We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great seaside stay”
Review of The Ocean Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Ocean Hotel
Ranked #4 of 29 Hotels in Sandown
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A great seaside stay”
Reviewed 2 June 2013

I have just returned from a very relaxing and enjoyable week at the Ocean Hotel. This is a good quality mid-range hotel, catering for coach parties (which means that many residents are elderly) as well as independent travellers (who are likely to be younger but were in the minority when I was there). The food is good, service is friendly and efficient, and the hotel is very clean. The heated, sea-water swimming pool was delightful, and the position of the hotel, with one side on the sea-front and the other side on the high street, although it sounds a little strange, was ideal.
It's always possible to find fault, and certainly there were a few problems here (including creaking floorboards, a balcony close to the air-conditioning system outlet from the kitchen which was noisy and smelly at some times of the day, a WiFi system that was only available in the lounges, and red-hot towel rails), but I have to say that, taking everything into account, this was probably the best hotel experience that I have ever had in my 62 years.

Room Tip: Try for a room with sea view and balcony away from the entertainment
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peruviandream
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    148
    95
    24
    13
    5
See reviews for
71
114
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hereford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Had 4 nights Dinner Bed & Breakfast at this hotel. It has a lot going for it, but some things not so good. Firstly this hotel is full of older people ( my wife & I are old and would sympathise with any younger people who happened to book in) . Mostly coach parties when we were there. It is in a wonderful location with superb gardens and heated outdoor pool( I was the only one who ventured in!) the dining room & lounge areas very stylish in an old fashioned way. Service and staff were first class if a little too quick with their impatience to take your order, time to study the menu is a good thing. Dinner was average certainly not exciting, breakfast was also served, unusual in this day and age , it was very much all prepared and bacon could be tough from being kept heated for so long, Glasses for orange juice were very small. One had the impression that everything was sitting around ( including dinner courses ) waiting to be whisked out at great speed. The bedrooms were very clean and well maintained , but very very creaky floor boards ( you expect that in an old hotel) The walls were very thin and there was a lot of disturbance from other rooms, snoring , extractor fans , chatting etc and the sound of the VERY loud so called entertainment in the lounge area below, but too be fair it didn't go on too late.
To sum up , if I had to stay again I would but I certainly wouldn't rush back. Value for money yes but only go if you don't mind the older company.

Room Tip: Pay extra for seaview, friends were at the back overlooking street, not so good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wyeboy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We should perhaps have guessed when we joined the coach at Glasgow ahead of our long journey South. The majority of the party were over 70 years old and a significant proportion walked with the aid of sticks. Our initial tentative view was confirmed on arrival at the hotel. The average age of guests must have been well over 70. (At 54,53 and 23 we reduced it somewhat). However there were compensations. No queue for the snooker or table tennis. No congestion on the stairs as everyone else used the lift. For someone of advancing years the hotel was well nigh perfect. Rooms spotless. Good food. Lively entertainment (mainly songs from the 60s, bingo only once). Very friendly and efficient staff. Sandown itself was of the same genre. Very quiet and peaceful. Long esplanade for walks or pushes in the wheelchair. Also particularly clean. No litter or dogs mess. While perhaps my title is a little unkind there really would be nowhere nicer to spend a week in one's last days before moving upstairs.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view. We also asked for an upstairs room to escape the noise of the entertainment but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My friend and I have just returned from the ocean hotel in the isle of wight on holiday with caledonian coach tour.The hotel was great friendly staff and good food . There was entertainment every night the bar staff were great fun. would recomend this hotel to everyone,

Elizabeth Iggo
East Kilbride

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bethiggo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Upon arrival at the hotel, staff and room were all very welcoming and impressive. Great value for money there. However, this was spoilt by two major drawbacks that will prevent us form staying again. Firstly, the hotel is locked down early at night. Gaining access after hours is a slow and laborious task. We had to call the night porter, which involved finding the number ourselves and then had to wait twenty minutes for the door to be opened. Secondly, the breakfast service is something out of a Fawlty Towers episode. After being led to a table and sat down, we were moved twice to another table, firstly by staff and then secondly by irate elderly guests who were upset that we had taken their table. The final insult came when a member of staff came up to us and enquired why we weren't on her list. Running a hotel like a retirement home may serve the majority of elderly customers, but this young couple has been severely put off. I have nothing against the elderly, but being treated like them? Avoid if you are under sixty years of age!

Room Tip: Balcony rooms with a sea view are worth the extra money. Nice to wake up to the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank topazadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
Level Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff on our visit.This hotel is now basic but must have been very splendid and expensive. We had a gorgeous sea view from our room.We were lucky enough to be upgraded as hubby was 70! The room was spotless. It was great to open the curtains and look out.The gardens are beautifully kept.The food in the restaurant was very good with lots of choice. The restaurant staff were excellent and very friendly and efficient.Lovely coal fire in the bar/lounge area was appreciated as although the weather was sunny it was cold outside during our visit.Well done the Ocean for value, cleanliness and above all service.A wonderful first visit to the Isle of Wight.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view or partial sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EnglandCath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Obviously once an opulent hotel, which has now slid gently into a comfortable decline. The basic no-frills, yet spotlessly clean guest rooms are redeemed by an opulent and sensitively decorated bar and restaurant area. The Ocean Hotel earns my five stars through the hard work and faultless, caring customer service of its exemplary staff. As an added bonus the enjoyable "home kitchen" style food served in the restaurant make this a great value and hard to fault destination for its price.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Jonathan10086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandown
0.0 mi away
Trouville Hotel
Trouville Hotel
#3 of 29 in Sandown
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Wight
The Wight
#6 of 29 in Sandown
708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
Bay Broadway Park Hotel
#1 of 29 in Sandown
749 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Sandringham Hotel
Sandringham Hotel
#8 of 29 in Sandown
406 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melville Hall Hotel
Melville Hall Hotel
#2 of 29 in Sandown
1,223 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Royal Hotel
The Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ventnor
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ocean Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ocean Hotel

Property: The Ocean Hotel
Address: 38-40 High Street, Sandown PO36 8AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Sandown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Sandown
#2 Romantic Hotel in Sandown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — The Ocean Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Ocean Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Hotel Sandown
The Ocean Hotel Sandown, Isle Of Wight

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing