We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good for a 3 star”
Review of Parkbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkbury Hotel
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Just had a lovely short break at this hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was very clean and reasonably spacious and the bed was comfortable. The food was quite good although sometimes only just warm. All round a good hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Many thanks for your recent review

It was pleasing to read your review. I will pass on your comments to my general manager and team who will be also pleased to read your coments.

Once again many thanks

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

206 - 212 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2013

just back from singles holiday at ParkburyHotel so much history there / what a lovely time we had and the staff were just wonderful so helpful and friendly what fun we had , my room was lovely and so warm and hot water in my lovely bath , cant wait to go back again hope everyone else on the trip enjoyed it as much as me thank you allxx

Room Tip: speak to staff very helpful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jasmin797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Thank you very much for your recent review of your stay at the Parkbury Hotel, Sandown.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Joanne and her team who will be pleased to read them.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

i stayed at this hotel with a coach trip, on arrival the staff couldnt have been more welcoming. i had what was classed as a double room but it was very small. and very hot the radiator was broken and when i tried to change it. it leaked. so in feb i had to have the window wide open . there were hairs all over the headboard.and no hot water. when reporting this was told the water would be on by the end of the day...which it was.but the trickle that came out of the shower it was hardly worth it.. my radiator was also fixed but in a way that i had no heating at all.also after the second day ther seem to be a musty smell.on a good note if you were only looking for good food then this is the hotel for you.i couldnt fault any of the five dinners i had ,all through my stay the staff were freindly but i felt i couldnt spend all my time complaing.i hope this report helps

Room Tip: i heard the rooms on the ground floor were better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank maggoo94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew P, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2013

Thank you for your recent review.

I was sorry to read of your problems during your recent stay at the Parkbury.

I understand from my manager that there were a few problems on the first day and these were soon rectified.

The hotel had been closed for a couple of months and during the week they were busy getting things organised and in some cases may have left it a little late, hence the shortage of hot water on arrival.

Please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience and I do hope you will stay with us again. Also thank you for the good comments on the food. I will pass these onto the head chef and team.

Once again many thanks

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

On arrival the young lass from Rugby was just lovely.Infact all the staff were very nice. But the hotel needs to be updated. Our room, very clean and warm. but dated. Breakfast could have been better. We had invited family to the hotel for drinks and a bar meal.When it came to ordering we were told the chef was not on duty...You could see that the hotel was a lovely property at one time, and the gardens had been well kept at one time. Once again Lovely staff shame about the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank carolnewcastle95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2012

Thank you for your constructive comments. We know we need to spend some money on the hotel to make improvements and we will be doing so this winter in our close down period.

We have some lovely staff there at the Parkbury and want to give them a product ti be proud of and we will. It was a shame about the chef but because we were only operating on a bed and breakfast basis that week it was more sensible to give the chef the time off.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The hotel staff could not have done more to make my stay more enjoyable. The hotel was warm, clean and comfortable. The food served was very good. My room was very clean. Good entertainment. Would defently return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2012

Thank you for your kind comments.

I will pass these on to Asia and her team.

Once again many thanks

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

A friendly helpful service, with excellent disabled access. Lovely and warm inside the rooms and also at the bar and in the communial lounges. Nice food, 4 courses well worth the money.Free Digital tv in the room as well as the use of Wifi. and also room service everyday with clean towels and bedding. Would happily visit again. It was also mentioned to me that redecortaion will commence in the new year as staff agreed that parts of the hotel were a bit outdated.
Thanks Joannna for cheering us up with the bingo!! and it was a nice touch that all the staff in the hotel came out as our coach left to say goodbye.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graeme S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Many thanks for your kind comments.

I will pass these on to my manager and her team they will be pleased with your comments.

Once again, many thanks.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

I recently stayed at the parkbury as part of a weekend coach trip. The hotel staff were very helpful & nothing was to much trouble for them. The rooms were clean & tidy & food was enjoyable. I would certainly stay there again

Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
6  Thank Russell W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewNorfolk, Hotel Group Operations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2012

Dear Mr Ward

Many thanks for your recent comments and I was pleased to read you had enjoyed your stay at the Parkbury Hotel. I will of course pass on your comments to the management and team who I am sure will be more than please to read your positive feedback.

Once again , many thanks.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
747 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#9 of 29 in Sandown
455 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
5 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
926 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkbury Hotel

Address: 29/31 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: £47 - £71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkbury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Parkbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkbury Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing