We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandhill Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandhill Hotel
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Cornwall
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

We stayed for two really comfortable days, Kathy and Steve were really accomadating and gave us a warm welcome, the breakfasts were ample and cooked fresh, our room was spacious and clean, we would recommend a stay at this hotel, and we will return again some day.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RX4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    9
    2
    3
    7
See reviews for
20
10
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2009

I found the owners/staff to be friendly and very helpful. Being a visitor from the United States I was greeted with warmth and felt that I was an honored guest. The room was clean, cleaned daily and comfortable.
The attention afforded the guests went beyond the "Hilton/Holiday Inn" mentality. The food served was of a high quality, and the service provided was above reproach. I woulod recommend this Hotel to any visitor to the Isle of Wight, The Sandhill Hotel is the kind of Hotel that will make any vacation a pleasure.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellingOn064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2008

We stayed at the Sandhill for 3 nights end of August and it was lovely. Family room was on top floor (with sea view) ample room with tv, tea tray, towels etc. Great people running the place, really friendly and interested in making sure you have a good stay. Breakfast was best ever lots of choice kept us full all day. All in all nothing bad to say, will definately visit again.

  • Liked — location, friendliness of owners
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank aras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2007

You generally get what you pay for. This hotel falls into that category. From the outside the hotel seems very nice, and Kathy who greeted us was very friendly. On the inside it is kept very clean and tidy, and any enquiries are answered swiftly and politely.

Breakfast portions were ample with a large choice. The bed was very comfortable, although the room itself seemed a bit on the small side.

For us it was somewhere to lay our heads at night and that's all. It is easy walking distance to the beach, towncentre and train station.

  • Liked — Kept clean, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Room size
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ng1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newmarket, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2007

My stay at the sandhill hotel was certainly a pleasant one.

It was clean tidy and friendly, I would say this must be what the new owners have brought after reading some older reviews.

Everything you would expect for the price, and well worth a visit.

Recomended.

  • Liked — Friendlyness
  • Disliked — nothing really
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Haydn210585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2006

The hotel is good, clean, the staff are really friendly and helpful. The service could not be faulted, whatever we requested was done with minimum fuss and a smile.

Overall I would say this is a really good hotel if you are looking for a clean, friendly, sensibly priced hotel. The ensuite room was clean as was the shower room. The room was cleaned daily whilst i was there.

I stayed at Sandhill for 4 days with my family and I found Trevor & Jayne really friendly and approachable from the moment we arrived to the time when we left.

The breakfast was good. The portions were good enough to give you a good start to the day.

Would definitely recommend if your looking for a place that ticks all the right boxes, thus leaving you free to make the more important decisions that you should face whilst on holiday, like where to go and what to see etc.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Izzyun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
staffordshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2006

When we arrived at the Sandhill we were greeted with 'you're early arent you' in an agressive manner which rang alarm bells. Then we had to pay before we even saw the room.

It went downhill from then really!

An ensuite double room - room 17 - consisted of a double bed, 2 dirty bedside cabinets, a set of drawers in white melamime with broken handles and a rickety white wardrobe.

The ensuite was the size of a shoebox with a tiny shower complete with mildew shower curtain, sink and toilet. oh and 2 pink bath mats on top of each other. The toiletries were a sachet of shapoo and a tiny bar of soap. 2 small towels each.

There was a tea tray with 2 mugs and a tea towel.

Nowhere to sit except the bed.

The hotel stank continually of vinigar, which I presumme they used for cleaning. Cleaning what I dont know as the tea stain on the bedside table was there for the 5 days we were.

The carpet was covered in bits and not hoovered once and since you had to use the floor to iron something ?????

Breakfast was ok but served by a foreign waitress who was very nice, and the miserable owner who just scowled at you. Evening meals should have been available but not offered. Breakfast was mainly listening to the few guests complaining about their rooms.

The bar which looked nice with seating in a conservatory type thing was never opened, infact you didnt see the owners from breakfast to breakfast.

When we asked for a receipt as we had paid cash but they still had our card details they got really funny and you could hear him moaning about it in the office in a very load voice.

I didnt complain at the time as my OH doesnt like confrontation but I emailed a complaint to say that the hotel wasnt to the standard we expected from 4 diamonds and I received 3 very nasty emails back calling us filth, scum and similar type words, which I am sending on to the IOW tourist board.

This hotel has 20 odd rooms and is supposedly a 4 diamond rating. The rooms and the hosts are atrocious and I would never return to this hotel nor recommend it to anyody.

Helpful?
6 Thank hilary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.2 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.2 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Channel View Hotel
Channel View Hotel
#24 of 31 in Sandown
3.0 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandhill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandhill Hotel

Property: Sandhill Hotel
Address: 6 Hill Street, Sandown PO36 9DB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandhill Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Sandhill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandhill Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing