. The proprietor was not especially friendly, was unapologetic about the bed and we were charged for two nights after we literally walked in the room, walked out and found another hotel down the road because we had booked in advance and he claimed to be unable to re-rent the room. There are many other places to stay in Sandown, and unless this place is seriously upgraded, I would not advise staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank markasaurus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theghostUK, Owner at The Montpelier, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2010

The only thing the customer asked for was sea views which is what they got, they didn't specify on booking that they wanted hard beds. All our beds are comfortable as many of our guests have told us and written in the guest book in the hall. The guest was offered another room with a harder bed but no sea views as the guests in that room had just arrived and would have liked sea views, the guest the told me they had booked in elsewhere and didn't want the other room anyway. They have added a photo of a light fitting claiming there was a cobweb, nothing was found and a photo of the crumpled bed which they had obviously used before vacating the room so the room had to be recleaned. As with any booking given time we try to fill the room and if we can we will make a refund but this was on the day and we couldn't let it. At any time there is always someone staying here that has stayed before so we must be doing something right, just not to this guests satisfaction.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2008

We stayed at the Montpelier in July, Steve & jan were great and could not help us enough, we even had a great night across the road in a bar where Steve was doing a disco, great DJ great evening Thanks.
when the front doors were opened on our arrival we were amazed at the entrance hall, the room was clean and spacious and as their website said " plenty of wardrobe space" we had plenty of milk and coffee, not like other places we've stayed where you get 2 and have to buy the rest and we had great views out to sea and as stated it is just across the road from the beach.
we will definately be returning next year.
It's only a 3 star but 5 star treatment, well recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyCdover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2007

A group of us booked the family room and it was really nice and lovely!!!! The rooms are clean and comfortable, and it is located at a very central location, so you can easily walk down to the beach or do a little bit of shopping at the high street. We were really pleasantly surprised!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank group4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2007

Have stayed here many times, sometimes 3 or more times a year, always found the hotel spotlessly clean and comfortable.
Steve & Jan are lovely people and always make us welcome.
Have recommended this hotel to lots of friends and family, all have been very pleased with their holiday experience.
Sandown is a very nice place to stay with entertainment to satisfy all tastes and pockets. The Isle Of Wight has plenty to see and do
and this Hotel is an excellent base for any holiday, can't wait to return in 2007 for more fun and relaxation.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnnyBoyAshfordKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews