We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bearable”
Review of Parkbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parkbury Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Reviewed 20 August 2014

What I liked

Friendly staff (mostly Polish).
Clean room
Proximity to esplanade and town center

What I didn't like

Outdated furniture and mattress
Mattress was absolutely diabolical! Do not plan on getting a good night's sleep! I woke up three or four different times due to the springs jabbing me in the back!
The prices are a little steep for the outdated rooms.
Upon arrival, you are given a skeleton key for your room. If you leave the hotel, you MUST leave your key at the front desk. The only thing I didn't like, was at night, the keys were left unattended on the rack. Or placed in open view on the receptionist's desk for anyone to help themselves to.
The place feels like a retirement home. The walls are paper thin! You can hear the stairs and walls creaking along with random fire doors slamming shut when anyone walks through them.

I went in with the open mindset of thinking its just somewhere to lay our heads down after exploring the island. The mattress in room 15 will haunt me for some time! If you have high hopes and expectations, I advise you leave them in the lobby!

Room Tip: Pray that you do not get room 15! The mattress in there will leave you feeling like a cripple! It wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JaymanUK1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

Have just returned from a coach trip to the Isle of Wight,where we stayed at the Parkbury. Having read some of the reviews before I went,I was somewhat worried as to what I might encounter.However I was pleasantly surprised, the hotel although old seemed well maintained, with very nice decor.The staff could not have been more friendly.They served the meals with speed and always with a smile.The choice of food was good,well cooked and generous portions.The choice for dinner was selected at Breakfast, and this sped things considerably as there were over 40 in our group.Our twin room was large, comfortable with nice flat screen television, and the en-suite had very good walk in shower. Very good value packed lunch on departure. Have no worries if you are booked in here. There is also free wi fi in the reception area

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bridgeman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Last minute booking. Hotel decor and furnishing a bit reminiscent of a care home! But staff were friendly and helpful. Swimming pool out of action. Good breakfast. Room clean and comfy. Location convenient for town and beach.
Good value at last minute booking price.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank jacrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Before we arrived I requested a room with park view and newver got an answer back.

Anyway, we checked in and we found out that the the en suite bathroom has a bath with no hose for shower, so I kindly go to the reception to ask if we could have a room with a shower or with at least a hose to clean our hair.
The receptionist offered us a twin, with 2 separate beds but on the side of the building which was boiling, so we decided to stick with that one, after she gave us a removable plastic hose, which we had to hold with a rubber band, and was leaking and getting hot, so we had to take showers on turns, with one holding the ose for the other one and with the hot tap getting so boiling to burn ourselves.
The morning after we asked if we could change room as it was impossible with that hose to take a proper shower and we were told to come back in the afternoon and change to another room.
Guess what?When we got back there was no room for us and we got offered by a really rude trainee reception staff that we could use the shower in the sauna room downstairs...I got so upset, imagine you pay for an ensuite that you cannot use and we were late for the dinner becuase we had to go down and wait for each other and walk in the towel around the hotel...
The morning after the receptionist, I think from eastern europe, came to give us another room really early in the morning as she felt bad about offering a room the day before that was not there for us anymore...
She was really nice and showed us great customer service, offering us a nice room with park view and a refund for the night we couldn't use the en suite.

Generally, the place is really nice, good located and clean, but there is some good maintenance to do with tha water, hot and cold and either showers and baths as it was really a husstle to take a shower in the other room too as the water temperature keeps changing when the hose was moving...weird...

In the rate we paid, breakfast was not included so we don't know about the breakfast service too.

Also, there is a really nice swimming pool at the back of the building which is kept closed, and it's a real shame for the facility itself, we do belive because the maintenance of the place is really poor, also the balcony we had in the lst room probably nobody goeas to clean or check them and the grass in the garden at the front is not maintained well too.

WiFi not available in the rooms, not even in the reception area.

Such a shame for a nice place like that one!!!
Overall it was ok, we really appreciated the girl who apologized to us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with shower and garden view. NO BATH, is the worse!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Virgy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Rooms comfortable and staff really friendly and helpful. Great place to stay. My sister had her wedding reception here and it was perfect. Highly recommend his Hotel for a wedding reception or for a holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank tracey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

We stayed here when our daughter got married and it was perfect. The staff were friendly and did everything they could despite being very busy. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast in the morning was freshly cooked and delicious.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lisa9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We've stayed at many hotels over the years after spending so much time travelling and we have to say that The Parkbury Hotel gets a 5***** rating from us. Firstly it's conveniently situated near the town and beach and has adequate parking either inside or along the outside of the hotel. The rooms have everything that you need. A TV & decent bath/shower even an alarm clock. The bathroom shower works with plenty of hot water and the beds are comfy too. The breakfast is delicious and has a great menu catering for most tastes from a delicious cooked breakfast to cereals & fruits. We've always left feeling full and ready to start the day. The gardens at the front of the hotel are lovely where you can unwind and enjoy a drink. They also have dedicated areas for wifi so you can keep up with your emails etc. But the most important comment about The Parkbury Hotel is the warm welcoming and excellent service that you get from the staff. From the moment you arrive till you leave they look after you and nothing is too much trouble. We have stayed at this hotel extensively while we are on a property search and wouldn't dream of looking anywhere else. The manager Joanna and staff run a very tight ship and are always at hand to help with any of your needs. We are not the easiest people to please and The Parkbury Hotel ticks all our boxes. We cannot wait till our next trip :) Barbara, Geoff and Karen.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
448 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#23 of 29 in Sandown
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tarvic 2 Hotel
Tarvic 2 Hotel
#17 of 29 in Sandown
252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#6 of 29 in Sandown
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkbury Hotel

Address: 29/31 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range: £39 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkbury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, LateRooms and Hotels.com so you can book your Parkbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkbury Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing