We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“will be back”
Review of The Ocean Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ocean Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2011

3rd time here food excellent, room clean and very very comfortable, nothing to much trouble for staff and they were very friendly most othe staff have been there since i went 3yrs ago some have been there longer so shows a good place to work

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ladrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (303)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 303 reviews

Reviewed 14 July 2011

We went here on a spure of the moment and felt like we were at a care home!
Out of date, completely.
Old fassioned. Foriegn staff.
Shower/bath mixer didnt work. Crap food. Very old decor. Small room.
Very poor. Would never return to this place.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Johnsy64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2011

I went with a local tour company which normally books good standard hotels. a number of our group had been to this hotel before but were disappointed this time so i can only presume that it had been better in the past. the disappointment was with regard to the food. as one of my companions put it it was "appalling" and i could not disagree. if the number of people who said they would complain on the feedback sheet did so then hopefully something would be done.

some of it was completely inedible but you did not like to complain to the waiting staff because they were so brilliant and it was not their fault. other things were disappointing like the Summer Pudding which was made with TINNED fruit cocktail at the height of summer! the next day my companion had Strawberry trifle - made with the same tinned fruit cocktail with a couple of tinned strawberries thrown in presumably to cover the Trades Descriptions Act! the breakfasts were dried up and hard, one would not be blamed for thinking they had been cooked the night before and reheated in the morning. i also had a jacket potatoe which must have been standing around cooked for at least a day and then reheated. a number of evenings i saw if not the chef himself then a member of the kitchen staff leave the dining room with a plate of salad for himself. one could not blame him because that was the most edible item on the menu if basic and unimaginative.

the comments i have read have on the whole come from people you had the best rooms but alot of them (mine included) were on the front facing the High Street and if you wanted to sleep at all you had to have the window tightly closed which made for very stuffy sleeping conditions in the summer.

the hotel is perfectly located leading directly to both the High Street and the local shops on the front and the beach at the rear.

i love the Isle of Wight and want to go back but it will not be to The Ocean Hotel unless i hear that the food has drastically improved.

Room Tip: make sure you ask for a room on the beach side
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RosieO36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

My partner and I stayed at the Ocean Hotel in May 2011. The room was huge with a balcony overlooking the water. Beautifully decorated and clean. It was so great that my parents -who were staying at another hotel -wanted to switch hotels and will be booking the Ocean from now on!

We had the breakfast & dinner plan. Portions were reasonable but not excessive as some other places we'd seen. The food was good but could use a bit of improvement on the evening meals.

Overall, the stay was wonderful. Staff were very friendly, the building is perfectly situated in town, close to the bus stop, on the beach front. What more could you ask for?

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank doubleAtoronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2011

Very good communication from hotel staff when booking and it seems nothing is too much trouble for them. When we arrived at the hotel staff were smiling and happy - something you don't always get! Our overall impression with this hotel is it is very well run and staff were professional and efficient - especially in the restaurant. Very quick service. Our waiter Ben was brilliant - very professional and always willing to provide us with whatever we wanted. Food is acceptable for a British seaside hotel nothing fancy and some choices on the menu were very good - we never went hungry! The hotel decor is high and the sea views are simply wonderful - especially on sunny days - which we were lucky to have. The pool looked lovely (too early in April to be open though) and the grounds/gardens are very well kept. Our bedroom was wonderful with huge windows overlooking the sea...what more could you want? My parents room although sea facing was above the roof terrace and had a small Balcony but not as good a view as ours unfortunately.

Room Tip: Choose the 5th floor great views - there is a lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank allymcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

We have recently returned after a 4-night break at the Ocean Hotel in Sandown with a coach company. We requested a sea-view room – which we got (on the 5th floor!), and also requested a room near the lift – which we got! However, we were a little disappointed with the size of the room (there was rather a narrow space between the foot of the bed and the wall). It was acceptable because when you are on holiday only a little time is usually spent in the room, but we were jealous because of the size of some of the other double rooms we saw through open doors while cleaning was being carried out!

The Hotel, which has been family run since 1958, has 96 rooms on 4 of the 5 floors (the other floor is the Bar and Restaurant), and the Hotel appeared to be full as there were 4 coach-loads of guests plus some individual travellers. The lowest floor level (with easy ramp access from the Promenade and Car Park area) leads straight into the Bar and Restaurant area. The Reception Desk is on the third floor, which is also the access level from the High Street. There is a Lift which serves all the floors, although there are also stairs to access some of the bedrooms from the main floor levels.

The rooms, and in fact the whole of the Hotel, are kept clean – although some updating of the décor and carpeting is needed in a few areas. The first floor (Bar and Restaurant) and the second floor appear to have been upgraded with new carpets, etc so it may be that some refurbishment is in progress.

All the staff, from the cleaners to the Receptionists to the Waiters and Waitresses, were always courteous and helpful during our stay. Our Waiter in the Restaurant was very efficient, and always got our requests correct (there were 6 people sitting at our table) – and often remembered correctly our likes, dislikes, and preferences for tea or coffee after the meal!

The food is particularly noteworthy. There is a varied Dinner Menu catering for all tastes, and all the meals were well prepared and served. There is also ample choice on the Breakfast Menu. There were certainly no complaints from our group on the quality and quality of the food, or the level and speed of service provided.

I initially thought that the Hotel did not have a ‘Star’ rating as there is no mention of this outside the Hotel, on any literature, or on their website. I have since been assured by the Hotel that they have a ‘2 Star’ rating, although – in some respects – I think this deserves a higher rating. We can certainly recommend the Ocean Hotel as being excellent value for money, and will certainly stay there again in the future if we are in the area.

Room Tip: Request a large double sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank OllyLowestoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2011

my wife and i stayed here for four nights . We were pleased with all aspecte of our stay .
Clean comfortable room, friendly helpful staff.good food well presented.good entertainment every night .Will definatly recommend to out friends.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fredonePrestatyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandown hotels
0.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
746 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#11 of 29 in Sandown
450 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
787 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
1,275 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandown Hotel
Sandown Hotel
#22 of 29 in Sandown
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Hotel

Address: 38-40 High Street, Sandown PO36 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sandown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range: £118 - £118 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ocean Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Sandown
The Ocean Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing