We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceed my expectation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Parkbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkbury Hotel
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceed my expectation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I spent 4 nights with my husband in parkbury hotel in March 2014 and it is really amazing we got surprised with the location , the cleanliness , the Sauna & the WI FI as nothing of these were mentioned on Booking .com or even tripadvisor , but it is totally the opposite , there are very bad reviews here, very bad pictures , although we took the risk and booked as we need the room only for sleep at night , we normally spend all day out and we do have our internet on phones.
But really we got surprised with the strong WI FI , with the sauna which we used & it is really good
and to be fair enough , the room was not that perfect & not that clean , it is a simple room with simple toilet , i can rate clean 70% , in the 5 days the sheet and the towels were the same , that was a bit odd , but when we asked they said we dont change sheet every day & if you put the towel in the bath we would take it otherwise we dont.
But that was not a big deal for us because the sheet was clean anyway & we used our towel from home .
Need to mention that the lovely Joanna is an amazing person who tries her best to make the hotel the best :)
Also i will post pictures to see how it is a good hotel , bit vintage , and will leave review on booking.com which is now 7.5 rating
The hotel is 10 min walk to the beach & the pier , and the good restaurants on the beach like the reef & the legend .
Also 15 min to go to the zoo & Dinosaur isle .
My favorite attraction were the Osborn house , the needles , the beach on Ventnor , the glass factories , the old village , Bembridge windmill and of course the sand beaches
If you just walk in the isle of wight streets , i think you will feel happy.
My best restaurant was Lobester & crab Inn in Bembridge you should try it.
I only can say that the bed was not that comfortable , and the shower water is very wick.

Room Tip: the one with a garden view in the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DinaDika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at The Parkbury.

I am very pleased to learn that we exceeded your expectations.

We do value your feedback and your comments regarding the room have been duly noted and we will address these points with Joanna the Hotel General Manager to improve.

We are currently in the process of updating our Booking.com site and following your comments we will ensure we sell ourselves better!

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your review of our property and we hope to be able to welcome you back to our Hotel in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    76
    39
    24
    31
See reviews for
42
93
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Admittedly, I was a little apprehensive about staying here, as the prices are considerably cheaper than their competitors, 'Fawlty Towers' Experience sprung to mind.....not in the least, 'Faultless Towers' more like. Very impressed with the whole experience. It's a beautiful old building, based on the interior of a ship, the wood is absolutely beautiful. Our room was a very clean large double room, with an equally clean bathroom, beautiful crisp clean sheets every day, with fresh towels, with french doors leading on to a balcony. If I had any gripes, it would be that the mattress could do with replacing, think the springs had well and truly sprung, but for three nights, very bareable, and the shower could do with being connected to a bracket above the bath, rather than a hand held one, but again, a minor gripe, although water was very warm and plentiful with a good flow. As for the staff....FABULOUS!!! Joanna was the General Manager and nothing was too much trouble, I found the first night a little chilly, being a large old room, although heaters were working fine, when mentioning this to Joanna, she hot footed it up stairs behind us with a portable heater which did the trick, and again, whilst having breakfast the first morning,I asked if they had Mint tea, Joanna was very apologetic that they didn't have any, but assured me she would have some for tomorrow breakfast....and true to her word, she did, there it was waiting for me....Very Impressed! In fact, all the staff were very helpful and a pleasure to talk too..... Breakfast was more than adequate, with a choice of Yoghurt, fruit and cereals, fruit juice a'plenty, then a choice of cooked breakfasts and plenty of toast, absolutely delicious.....I think the only potential problem could be the lack of enough parking spaces if you arrive back late at night, we did squeeze in a couple of nights, but again, staff were very helpful.... I Really don't know how most other places on the IOW can get away with charging so much a night, if the Parkbury can do it, and do it well, then maybe other establishments should take a leaf out of the Parkbury's book!!.Overall, a very pleasant lovely experience staying in a very pleasant lovely hotel! Thank you.

Room Tip: I only know we had room 11, which had a balcony, great if you're a smoker, like my partner, so m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nightstarmanchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Thank you for your review following your stay at our Hotel.

I am delighted to learn that you were pleasantly surprised with our property and that our team provided good levels of hospitality.

Our staff do work hard to provide good customer service and it’s very pleasing to receive such favourable comments. The team will be very pleased to read your review.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Parkbury in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Just returned from Christmas break at the Parkbury. Hotel is owned by travel company "Grand UK" who ran the tour we were on,
Layout of hotel is a little odd, originally being two large houses, now linked by a common area used as a bar and entertainment area
Service and all services were excellent, as were all meals. At least three choices of all courses.
Staff were always very helpful and friendly, the young manageress obviously ran a tight ship.
The ship comparison is appropriate as the the paneling in the hotel came from the liner "Aquitainia" and marine references abound.

Room Tip: Hotel in only on two floors, no lift, so ground floor is you have mobitly problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank exnomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Thank you for your very kind review of your stay with us recently.

I was extremely pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to manager and her team who I know will appreciate the feedback. Your comments certainly reflect what we strive to achieve so thank you again.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Staines, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Just returned from a weekend break staying at this hotel and had a lovely time. The hotel was clean and inviting , we had two rooms close together which we had requested both were lovely.
all staff were friendly from the reception area to the waitress at breakfast. Have no complaints at all infact looking to repeat my stay next year!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to provide us with your feedback, following your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to the manager and her team who will be pleased to read them.

We pride ourselves on the level of service provided and your comments are certainly reflective of this.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2013

What a pleasant surprise to have an inexpensive holiday with a great welcome, staff that were always willing to please and a room that was comfortable, clean and recently decorated. Joanna was, I believe, in charge and hardworking to ensure that our stay, with good food, was to our liking. I hope to return again one day.

Room Tip: I had room 17 .
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roy593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, 31 October 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us.

I was pleased to read your positive comments and have passed these on to Joanne and her team as I know how much these are appreciated.

We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.

With Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dereham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Having read some earlier reviews of this hotel, one of The Grand UK group, cannot fault it. Met by staff and all luggage taken to rooms. Big contrast with much more expensive hotel recently on Isle Of Man where we struggled up steep steps with no staff in sight! Bedrooms more than adequate and food and service excellent. Budget holiday this may be but could not better hotel

Room Tip: Ask to overlook outdoor pool. Light, airy and quiet. Be warned there is no lift so choose ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, 24 October 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay the Parkbury

Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramsey, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

travelled with sunrise, who own grand hotels uk i think.one of the best holidays i have had. hotel spotless,the food was the best i have tasted for a long time,that includes breakfast and four course evening meal,staff very helpful,nothing was too much trouble,just ask and they did it. as i read in previous review about entertainment brian martin(ex black and white minstrel) brilliant,andrew van day rubbish. hotel located well for local ameneties.would definately go again.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank redders17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback. It is nice to get complementary comments along with the constructive comments and it was pleasing to read you had enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkbury Hotel

Property: Parkbury Hotel
Address: 29/31 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkbury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Priceline, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Parkbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkbury Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing