We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ocean Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Marina Bay Hotel(Sandown)(Great Value!)
US$73
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sandown Hotel(Sandown)
US$90
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$105
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$93
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$136
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
The Wight(Sandown)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$120
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$78
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
Reviews (305)
Filter reviews
305 results
Traveller rating
158
102
26
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
102
26
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshigh streetsea viewgb toursisle of wightsea frontgrand hoteldining roomcoach triptable servicelovely hotelheated poolentertainment every nightour waiterlovely roomreception staffco opolder generation
Filter
Updating list...
269 - 274 of 305 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2011

Seaview view room was very small for a double, only one chair and a tiny TV and floor was really squeky when walking on it. However, it was clean and tidy and the staff were all friendly. Food was average, but choice limited to roast, a meat dish, a fish dish, a veggie dish or salad every evening....and don't attempt the porridge! Breakfast was served at the table and there was a good choice. The location was right on the beach and high street so handy for all of Sandown. The hotel had steps everywhere, the lift only serves the main part of the hotel, so we had 30 stairs over 4 flights to get to our room from reception, and the dining room was 2 floors lower than reception! We used the pool twice and with most the hotels clients being elderly it was nearly empty all the time, also clean sea water so no sore eyes! The room decoration could do with improvement as very dated and tatty, although the resturant and bar area were smart.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the seaview....also quieter than the high street side, State when booking if you can't climb stairs!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank Liz701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

Hi, nice hotel in prime beach location. A door exits onto the beach from the resturant. Also there is now FREE Wifi installed two doors before we arrived. It is only available in a room behind recpetion.

On by the large glass Windows see peope, surfing while you surf the internet.

Room Tip: Get high room on top floor at back. You can see nice seaviews from whole glass windows in corridor
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank TuxWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

most impressive:
- NICELY HEATHED outdoor swimming pool (and extra pool for small kids)
- nice kids' playroom
- snooker table / table tennis
- great location (shops, beach, bus, restaurants)

not so impressive:
- Wi-Fi reception did not reach all the way to our bedroom - annoying...
- breakfast times 8.00 - 9.30 am

least impressive:
- full english breakfast really not good

Room Tip: we had a great room (38), 5th floor, lovely ocean view
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emilyw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

I recently got back from a 2 night stay at The Ocean our party being 2 twenty somethings ( one of which is me writing this review) and a sixty something. Our room was a double room facing the sea which offered fantastic views, however, when it came to getting any sleep, this proved difficult, our room seemed to be above some sort of generator which made an awful droning noise all through the night. Which would not have been a problem if we were able to sleep with the windows closed but because the hotel maintained a constant heat of what felt like 40 degrees, we could not. Combine this with the noise of a group of teenagers on the beach shouting from midnight until 3am, I had no sleep at all! The outdoor swimming pool was heated to a comfortable heat and very lovely, surrounded by the beautiful gardens and the crashing of the waves from the sea behind, made an idyllic place to have a gentle swim. The showers in the bedrooms were not of a high standard and the water pressure very low. The breakfast was lovely and plenty of variety. The evening meals were from a set menu of 3 courses. The food was rather bland and tasteless and possibly had been sitting around on hot plates for sometime. No complaints to our waiter, Ben, who was lovely and very good at his job. The evening entertainment was not suitable for any of the families also staying at the hotel and the music very much geared toward the older guests, not leaving much of an atmosphere! The hotel itself felt in desperate need of a full refurbishment (if only to cover the awful nursing home smell!) Great location in Sandown though and a short stroll from the entertaining pier and to the high street. Although I love the Isle Of Wight, us 20 somethings shall not be returning to The Ocean Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank LeighG1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2011

If you want to fell like your Abroad, this is the Hotel for you

This Hotel was superb. The grounds made you feel like you was abroad, the Pool and Gardens were spotless, the Palms gave it a Tropical feel.

Our Room was lovely it overlooked the Pool and the Sea and you could quite easily feel as if you was in the Med.

In the day time it was lovely to relax around the clean pool area, and you could have reasonable priced lunches around the Pool and also enjoy a Beer or Two. The Staff was always Cleaning both inside and out, each evening and morning.

The evening Meals were of a very High standard and the Entertainment was Good and Hotel Bar was Clean and Great Service. The Hotel also owns the Kings Bar that was Next door and this again was a nice Clean Bar and on Sunny Days/Evening you could sit out on there Balcony and overlook Sandown Bay.

Along from the Hotel there was 4/5 Bar/Restaurants that had lovely decking outside where you can sit and overlook the Beach which made it feel as if you was Abroad each Day/Night. The food at these places looked really good also

NOW FOR TRAVEL

This is not to do with the Hotel BUT we travelled with Shearings from Kent. Our Pick-up time was 8.44am we had a nightmare journey to follow, We had to travel to the Interchange area which was London Gateway ( M25 Anti-Clockwise) and here we had to wait roughly 1hr 30mins for the Feeder Coaches, we then travelled from London Gateway to Portsmouth ( Back round the M25 Clockwise ), When we arrived at Portsmouth the Port was Busy, Once we got across we finally arrived at 7pm !!!!!!!

Return Journey started at 8.45am and we arrived back at 7pm !!!!!

Without any dealys the journey would still be 10hrs because of the Interchange area/feeder coaches

MY ADVICE

If your from the South East make your own way to this Brilliant Hotel, You could be there in less than 3hrs or if you wanted to travel with Shearings make own arrangements to get to Portsmouth and Join the Coach at Portsmouth so that you don't have the hassle of the Internchange ( London Gateway ) and Pick-up points because this adds atleast 4hrs to Journey time.

Room Tip: Sea View Room and If travelling from South East make own way there
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank RazzaMaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews