We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good deal”
Review of Parkbury Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Parkbury Hotel
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good deal”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

we were very impressed with the hotel.The staff were very helpful ,The bedroom was very clean, and comfortable,The shower excellent water hot,,The sitting areas are very nice and well kept,
Breakfast very good lots of choices,,Very enjoyable few days

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wendy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    77
    41
    27
    31
See reviews for
42
96
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sutton-in-ashfield
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Had a bit of a problem finding the hotel as the sign had been taken down for repair. First impression was "quirky", amazing wood panelling and a strong nautical theme from a bye-gone age. Room was very clean, furniture was matching, bed very comfortable and the shower brilliant. Breakfast was more than plentiful, set us up for well into the afternoon. Loved the dining rooms & lounges, high ceilings with lovely ornate carvings. I've saved the staff till last, they are lovely. Always smiling, even when under pressure, special mention to Sarah who seemed to be there 24/7. Does she ever sleep? This was our first trip to the I.O.W, it won't be our last, and yes, we would try for the Parkbury again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ellie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to leave your positive feedback it was pleasing to read that overall you enjoyed your stay. We certainly hope you will be back to stay with us again at some point in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

What I liked

Friendly staff (mostly Polish).
Clean room
Proximity to esplanade and town center

What I didn't like

Outdated furniture and mattress
Mattress was absolutely diabolical! Do not plan on getting a good night's sleep! I woke up three or four different times due to the springs jabbing me in the back!
The prices are a little steep for the outdated rooms.
Upon arrival, you are given a skeleton key for your room. If you leave the hotel, you MUST leave your key at the front desk. The only thing I didn't like, was at night, the keys were left unattended on the rack. Or placed in open view on the receptionist's desk for anyone to help themselves to.
The place feels like a retirement home. The walls are paper thin! You can hear the stairs and walls creaking along with random fire doors slamming shut when anyone walks through them.

I went in with the open mindset of thinking its just somewhere to lay our heads down after exploring the island. The mattress in room 15 will haunt me for some time! If you have high hopes and expectations, I advise you leave them in the lobby!

Room Tip: Pray that you do not get room 15! The mattress in there will leave you feeling like a cripple! It wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JaymanUK1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Sandown hotels

Cromer, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Have just returned from a coach trip to the Isle of Wight,where we stayed at the Parkbury. Having read some of the reviews before I went,I was somewhat worried as to what I might encounter.However I was pleasantly surprised, the hotel although old seemed well maintained, with very nice decor.The staff could not have been more friendly.They served the meals with speed and always with a smile.The choice of food was good,well cooked and generous portions.The choice for dinner was selected at Breakfast, and this sped things considerably as there were over 40 in our group.Our twin room was large, comfortable with nice flat screen television, and the en-suite had very good walk in shower. Very good value packed lunch on departure. Have no worries if you are booked in here. There is also free wi fi in the reception area

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgeman14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Last minute booking. Hotel decor and furnishing a bit reminiscent of a care home! But staff were friendly and helpful. Swimming pool out of action. Good breakfast. Room clean and comfy. Location convenient for town and beach.
Good value at last minute booking price.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank jacrut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Before we arrived I requested a room with park view and newver got an answer back.

Anyway, we checked in and we found out that the the en suite bathroom has a bath with no hose for shower, so I kindly go to the reception to ask if we could have a room with a shower or with at least a hose to clean our hair.
The receptionist offered us a twin, with 2 separate beds but on the side of the building which was boiling, so we decided to stick with that one, after she gave us a removable plastic hose, which we had to hold with a rubber band, and was leaking and getting hot, so we had to take showers on turns, with one holding the ose for the other one and with the hot tap getting so boiling to burn ourselves.
The morning after we asked if we could change room as it was impossible with that hose to take a proper shower and we were told to come back in the afternoon and change to another room.
Guess what?When we got back there was no room for us and we got offered by a really rude trainee reception staff that we could use the shower in the sauna room downstairs...I got so upset, imagine you pay for an ensuite that you cannot use and we were late for the dinner becuase we had to go down and wait for each other and walk in the towel around the hotel...
The morning after the receptionist, I think from eastern europe, came to give us another room really early in the morning as she felt bad about offering a room the day before that was not there for us anymore...
She was really nice and showed us great customer service, offering us a nice room with park view and a refund for the night we couldn't use the en suite.

Generally, the place is really nice, good located and clean, but there is some good maintenance to do with tha water, hot and cold and either showers and baths as it was really a husstle to take a shower in the other room too as the water temperature keeps changing when the hose was moving...weird...

In the rate we paid, breakfast was not included so we don't know about the breakfast service too.

Also, there is a really nice swimming pool at the back of the building which is kept closed, and it's a real shame for the facility itself, we do belive because the maintenance of the place is really poor, also the balcony we had in the lst room probably nobody goeas to clean or check them and the grass in the garden at the front is not maintained well too.

WiFi not available in the rooms, not even in the reception area.

Such a shame for a nice place like that one!!!
Overall it was ok, we really appreciated the girl who apologized to us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with shower and garden view. NO BATH, is the worse!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Virgy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Rooms comfortable and staff really friendly and helpful. Great place to stay. My sister had her wedding reception here and it was perfect. Highly recommend his Hotel for a wedding reception or for a holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracey p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma A, Guest Relations Manager at Parkbury Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

We read all our reviews and take any negative feedback very seriously and try to resolve any issues swiftly.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.4 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
745 reviews
0.3 mi away
Wight Bay Hotel
Wight Bay Hotel
#5 of 29 in Sandown
307 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,222 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkbury Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkbury Hotel

Property: Parkbury Hotel
Address: 29/31 Broadway, Sandown PO36 9BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Parkbury Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Parkbury Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parkbury Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing