We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Past glamour is not enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Ocean Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sandown
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ocean Hotel
Ranked #4 of 31 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Past glamour is not enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2011

This hotel has a rather stayed appearance, just like it's customers. The room are clean and well maintained, but floors are creaking, wallpaper is peeling and TV is malfunctioning. Like ourselves, it has passed it's peak! Breakfast good but restricted to exactly what you ordered in the first palce with hardy any effords to replenish toast or coffee, hard working but rather incompetent waitresses and dinner presentation as well as taste is quite poor. Neightbouring restaurante are a better option. nevertheless it's seaside ocaton is splendid and with a it of TLC this place could be well reaching it's former glory.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank redsilence1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    88
    23
    13
    5
See reviews for
67
112
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
kettering
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

We stayed at The Ocean Hotel for the first time in may 2011. We were delighted with our bedroom which overlooked the sea ,it was a lovely room, very clean and tidied very day.... we had a balcony too which was lovely. the food was lovely and the service were good, everyone friendly and helpful.
we liked it so much we are going again next may too!

Room Tip: the sea view with balcony was outstanding. very nice and clean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank carlene b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk UK
Level Contributor
95 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2011

The Ocean Hotel is a clean 3 star hotel. We stayed for two nights in a room facing the sea with the beach just a few yards away. The rooms were comfortable and well serviced. Some rooms have a balcony if you are on the same level as the reception. The bathroom was a little small and a few of our quite large party (nearly 40) found, like myself, that it was difficult to get the shower to keep a constant temperature, which is annoying when you are in a hurry. The hotel staff are in general very friendly and helpful, with the exception of one who snapped “Don’t touch that” to an elderly guest within 30 seconds of their arrival. The check-in was quick and would have shamed the Germans for efficiency. Drink prices at the bar and in the restaurant are quite reasonable and the wine list has a good choice.

The downside was dinner. The quality just wasn’t there and it felt closer to school dinners than eating in a hotel. On the second day I was out at lunchtime and thought “I will just have a snack, I don’t want to spoil my dinner”. Then I remembered what dinner was like the night before and I had a full lunch. I am glad I did as their second attempt was just as bad. Gloopy gravy and overcooked tasteless vegetables. I don’t understand why they have this problem, although I have my suspicions, as their cooked breakfasts were fine, if a little on the small side.

Pros – Mainly friendly staff, good views from some rooms and reasonable bar prices.

Cons – Poor food quality at dinner, erratic showers, some rooms are very small with no views and there are lots of stairs with just one lift.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank WilliamPayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

Very nice hotel in ideal location on one side the esplanade and the other the shops. The staff were all very friendly and the food was good. Had a nice big bedroom which was very clean. I would recommend getting a room at the sea side as above the shops was quite noisy first thing in the morning.

Room Tip: Not above shops
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Rothesay127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Seaview view room was very small for a double, only one chair and a tiny TV and floor was really squeky when walking on it. However, it was clean and tidy and the staff were all friendly. Food was average, but choice limited to roast, a meat dish, a fish dish, a veggie dish or salad every evening....and don't attempt the porridge! Breakfast was served at the table and there was a good choice. The location was right on the beach and high street so handy for all of Sandown. The hotel had steps everywhere, the lift only serves the main part of the hotel, so we had 30 stairs over 4 flights to get to our room from reception, and the dining room was 2 floors lower than reception! We used the pool twice and with most the hotels clients being elderly it was nearly empty all the time, also clean sea water so no sore eyes! The room decoration could do with improvement as very dated and tatty, although the resturant and bar area were smart.

Room Tip: Pay extra for the seaview....also quieter than the high street side, State when booking if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank Liz701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2011

Hi, nice hotel in prime beach location. A door exits onto the beach from the resturant. Also there is now FREE Wifi installed two doors before we arrived. It is only available in a room behind recpetion.

On by the large glass Windows see peope, surfing while you surf the internet.

Room Tip: Get high room on top floor at back. You can see nice seaviews from whole glass windows in corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TuxWang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2011

most impressive:
- NICELY HEATHED outdoor swimming pool (and extra pool for small kids)
- nice kids' playroom
- snooker table / table tennis
- great location (shops, beach, bus, restaurants)

not so impressive:
- Wi-Fi reception did not reach all the way to our bedroom - annoying...
- breakfast times 8.00 - 9.30 am

least impressive:
- full english breakfast really not good

Room Tip: we had a great room (38), 5th floor, lovely ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank emilyw00d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 31 in Sandown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 402 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 31 in Sandown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#7 of 31 in Sandown
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
4.5 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Hotel

Property: The Ocean Hotel
Address: 38-40 High Street, Sandown PO36 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sandown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ocean Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Sandown
The Ocean Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing